We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Southside Holiday Village

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Southside Holiday Village
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_baseline_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

120 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Showing 118: English reviews
Reviewed 13 December 2016 via mobile

Stayed in a superior family unit and it was terrible. Very old and dated. Shower had ants making a home in it and cleaners couldn't even make beds which meant when we arrived at 8:30pm and had to make our own. Called after hours number and they couldn't care. Will never be back!

Thank Tammy O
SSHV, Public Relations Manager at Southside Holiday Village, responded to this review

Hi Tammy O Thank you for taking the time to review us. We apologise that you did not enjoy your stay with us. I am having trouble aligning your review with a booking so this can be investigated further can you please send through your reservation details. We take pride in keeping our units fresh and clean so recently we...

Greater Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 17 November 2016 via mobile

We stopped here for a night on our way up the coast. It's clean and tidy,located on the main drag through rocky and fairly priced. Staff were friendly and helpful too. Only negative and it's a small one is the lack of good quality and free internet. Would stay again.

Thank Flashpacker-0109
SSHV, Guest Relations Manager at Southside Holiday Village, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely review :)

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 16 November 2016 via mobile

Very very calm clean and super tight place. Was a great contrast to the normal camps we have seen. Bring your own gasburner as the only kitchen we could find was a BBQ pit. It was 31 dollars for a powered site,

Thank klarss0n
SSHV, Public Relations Manager at Southside Holiday Village, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review us.

Reviewed 3 November 2016

Perfect size for our little family. full size fridge, toaster and kettle. Bathroom is tiny, but clean and functional. Very tidy and well maintained grounds, lovely gardens. great price, all the comforts of a hotel room and half the price, we booked one night and stayed for 2! Friendly staff also.

Thank amandaree
SSHV, Public Relations Manager at Southside Holiday Village, responded to this review

We always love hearing good feedback! Thank you so much for staying with us! Look forward to seeing you next time.

Reviewed 11 October 2016 via mobile

Easy to find as it's on the highway and yes some traffic noise but you don't hear it after a while and we are almost on the front fence!! Park staff are lovely, friendly and helpful. Amenities are clean and the park itself is spacious and well cared for. Would I stay here again??? YES.

Thank jay b
SSHV, Public Relations Manager at Southside Holiday Village, responded to this review

We are so pleased you enjoyed staying with us! We look forward to seeing you next time you visit Rockhampton.

Mackay Region, Australia
Reviewed 26 September 2016

We have stayed in a studio tropical cabin twice just recently. Two of the cleanest cabins we have stayed in over the years with very comfortable beds both times. Good sized tvs and lovely showers. Both nights where we were had no road noise but we did hear the train going past very muffled though. I have also spent a...

Thank alcfb
SSHV, Public Relations Manager at Southside Holiday Village, responded to this review

Thank you for this great review!! We absolutely love our Tropical Villas, they have everything you need, with kitchen, air conditioning, balcony and Foxtel. We look forward to seeing you in the near future! :)

Reviewed 25 September 2016

This is our 4th or 5th Stay at the park, and there is a reason that we go back. Friendly staff on arrival, and when visiting the office throughout our stay, nothing was too much trouble. Our cabin was very clean, and surrounded by lovely gardens. We have stayed in the back row of units on previous occasions, there are...

Thank Penny F
SSHV, Public Relations Manager at Southside Holiday Village, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review us, it is greatly appreciated. We are so glad that you have been staying with us and enjoy your stay each time! :) We look forward to seeing you again in the near future.

Brisbane, Australia
Reviewed 23 September 2016

We stayed in the campgrounds in a tent on a Saturday night after driving up from Brisbane. BEWARE the campgrounds are RIGHT BESIDE THE HIGHWAY!! Other caravan parks I've stayed in put the tent campers out the back away from road noise since they have no insulation. I'm sure this place would be fine for those in caravans or staying...

Thank Mad_ELK
SSHV, Public Relations Manager at Southside Holiday Village, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We are pleased that you were happy with our amenities provided. We allow campers to choose there own location in our large camping area, as each guest has their own preference, some prefer grass and under a tree whereas others prefer another location. We have found by allowing our campers to choose their own location...

Perth, Australia
Reviewed 12 September 2016

This park is on the main highway into town so easy to find and good driveway to park in whilst booking in. The sites are getting quite old and in need of updating to stay with the competition found up and down the coast, the park caters mostly for cabin accommodation so not many van sites available for travelers. Can...

Thank Designer699
SSHV, Public Relations Manager at Southside Holiday Village, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review us, as you mentioned there is nothing we can do about the trains, even though we have tried many of times. We are predominantly a cabin park this is due to only seeing caravans for 3 months of the year (throughout the winter) and the rest of the year our sites are...

Reviewed 10 July 2016

Booked a Ensuite Suite, Site was grassed and ensuite would have been good when it was built about 50s to 60s. Backed onto Railway line with major rail traffic including horns during the night. No warning and no sound barriers or trees planted to exclude the noise during the night. Disappointing at the price.

Thank Trev W
SSHV, Public Relations Manager at Southside Holiday Village, responded to this review

We have been servicing our region since 1976 and we thoroughly enjoy what we do, however we did not have our ensuite sites quite as long as you suggest as we have only been here 40 years :). We are currently going through many renovations throughout the village, most recently we have been focusing on improving our cabins and will...

17 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

All Traveller Photos (5)
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Other (4)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

All Management Photos (12)
Hotel & Grounds (9)
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Dining (1)
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rockhampton hotels
0.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN Cattle City Motor Inn
2.1 mi away
Travelodge Rockhampton
Travelodge Rockhampton
#9 of 37 in Rockhampton
717 reviews
1.9 mi away
The Criterion Hotel Motel
The Criterion Hotel Motel
#18 of 37 in Rockhampton
157 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Econo Lodge Citywalk Rockhampton
4.2 mi away
Discovery Parks - Rockhampton
Discovery Parks - Rockhampton
#3 of 16 in Rockhampton
244 reviews
7.9 mi away
Korte's Resort
Korte's Resort
#2 of 37 in Rockhampton
153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices


  • Pool
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Tennis Court
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Free Parking
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Dry Cleaning
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Southside Holiday Village has a welcoming atmosphere, set on 10 acres of tropical gardens; the village boasts an outdoor pool, half size tennis court and BBQ facilities. Offering air-conditioned villas some with a private balcony and free car parking. All our accommodation contain a kitchen with a microwave, fridge, toaster, a flat screen television, some units also have DVD player and Foxtel. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Southside Holiday Village

Address: 283 Lower Dawson Road, Rockhampton, Queensland 4700, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Rockhampton
Price Range: £53 - £72 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Southside Holiday Village 3.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Southside Holiday Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Southside Holiday Village staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Mackay, Australia

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Southside Holiday Village staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“The side row of units beside the office, seem to be a little quieter.”
 of 5 bubbles 86pennyf, 25 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Don't camp here - upgrade to a cabin instead or BYO Caravan.”
 of 5 bubbles Mad_ELK, 22 Sep 2016 | Read review
“There are heaps of very good cabins on site.”
 of 5 bubbles PeterCarr255108, 4 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Ask for a cabin at the back of the caravan park, away from the highway”
 of 5 bubbles RLewy, 28 Jun 2016 | Read review
“if you are going by van ask for a cement slab, and if you are staying in a cabin, there are alot to choose from.”
 of 5 bubbles havinagreattime, 22 Jun 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay