We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Traveller (671)
Room & Suite (536)
Pool & Beach (77)

About

Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
The Chateau Beachside Resort is the ideal location for your next relaxing getaway. Only one block North of Cavill Mall, The Chateau Beachside is located in the heart of the shopping, dining and entertainment precinct. Featuring 3.5 Star rated facilities and the world famous sandy shores of Surfers Paradise just metres away, you're sure to find what you are looking for right here!Situated in the heart of Surfers Paradise, all units have spectacular ocean views of the famous Surfers Paradise beach below.
Read more
Property amenities
Pool
Free Parking
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Spa
Hot Tub
Laundry Service
Multilingual Staff
Non-Smoking Hotel
Outdoor pool
Paid Internet
Sauna
Self-Serve Laundry
Tennis Court
Wheelchair access
Show more
Room features
Family Rooms
Kitchenette
Microwave
Non-Smoking Rooms
Refrigerator in room
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Great View
Centrally Located
HOTEL CLASS
1,825Reviews
993Photos
13Q+A
100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 540
  • 764
  • 296
  • 106
  • 119
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More languages
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
The staff at reception were so poor in customer service, keep us waiting there an just ignored us. After paying a $200.00 security deposit by credit card, we eventually got to our room, and lets be fair, this motel is very old, but certainly needs abit of work to it. On
Read more
+3
I dont know how this place is even open or how they pass any health and safety standards. The hotel room was absolutely filthy. There was sand all over the floor like it wasn't even vacuumed. The carpet had so much dust it built up in little piles. The roof in the bathroom was
Read more
Response from ResortManagement1, Front Office Manager at Chateau Beachside
Responded 4 days ago
Hi Matt G I cannot respond to this as I have no indication on who you are whether you were s guest of the management of the hotel or staying in a unit not under the card and supervision of the management. Many units are let by outside agents . If you can ring the resort and clarify your claims that quite frankly most sound ludicrous I can look into it. Anonymous posts like this bear no interest when I can’t even identify if you were s guest of the current Managemrnt of not.
Read more
We booked a Studio room preferably up high with an ocean view. What we got when we arrived was a Studio room on the first floor with a view to the pool and a small view of the ocean. The room was hot with only a fan over the bed but the bathroom and toilet area was enclosed
Read more
Response from ResortManagement1, Front Office Manager at Chateau Beachside
Responded 3 weeks ago
Hello Suzannah I am very sorry to hear that this stay was not as memorable for you as the last one. With the room situation there are different types and levels that you can book. If you book a Studio 8 and above you will be guaranteed to be between the 8th and 18th floor. If you book a Studio 1-7 you will be guaranteed a studio between levels 1 to 7. All the studios have their bathrooms to the back with the lounge getting full views. To get the different view with the natural light you would have to book the corner rooms which on 1 side is Hotel City View and 1 Bedroom Oceanview and on the other end you have absolute beachfront which is stunning and those rooms are Hotel Beachfront and I bedroom beachfront. We can only accommodate you in which of these you have requested as that is what we perceive that you wish for. I think you must have had a beachfront last visit hence some of the disappointment . If you book again please call directly and then we can talk you through the different types of rooms this can be really difficult for many people when booking online. I will look into the other issues you have mentioned and have a word with our reception staff . We should always be welcoming and friendly no matter what so that will be addressed. Thank you for the review we always appreciate it whether negative or positive. It gives us the opportunity to do better.
Read more
As soon as we arrived, the staff were extremely unpleasant, didn't advise that we needed to keep our 'cash receipt' for check out which could have led to not getting our money back. There is no air conditioning in the room, we kept the sliding doors open 24/7 just to get air.
Read more
Response from ResortManagement1, Front Office Manager at Chateau Beachside
Responded 4 weeks ago
Hi Bms0612 , I can’t tell who you are or what unit you stayed in from your name description but would like to clarify a few things. Firstly we have never once kept a $200 security bond because a receipt has been lost. There are ways of verifying that the cash belongs to a guest and ID, key return and room left in reasonsble order will ensure this. Secondly complimentary wifi is 500mg per day not 100 as you say it will not be sufficient for downloading movies or Netflix or lengthy use of social media though. It is free wifi with opportunity to purchase more if you require that type of usage overall it is sufficient for most of our guests. There is no air conditioning in the hotel and it is not advertised as such so if this is a requirement of your stay you need to research your hotel before making your booking. There is no expense spared in our linen laundering from a reputable External laundry supply and all guests enter s room equipped with clean fresh laundry no exceptions! Would absolutely dispute blood stained walls in any of our units . It seems to me there could well be underlying issues regarding your stay and the review you have given is bearing the blunt of this. Unless issues are presented to management during your stay no content of your review can be taken seriously after the seriously after the fact.
Read more
One of the worst hotels I've ever stayed in. Dirty. Old. The ducted air conditioning does not to work. Apparently it hasn't worked for 40 years and needs to be replaced. Great view, great pool, but for the money you would be wise to stay elsewhere.
Read more
Response from ResortManagement1, Front Office Manager at Chateau Beachside
Responded 5 weeks ago
Reader please take the time to read other reviews as well as Maggie’s. We are judging this review as being unfair and if you read other reviews on this forum and others you may understand why. Thank you.
Read more
Previous
Album Categories
All photosTravellerRoom & SuitePool & BeachDining Family and Play Areas
Professional photo exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisorChateau Beachside
The One Bedroom Beachfront Apartment at the Chateau Beachside
Professional photo exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisorChateau Beachside
The One Bedroom Beachfront Apartment at the Chateau Beachside
Professional photo exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisorChateau Beachside
The One Bedroom Beachfront Apartment at the Chateau Beachside
Professional photo exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisorChateau Beachside
The Ocean View Studio (Upper Floors) at the Chateau Beachside
Professional photo exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisorChateau Beachside
The Ocean View Studio (Upper Floors) at the Chateau Beachside
PreviousNext
123456107
No sorry, the cafe is still there but just normal breakfast. We do sell $10 vouchers for the cafe across the road who do an extremely good breakfast for our guests.
0 votes
There’s no “private access” to the beach as there is a road between the hotel and the beach. Very easy to access though. Swimming during the day is ok. Can’t remember if the beach had life guards. If they do you must swim between the red and yellow flags at all times!! I absolutely would not be swimming in the evening. Sharks like to feed right around sunset/dusk!!
1 vote
Show all answers
You are best off contacting the property by phone or email. They are very accommodating with room requests though :) Good luck!!
0 votes
Show all answers
Pool currently not heated. Waiting for installation of new parts- should be installed by end of august. Pool temp is held at 26C when heating on. 3 Spas heated to 35C
0 votes
Show all answers
You have booked a cityview unit which is on the corner but at the back of the hotel. We have noted your request for a high level but this can not be guaranteed.
1 vote
Show all answers
PreviousNext
123
"Book a top floor with front ocean views"
"Private owned rooms are neglected."
"level 3 is a bit too low"
"Rooms are broken and old but good view if you are in the beachfront room"
"Sea view was the same price as city view ($69)"
PreviousNext
12345620
PRICE RANGE
US$61 - US$118 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
chateau beachside hotel surfers paradisechateau beachside surfers paradise
LOCATION
AustraliaQueenslandGold CoastSurfers Paradise
NUMBER OF ROOMS
100
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing