We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Desert Cave Hotel

Save
Traveller (143)
Room & Suite (49)
Storyboard
You may also like:
See all
Nearby Hotels
Overview
  • Excellent26%
  • Very good43%
  • Average19%
  • Poor9%
  • Terrible3%
Travellers talk about
“underground room”(49 reviews)
“above ground”(33 reviews)
“no lift”(4 reviews)
AMENITIES
Free Internet
Free Parking
Air Conditioning
Pool
Non-Smoking Hotel
Restaurant
Room Service
3 Star Hotel
All hotel details
Additional information
Offers from Desert Cave Hotel
Announcement: ABOUT US
Offers from Desert Cave Hotel
Announcement: ABOUT US
You may also like:
See all
Nearby Hotels
{"containerClass":null,"containerAttributes":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null}
Reviews (261)
Filter reviews
234 results
Traveller rating
67
98
43
18
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
67
98
43
18
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsunderground roomabove groundno liftmini barunderground tunnelhistorical displaysflights of stairsopal shoplamb shankhotel roommod consopal fieldsunique experiencethe main streetsleeping undergroundcrystalpokies
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 5 of 234 reviews
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Stayed here for just one night in the underground room. If you haven't already done this then add it to your bucket list.. it is so dark and so quiet you have no idea what time it is. . But it is not claustrophobic. The...More

Thank Porka54
Response from DCH_Management, Front Office Manager at Desert Cave HotelResponded 1 week ago

Thanks for your review and the enjoyment of the Coober Pedy experience. Unfortunately the Council did not help us or you, but with water being such a precious commodity the need to fix a pipe was the priority to them. In fairness they did try...More

Hotel's Favourite
Reviewed 27 December 2017

The Desert Cave Hotel is a beautiful oasis in the desert. Large, clean, well-appointed rooms, a huge bathroom, very comfortable bed and curtains that actually shut out the light - which is a rare find in hotels - were just some of the highlights. Centrally...More

Thank KAOSabroad
Response from DCH_Management, Front Office Manager at Desert Cave HotelResponded 31 December 2017

Thank you for your review. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay and hope the future will see your return.

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stayed one night here, moving from another hotel just up the road, which we deemed unacceptable-ironically it turns out this is owned by the same people! Hard to believe. Only a $10 price difference, but miles apart in terms of quality. The underground room...More

Thank connief68
Response from DCH_Management, Front Office Manager at Desert Cave HotelResponded 3 weeks ago

Very glad you enjoyed your stay. We would be happy to see you again

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

After visiting Northern Territory, we flew home via Coober Pedy. Flying in, it looked horrible. While tying down the plane we were attacked by flies that went between glasses and eyes. We were nearly ready to go elsewhere but went into town. Checked in to...More

Thank jewel_58
Response from DCH_Management, Front Office Manager at Desert Cave HotelResponded 4 weeks ago

We are also glad you stayed and thank you for your favorable review. As the temperature drops the flies become less active. Hope to see you again

Reviewed 14 March 2018 via mobile

Stayed two nights at the Desert Cave. Very welcoming staff, truly amazing building and underground rooms. Chef Leo provided world-class food, both at breakfast and dinner with spectacular presentation, local flavours and a superb menu choice. A fantastic experience, both for business and family stays.

2  Thank Adam M
Response from DCH_Management, Front Office Manager at Desert Cave HotelResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you for your review. Glad you enjoyed your stay

View more reviews
Most Booked Properties in Coober Pedy
See allSee all
About
Amenities
Top amenities
Restaurant
Pool
Free Internet
Free Parking
Bar/Lounge
Room Service
Hotel Amenities
Free Parking
Laundry Service
Room Service
Meeting Rooms
Self-Serve Laundry
Babysitting
Room amenities
Air Conditioning
Things to do
Restaurant
Pool
Bar/Lounge
Outdoor pool
Details
Price range
US$117 - US$205 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms
Details
Price range
US$117 - US$205 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms
Add Photo Photos
Traveller (143)
Room & Suite (49)
Dining (4)
Pool & Beach (2)
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
Opposite1114
24 September 2014|
AnswerShow all 6 answers
Response from Jim F | Reviewed this property |
I am not sure, as we were travelling in a tour bus.
0
Votes
Room Tips
"Above ground rooms with air conditioning are recommended, but we stayed in the dugout room for the experience!"
Read review
"Staying underground is a novelty and fun but not a necessity."
Read review
"Dont get an underground room unless you are prepared for bits to fall from walls and ceiling."
Read review
"Try one of the other Coober Pedy offerings"
Read review
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing