We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

BIG4 Kelso Sands Holiday & Native Wildlife Park

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Tasmania
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
BIG4 Kelso Sands Holiday & Native Wildlife Park
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

72 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 71: English reviews
Start your review of BIG4 Kelso Sands Holiday & Native Wildlife Park
 Click to rate
Adelaide, Australia
Reviewed 5 days ago NEWvia mobile

This place is absolutely sensational!!! We stayed for two nights and wish we could have stayed longer. The host was amazing, she was such a pleasure to deal with. Cabins were great. Pool was huge and amazing and clean and so much wildlife everywhere. Where else can you stay with wombats just roaming around your cabin?? Would highly recommend this...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jadeg05
Tasmania, Australia
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We stayed at Kelso caravan park over the march long weekend, and loved it. The kids had a ball on the play equipment and in the pool. Seeing wombats right outside the campsite was a bonus. We had to give way to one wombat as it walked in front of us! We got some lovely photos of the kids sitting...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank bekfree
Tamar Valley, Tas
Reviewed 1 week ago

The wombats and the pool were beautiful:) Grounds and facilities are nicely kept. Rules are very strictly enforced as stated in previous reviews. This Caravan Park is more suited to couples and small families on their own than larger groups of family and friends.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank CaravanSoul
Reviewed 6 February 2017 via mobile

Loved our visit. The park is quite open but as we were in a tent,the staff ensured we had a site protected from the wind. Excellent kitchen facilities and beautiful pool and surrounds. The showers cost $1 for 5mins, which some reviewers have complained about but it's due to the remote location and the fact that they are not on...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jandal J
Barbara R, Owner at BIG4 Kelso Sands Holiday & Native Wildlife Park, responded to this review

Glad that you enjoyed your stay so much and also enjoyed all the facilities that the park has to offer. I am not sure why we truck water in but that is incorrect. We don't have town water. We are however lucky to have really good quality bore water which test safe for drinking, plus we have 3 large rain...

Reviewed 27 January 2017 via mobile

Great place to stay with kids. We stayed in a powered site in a tent. Great price for our family of five. Lots to do with a great pool, kids play area, golf and buggies. Clean and tidy place. Awesome seeing wombats up close.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank tassiegirl79
Barbara R, Owner at BIG4 Kelso Sands Holiday & Native Wildlife Park, responded to this review

So glad that you had such a great family get away for found our park to be good value for money. It is amazing to see the kids all running around being so busy all day, and at the end of the day wandering around looking for wombats. Thanks again for coming and helping to make such wonderful memories for...

Hobart, Australia
Reviewed 20 December 2016

we are locals and called in to get a price to stay a few nights unpowered, in winter (off peak) and we were abruptly quoted $38 a night for an unpowered site in an open paddock, no where near the water. thought this was way too expensive, so we drove down to greens beach and got what we wanted for...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank stu d
Barbara R, Owner at BIG4 Kelso Sands Holiday & Native Wildlife Park, responded to this review

We have read your belated review with interest. Your review is regarding winter season & we are now 3 days off Christmas. Just a few details we need to clarify. During winter we don't open our unpowered sites due to the cold & this year in particularly because it was the wettest on record. Secondly, we have never charged $38...

Adelaide Hills, Australia
Reviewed 8 November 2016 via mobile

A lovely relaxed park that has wombats wondering around. A little far from shops though. Nicely kept grounds and friendly managers. A bit isolated and cold in winter but within striking distance of lots to see. Clean and comfy cabin.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Brenton S
Barbara R, Owner at BIG4 Kelso Sands Holiday & Native Wildlife Park, responded to this review

Thank you for coming and staying Brenton. The cooler months are fantastic for viewing wildlife through the day, particularly the wombats. Thanks again. Regards Barbara

Launceston, Australia
Reviewed 7 November 2016

Went with my family with a caravan and tent, as well as a group of other friends. Were put in a different location by staff than first booked as we would be more protected from the winds. Facilities are great - kids loved the jumping pillow (as did quite a few adults!), the play areas, soccer pitch, basketball/netball hoops as...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jason_King1969
Cowes, Australia
Reviewed 25 April 2016

we stayed at the caravan park through easter and it was very good the onsite cabin was very clean and comfortable and it was 10mins to beaconsfield for shopping the park itself is hugh and well maintained there is a lot for kids to do and plenty of walks it is not far to travel to different areas each day...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank johnh692754
Melbourne
Reviewed 21 April 2016 via mobile

We stayed here 2 nights in our motorhome. The setting is beautiful, and yes, Wombats, they rock the van in the middle of the night. We had beautiful weather, however, we had expected to be close to the beach, not the case. The facilities were spotless, great shower even if we had to pay extra for it. I do think...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Alex_Gi

23 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (18)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (16)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tasmania hotels
2.4 mi away
The Charles Robbins
The Charles Robbins
#2 of 4 in George Town
62 reviews
3.8 mi away
Beauty Point Tourist Park
Beauty Point Tourist Park
#1 of 2 in Beauty Point
57 reviews
21.7 mi away
Discovery Parks - Devonport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Low Head Tourist Park
Low Head Tourist Park
#1 of 6 in Low Head
67 reviews
24.0 mi away
Launceston Holiday Park Legana
5.5 mi away
Tamar Cove Motel
Tamar Cove Motel
#2 of 2 in Beauty Point
53 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Kitchenette
Services
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
2 Bedroom Cabins sleep a maximum of 6 persons and the 3 bedroom premier cottage sleeps a maximum of 9 persons. Free wi-fi in the park. Wildlife freely walk around the park in the evenings for guests to see. ... more   less 

Additional Information about BIG4 Kelso Sands Holiday & Native Wildlife Park

Address: 86 Paranaple Road | Kelso, Tasmania 7270, Australia
Region: Australia > Tasmania
Price Range: £64 - £107 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from BIG4 Kelso Sands Holiday & Native Wildlife Park staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Peaceful and Quiet location, campsites are grassed and large.”
 of 5 bubbles 816carrieb, 14 Feb 2016 | Read review
“On site van was amazing for the price”
 of 5 bubbles 421juanitar, 19 Jan 2016 | Read review
“Bedding in caravan is a little rough but thats camping for you! Cabin is nicer.”
 of 5 bubbles Kayla01_12, 25 Jan 2014 | Read review
“Caravans and mobile homes only.”
 of 5 bubbles TonyR649, 28 Jan 2013 | Read review
“Phone ahead in peak times, quiet off season”
 of 5 bubbles Boersch, 22 May 2011 | Read review
5 of 5