We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

Somerset on Salamanca, Hobart

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Somerset on Salamanca, Hobart
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

152 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 150: English reviews
Sydney, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 1 week ago

Bathroom and kitchen is in need of a renovation; king sized bed is 2x singles pushed together so not so great if you sleep in the middle of the bed! If you're looking to sit on the balcony with a nice drink or breakfast.. this is definitely not the place

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank suong12345678
Shannon R, General Manager at Somerset on Salamanca, Hobart, responded to this review

Dear suong12345678, Thank you for taking the time to write a review for us. We share your disappointment about your recent stay. You’re absolutely correct in that some of our rooms are fitted with king split beds. This is only so we are able to also accommodate twin bedding requests. I sincerely apologise that you didn’t find the bed in... More 

Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 1 week ago

I really enjoyed our 2 night stay at the Somerset on Salamanca. The apartment was spacious, very clean and quiet, and well appointed, including a fast and reliable complimentary wifi connection. The location is brilliant. We had to check in at another Somerset property a short distance away, but that was explained in the fine print when we booked, and... More 

Helpful?
Thank Ross_Sharron_Judith
Shannon R, Marketing Executive at Somerset on Salamanca, Hobart, responded to this review

Dear Ross_Sharron_Judith, Thank you for such a positive review. We appreciate that you were able to check in at our sister property – Somerset on the Pier and hope you weren’t inconvenienced. I was pleased to learn that you enjoyed your two night stay and trust you were able to take advantage of our spacious apartment and unique location. The... More 

Byron Bay, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 1 week ago

We were pleasantly surprised because we book apartments largely by price and ratings. The one bedroom apartment we were allocated was huge, had full kitchen, large spa bath and was well maintained. Walked out the front doors onto the restaurant precinct of Salamanca and yet our rooms were quiet and peaceful.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Janicec288
Sydney
Level Contributor
144 reviews
110 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed at Somerset on Salamanca with another couple. Our two bedroom apartment had two bathrooms and the bedrooms each had very comfortable king size beds. The apartments were large and comfortably furnished. The lounge and each bedroom had a TV. The kitchen was well-equipped. The apartments were spotless. The location is near Battery Point and the Salamanca markets. There... More 

Helpful?
Thank Darghan
Shannon R, Marketing Executive at Somerset on Salamanca, Hobart, responded to this review

Dear Darghan, Thank you for your lovely feedback. We trust that you had a wonderful time in Hobart with your friends and that staying so central to the city made discovering it’s highlights all the more enjoyable. We loved hearing that everyone was happy with the spacious apartments. The next time you visit us, you may like to sign up... More 

Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I cannot fault the location of these apartments. The apartment were clean, however very tired and in need of updating, in particular the bathrooms. They look like they were wither not built very well to start with or maintenance that has been carried out over time has been done very poorly. Patches on walls where repairs were done but not... More 

Helpful?
Thank Lella1997
Shannon R, Marketing Executive at Somerset on Salamanca, Hobart, responded to this review

Dear Lella1997, Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us. We’re pleased that you were able to enjoy the convenience of being based in Salamanca Place. I’m sorry to learn however that your experience of our apartment fell short of your expectations. I will share your feedback with our Residence Manager to follow up with our... More 

Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Adequate, comfortable accommodation for 2 couples. Clean and a little worn, but fluffy towels and good cleaning service. Close to everything and quiet. We were out and about during the day for most of our 5 night stay, so suited us perfectly.

Helpful?
Thank C R
Queensland Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Somerset Apartments were clean and had everything you could want. It was situated close to everything where you could walk to museums, cafe's, restaurants, boutique shops and the well known Salamanca markets. This was my first visit to Tasmania and decided it was a great place to spend my 70th birthday. I met up with all my family ie My... More 

Helpful?
Thank Barbara B
Shannon R, Marketing Executive at Somerset on Salamanca, Hobart, responded to this review

Dear Barbara B, Thank you for such a lovely review. What a great way to spend your 70th birthday! It sounds like you had a fantastic time in Tasmania – it really is quite a gem isn’t it? We’re so pleased you were comfortable in your Somerset apartment. The next time you stay, we would love for you to sign... More 

Melbourne
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Stayed again at Somerset on Salamanca but this time in a one bedroom apartment. As usual the location, price and overall amenities were wonderful. The apartment was similar to a good motel room, only larger and with a balcony. There was a microwave, fridge, kettle, toaster and a great selection of glasses, cutlery, crockery and other kitchen items. We enjoyed... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank dreamtraveller15
Gold Coast, Qld
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2016

This apartment was very spacious and had the BEST water pressure for a shower :) which is important! It was well located for easy walk access to Salamanca square, Battery Point eateries, the CBD, and the Pier for trips to Mona. We had friends come over and the comfortable sofa and chairs (thankfully not a sofa bed) allowed for a... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank twofoodiesau
Shannon R, Marketing Executive at Somerset on Salamanca, Hobart, responded to this review

Dear twofoodiesau, Thank you for sharing your positive experiences with us twofoodiesau. It was such a pleasure to read your review and learn that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay here at Somerset on Salamanca. It sounds like you had quite a schedule in Hobart and that you were able to take advantage of our unique location. We hope that you... More 

Gympie, Australia
Level Contributor
454 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 181 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2016

Plenty of space , very comfortable but showing some signs of wear & tear. All facilities provided, our apartment had views of CSIRO & a couple of Antarctic research vessels. Proximity of restaurants, pubs & expensive boutiques means leave your credit cards at home ! Checked in on the pier on a rainy day & was given a lift to... More 

Helpful?
Thank raffles123
Shannon R, Marketing Executive at Somerset on Salamanca, Hobart, responded to this review

Dear raffles123, Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us. We're pleased that you enjoyed our unique location on Salamanca in Hobart. I'm sorry that you were having some issues with our broadband internet. I will be sure to advise our Maintenance Team to check this so that it is all in order for our future... More 

45 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (27)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Other (7)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (18)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Other (6)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hobart hotels
0.2 mi away
Somerset on the Pier Hobart
0.2 mi away
Salamanca Inn
Salamanca Inn
#5 of 45 in Hobart
503 reviews
0.0 mi away
Salamanca Wharf Hotel
Salamanca Wharf Hotel
#7 of 45 in Hobart
304 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Lenna of Hobart
Lenna of Hobart
#9 of 45 in Hobart
438 reviews
0.5 mi away
RACV/RACT Hobart Apartment Hotel
0.5 mi away
The Old Woolstore Apartment Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Located in historic Salamanca Place, home to the famous Salamanca Market and within Hobart’s magnificent and exciting waterfront, Somerset on Salamanca is your ideal residence for comfort and convenience. Wander around the city only moments away and take in the classic architecture of Hobart. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Somerset on Salamanca, Hobart

Address: 8 Salamanca Place, Hobart, Tasmania 7000, Australia
Region: Australia > Tasmania > Greater Hobart > Hobart
Price Range: £119 - £260 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Somerset on Salamanca, Hobart 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Priceline, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Somerset on Salamanca, Hobart reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Somerset On Salamanca, Hobart Hotel Hobart
Somerset On Salamanca, Hobart Tasmania
Hotel Style:
#23 Luxury Hotel in Hobart
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Somerset on Salamanca, Hobart staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Perth, Australia
8 months ago

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Somerset on Salamanca, Hobart staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“The 2 bedroom apartments are much larger and have a bathroom and en-suite. The kitchen is also a full kitchen with stove and large fridge etc.”
 of 5 bubbles dreamtraveller15, 1 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Room on the top floor facing the harbour”
 of 5 bubbles 29OAK, 27 Aug 2016 | Read review
“We had the end apartment which was lovely and quiet”
 of 5 bubbles Fletcherdillo, 21 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Be careful to check the location of your room. They vary quite a bit.”
 of 5 bubbles stgerrits, 1 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Room needs to be better maintained.”
 of 5 bubbles 559darrylm, 31 Jul 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay