We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Old Woolstore Apartment Hotel

Hotels.comUS$112*
View Deal
#10 of 47 Hotels in Hobart
Certificate of Excellence
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Lock in the lowest price from our partners
View Deal
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Professional photos
The Old Woolstore Apartment Hotel
The Old Woolstore Apartment Hotel
Panoramas (7)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,518 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for The Old Woolstore Apartment Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 1,500: English reviews
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 8 April 2015

We stayed at the Old Woolstore for 2 nights as part of our Easter break in Tassie and really enjoyed our stay. We had booked a studio but got upgraded to a one bedroom apartment. Very nice apartment, well appointed, really comfortable bed, plenty of space and spotlessly clean. Really friendly and helpful staff. Free parking onsite - was very...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank AussieTripper100
Sophie K, Guest Relations Manager at The Old Woolstore Apartment Hotel, responded to this review

Dear AussieTripper100, Thanks for leaving a nice review after your Tassie Easter break. Great to see you got an upgrade from our friendly reception team and enjoyed all facilities such as Free parking. It is certainly enjoyed by both business and leisure visitors. Hope you had the chance to explore many of Hobart's places of interest especially the closely located...

Perth, Australia
Reviewed 8 April 2015

The Old Woolstore Apartment Hotel is easy to find from the airport on entering CBD of Hobart. Not only are the apartments, roomy, comfortable and very well maintained, the free parking for guests is a bonus. The units are self contained but the on site restaurant is open for breakfast and dinner with a stylish bar alongside, Easy walking to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Gay15
Lake Macquarie
Reviewed 7 April 2015

My wife and I had the pleasure of staying at the Old Woolstore Apartments whilst on our tour of Tasmania. We stayed in a one bedroom apartment for 3 nights, and found the large apartment to be very comfortable and quiet. The kitchenette provided all the requirements for a short stay. The bedroom was large, and we liked the large...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Austravel25
Midlothian, Virginia
Reviewed 4 April 2015

Large size room with 2 twin beds. Kitchenette with frig, microwave and dishwasher. Also a washer and dryer in the bathroom. We could see the harbor from our 9th floor room. A small balcony to stand out on but not to sit. About a 20 min walk to the market. There is a restaurant in the hotel and another across...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Acey071368
Sophie K, Guest Relations Manager at The Old Woolstore Apartment Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Acey071368, Thanks for your kind review after your recent stay with us. Great to see you found the room spacious and offers all facilities for a home-away-from-home. Hope you had the chance to enjoy our onsite restaurant or one of the many places just a short walk away along the famous Salamanca strip. Safe travels. Cheers, Sophie

Sydney
Reviewed 3 April 2015

Firstly I have to say that this place has the most comfortable mattresses I have ever slept on. While not right on Constitution Dock it is only 1 block back and an easy walk to it and other attractions. The Hotel itself was clean and the room was off good size. The bathroom was also clean and contained a washing...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mik_64
Sophie K, Guest Relations Manager at The Old Woolstore Apartment Hotel, responded to this review

Dear mik_64, Thanks for your 5 out of 5 review. Pleased you enjoyed your stay and had the opportunity to explore the area on foot as well, lots of nooks and crannies to discover! Hope to see you again next time you visit Hobart. Regards, Sophie

Totnes, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 April 2015

The hotel was a one bed apartment with a well-equipped kitchen. Good bathroom with walk-in shower - excellent pressure, although there were short periods when the water went cold and then came back hot. Separate toilet. There was a washing machine and dryer in the bathroom with detergent supplied. The sitting area had two sofas, a dining table and chairs...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Martin F
Sophie K, Guest Relations Manager at The Old Woolstore Apartment Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Martin F, Thanks for taking the time to lave an extensive review after your recent stay with us. Pleasing to hear you found the one bedroom apartment comfortable and enjoyed the facilities. Apologies about the shower issue, this is not our usual standard. The Tasmanian Water Service were undertaking some work that we had not been notified about and...

Wollongong, Australia
Reviewed 2 April 2015

Staying at the Old Woolstore for the second time. Stayed for 4 nights.The experience has been great. Love the room, clean and spacious. Like having a washer and dryer in the bathroom. The dishwasher was very diffcult to use, however no problem to hand wash dishes. The shower is small, you wouldn't want to be big or tall, but works...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sue04g
Sophie K, Guest Relations Manager at The Old Woolstore Apartment Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Sue04g, Thanks for leaving a wonderful 5 star review after your recent visit four night visit. Our reception team are always willing to offer assistance with requests such as your dishwasher queries so feel welcome to contact them. Glad you were happy to hand wash! If you have any room issues the team where possible will do the best...

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 1 April 2015

Stayed at the Woolstore as it was minutes from Consitution Dock, where we were visiting the Wooden Boat Festival. The room was very spacious, with kitchen facilities for us to cook our breakfast. We had dinner at the restaurant one night and the other night we had drinks at the Bar. We found the staff very friendly nothing to much...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jenny R
Christchurch
Reviewed 1 April 2015

The architects have done a brilliant job of keeping the skeleton of the old wool store and new contemporary rooms. Our room was spacious, great large TV, two king sized beds and modern furniture and fittings. House keeping had done an excellent job and room was spotlessly clean. This was by far our best accommodation in Hobart and our cheapest....

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Mb1974charger
Sophie K, Guest Relations Manager at The Old Woolstore Apartment Hotel, responded to this review

Mb1974charger, Thanks for your great review, such kind feedback on the buildings old charm and contemporary features. Thank you for the lovely house keeping comments also, the team take great pride in the room presentation. Hope to see you again should you be back in Tasmania and pleased to know you would not hesitate in recommending us. Cheers, Sophie

Kingscliff, Australia
Reviewed 29 March 2015

Directions to find hotel on arriving in Hobart (driving) spot on - many thanks! Appreciated the free parking too. Was impressed with the room size, very spacious and comfortable. Only one block from Constitution dock and walking distance to Salamanca markets and CBD. We stayed 3 nights and didn't need to use our car while there, a great break for...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Annette J

476 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (269)
Viewed
View from Room (16)
Viewed
Bathroom (25)
Viewed
Room/Suite (84)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (23)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (111)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (179)
Viewed
Amenities (13)
Viewed
Hotel Room (24)
Viewed
One Bedroom Apartment (35)
Viewed
Dining (15)
Viewed
Studio Apartment (28)
Viewed
The Hotel (26)
Viewed
Two Bedroom Apartment (38)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (28)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (9)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (7)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hobart hotels
0.1 mi away
Grand Chancellor Hotel Hobart
0.4 mi away
RACV/RACT Hobart Apartment Hotel
0.1 mi away
The Henry Jones Art Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Fountainside Hotel
Fountainside Hotel
#3 of 47 in Hobart
1,195 reviews
0.3 mi away
Somerset on the Pier Hobart
0.5 mi away
Salamanca Wharf Hotel
Salamanca Wharf Hotel
#5 of 47 in Hobart
370 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Food & drink at the hotel
Stockmans Restaurant
Stockmans Restaurant
Cuisines: Australian
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Conference Facilities
  • Breakfast Available
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Thinking Hobart? Think The Old Woolstore!Hobart's multi-award winning Old Woolstore Apartment Hotel has built a reputation among travellers as one of Australia's most welcoming and relaxing inner-city hotels. Renowned for spacious rooms and friendly hospitality, the property is centrally located a block from Hobart's waterfront and just a gentle stroll to Salamanca Place with its legendary market, restaurants, bars, galleries and waterside festivities such as the annual Taste Festival.Accommodation consists of a unique choice of fully serviced apartments and hotel rooms; the decor is contemporary and rooms immaculately presented. Apartments are fully self contained offering both laundry and kitchen facilities- perfect for preparing the gourmet produce you will likely collect on your travels through Tasmania!Hobart's best kept dining secret, Stockmans Restaurant, specialises in farm-fresh local produce and opens for breakfast and dinner daily. The Baaa Bar's blend of the old and new is the ideal place to sit back and relax with a glass of Tassie wine at the end of a day spent exploring the local vineyards and indulging in our world-famous offerings.All guests staying at the property can enjoy complimentary parking and use of the onsite gymnasium, guest lounge and business centre. Reception and room service operate 24/7. High speed internet access is FREE to all guests and is available in all rooms and most public areas. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Old Woolstore Apartment Hotel

Address: 1 Macquarie Whrf, Hobart, Tasmania 7000, Australia
Region: Australia > Tasmania > Greater Hobart > Hobart
Price Range: £87 - £188 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Old Woolstore Apartment Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 242
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Booking.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your The Old Woolstore Apartment Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Woolstore Apartment Hotel
Old Woolstore Apartment Hobart
The Old Woolstore Apartment Hotel Hobart, Tasmania
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Hobart
#6 Romantic Hotel in Hobart
#7 Family Hotel in Hobart
#10 Luxury Hotel in Hobart
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Old Woolstore Apartment Hotel staff and other travellers.
8 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (8)

Questions? Get answers from The Old Woolstore Apartment Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“We used suites on our two visits which were clean, modern and roomy. Going by that I'd say regular rooms would be of equal standard.”
A700RTgaryt, 16 May 2017 | Read review
“close to reception and on the top floor i would think”
bresue, 16 May 2017 | Read review
“Choose the old wing as it has more character.”
hockboont, 14 May 2017 | Read review
“Ask for room above reception, this side is the best.”
, 8 May 2017 | Read review
“WE had a back room, nice and quiet”
Brianeeg, 2 May 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Hotels.com
US$112* /night
View Deal
AMOMAUS$224
PricelineUS$115
Hotwire.comUS$112
View all 9 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates