We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

BEST WESTERN Hobart

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
BEST WESTERN Hobart
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

655 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for BEST WESTERN Hobart
See the most recent reviews
Showing 635: English reviews
Reviewed 28 June 2016 via mobile

Good hotel within walking distance to most art galleries, museums, and restaurants in Hobart's CBD. Friendly staff. We had an issue with the lock on our door, and it was fixed promptly. Only downside is the included wifi is woefully slow at 1.7MB/s download and 2MB/s upload. This area has had NBN since March 2015, so these speeds are unacceptable....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Linsey W
sbm1, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Hobart, responded to this review

Dear Linsey W, I am pleased you were able to rate us highly but would like to apologise for the WiFi problem. We have fast, free unlimited internet but we had a brief problem with our service during your stay. I am please to say it is now fixed. Regards, Janine Livingston Manager

Toamasina Province, Madagascar
Reviewed 27 June 2016 via mobile

We booked a family suite for 7 nights at this hotel, and we are not coming back... The hotel is close to everything shopping centers, restaurants... But the room needs yo be refreshed especially the bathroom which is old and not clean enough. The hair-dryer was full of dust since we arrived until we left. The bathtub is that deep...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Enilve00
sbm1, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Hobart, responded to this review

Dear Enilve00, I'm sorry to read your review and we regret that you were not happy. I wish we had known of your problems during your stay and I am sure we could have found you an alternative room that fitted your needs; we hate to have an unhappy guest anytime.

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 27 June 2016

Quite adequately sized room on second floor with balcony. Though on the main street side of hotel noise was not a problem. All the usual amenities provided and well serviced daily. Carrying a back complaint means many beds cause problems. This rooms bed was extremely comfortable, a pleasure to return to after a cold nights Dark MOFO festivities. Very well...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Stephen W
sbm1, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Hobart, responded to this review

Dear Stephen W, I am glad to hear that our top quality pillowtop beds gave you a good night's sleep and also that we may be seeing you again in the future; thank you for the review. Regards, Janine Livingston Manager

Ulverstone, Australia
Reviewed 25 June 2016

I have stayed here twice in past 2 months on business and each time had a fifth floor room with a view and a balcony. First trip room faced the water, second trip faced the mountain. On both occasions, rooms were quiet enough for a good night's sleep. Quiet aircon and bar fridge too, big plus. Good water pressure in...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank GeoffreyMcGiraffe
sbm1, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Hobart, responded to this review

Dear GeoffreyMcGiraffe, Thank you for all those kind words; good to read that you will be with us again soon.

Hastings, Australia
Reviewed 24 June 2016

As part of my delightful trip to Hobart, staying at the Best Western Hotel played a major role in delivering a pleasurable experience. I stayed in a standard room, on the fourth floor with a balcony looking out towards the ocean. The room was very clean and well presented while the service was immaculate, efficient and weren't afraid of delivering...

Review collected in partnership with Best Western
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Alex B
sbm1, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Hobart, responded to this review

Hi, Alex B, It's wonderful to know we enhanced the enjoyment of your time in Hobart. I do hope we can see you again sometime.

ADELAIDE, Australia
Reviewed 23 June 2016

The retro furniture doesn't add to the décor. Beware of the hidden $50.00 per night and $10.00 per day car parking costs. I guess I'll find out when the bank statement comes what I have actually paid.

Review collected in partnership with Best Western
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Wayne W
sbm1, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Hobart, responded to this review

Hi, Wayne W, I'm sorry there appears to be some confusion. Parking is indeed $10 a day but that $50 pre-authorisation is merely in case of minibar charges and so on; if you didn't use anything nothing will be charged.

Reviewed 21 June 2016 via mobile

Onlt had a brief overnight stay here. But the room was nice, undercover parking is available, free WiFi and the restaurant downstairs was great for breaky. Will definitely stay here again next time I'm in Hobart.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rob W
sbm1, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Hobart, responded to this review

Dear Rob W, We have many, many return, regular guests and I'm delighted you are now one of them.

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 18 June 2016 via mobile

I cannot — in good conscience — award this any higher than two stars. This is like a motel from the 80's, and not in a good way. The blue, garish, molecular-sized bathroom (with polyester shower curtain) is possibly the worst hotel bathroom I've seen in years. And the room decor was straight out of a time warp. The laundry...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank manasicaje
sbm1, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Hobart, responded to this review

Dear manasicaje, I'm sorry to receive your comments but we will take them on board. I'm glad you found our team charming and helpful.

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 16 June 2016 via mobile

We stayed at the Best Western for 1 night in June. I actually don't have too much to I say about it....it was ok but nothing special. I was a bit annoyed that we had to pay $10 for parking when there was free parking (free on weekends) outside and sort of wish the check in agent had advised us,...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank oop-89
sbm1, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Hobart, responded to this review

Dear oop-89, We appreciate your comments. We do have secure undercover parking which is $10 a night although you can sometimes get street parking nearby.

Launceston, Australia
Reviewed 16 June 2016

You can often get great deals to stay here. The location is amazing and we never took the car out of the parking garage for the whole trip! The bedrooms have been updated nicely (sadly the bathrooms have not), the staff are super lovely and there is a small gym on site. Unfortunately the room that we had was right...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lulu0291
sbm1, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Hobart, responded to this review

Dear Lulu0291, Thank you for your comments; we will certainly check your balcony door. I do hope you might give us another chance next time you are in Hobart. Regards, Janine Livingston Manager

99 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (98)
Viewed
Room/Suite (22)
Viewed
View from Room (13)
Viewed
Bathroom (8)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (46)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hobart hotels
0.2 mi away
RACV/RACT Hobart Apartment Hotel
0.6 mi away
Grand Chancellor Hotel Hobart
0.6 mi away
Fountainside Hotel
Fountainside Hotel
#5 of 46 in Hobart
1,179 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The Old Woolstore Apartment Hotel
0.2 mi away
Travelodge Hotel Hobart
1.5 mi away
Wrest Point
Wrest Point
#15 of 46 in Hobart
873 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Room Service
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Room Service
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The BEST WESTERN Hobart (Formerly Mercure Hotel Hobart) is located in the city centre, only two blocks from the main shopping mall. The hotel features local artwork in a contemporary setting, while the 140 rooms have recently been re-decorated to create a modern fresh feel and offer either city or mountain views. It is only a short walk to Salamanca Place on Hobart's historic waterfront, an area well-known for the many restaurants, cafes, bars and the famous Saturday market. ... more   less 

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Hobart

Address: 156 Bathurst St, Hobart, Tasmania 7000, Australia (Formerly Mercure Hobart)
Region: Australia > Tasmania > Greater Hobart > Hobart
Price Range: £85 - £184 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — BEST WESTERN Hobart 4*
Number of rooms: 140
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your BEST WESTERN Hobart reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Hobart Hotel Hobart
Accor Hobart
BEST WESTERN Hobart Tasmania
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Hobart
#18 Luxury Hotel in Hobart
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from BEST WESTERN Hobart staff and other travellers.
6 questions
Ask a question
Du Quoin, Illinois
GRANDE CACHE
over a year ago
6 months ago
Hastings, New Zealand
over a year ago

See all questions (6)

Questions? Get answers from BEST WESTERN Hobart staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Stay on the south west end (Barrack St) for quieter rooms, as Harrington St (north east) has much more traffic noise.”
 of 5 bubbles kepsimax, 19 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Look for something that has had an upgrade done”
 of 5 bubbles 81darryla, 1 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Cracked basin should be fixed”
 of 5 bubbles barbarahO9501IY, 27 Feb 2017 | Read review
“shop around and pre book”
 of 5 bubbles workboots, 16 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Not on the street, if possible”
 of 5 bubbles jtbeknott, 22 Jan 2017 | Read review
5 of 5