Lenna of Hobart
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

Lenna of Hobart

20 Runnymede St Battery Point, Hobart, Tasmania 7004 Australia
Traveller (366)
View from the Penthouse
Room & Suite (112)
Dining (15)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Did you already book this hotel?

About

4.5
#12 of 45 hotels in Hobart
4.9 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.6 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.1 of 5 bubbles
Value
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Lenna of Hobart is not just a place to rest your head. It’s an experience. Open the door to this 1874-built sandstone mansion and connect with Hobart Town’s story. This landmark hotel puts you right on the historic doorstep of Hobart’s vibrant waterfront. Salamanca Place, home to Australia’s largest outdoor market and fine eateries are a few hundred metres away and a short walk leads to the CBD, Mona ferry terminal and waterfront precinct. About 100 years after the mansion was built, a new accommodation wing opened. Lenna of Hobart, rooms offer harbour, mountain and park views. Rooms offer complimentary wifi, parking, Foxtel, Nespresso machines, opening double glazed windows and are full air-conditioned/heated. Twin bedding options also available. Lenna of Hobart also features the Chandelier Lounge Bar where guests can relax and enjoy a Tasmanian wine or whiskey or join us for an evening meal. Breakfast is also available and limited room service.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Bar / lounge
Taxi service
Conference facilities
Banquet room
24-hour security
Baggage storage
Parking
Wifi
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Complimentary tea
Special diet menus
Meeting rooms
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Private check-in / check-out
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Self-serve laundry
Room features
Desk
Room service
Safe
Sofa
Coffee / tea maker
Minibar
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Telephone
Iron
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Refrigerator
iPod docking station
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Room types
Ocean view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
4.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Park View
Historic Hotel
Languages Spoken
English

Location

20 Runnymede St Battery Point, Hobart, Tasmania 7004 Australia
882Reviews6Q+A100Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 458
  • 313
  • 78
  • 23
  • 10
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Racandtac wrote a review Feb 2020
Brisbane
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Our experience at Lenna was excellent. Our flight was an early one so we were able to book in and leave our luggage in reception. It was still there when we returned but a nice touch would have been to have it placed in our room.
The room was a decent size with a view of Mt Wellington and also of the little people enjoying their days at the kindy across the road. We booked for five nights and the tariff really varied depending on the nights you stayed.
Our towels were removed nearly every day even though we left them hanging as outlined on the guest card and after we spoke to the staff to ask they not be changed each day. The room was serviced well and the coffee machine with 3 pods each day was nice.
We didn’t dine at Lenna but had pre dinner drinks in the bar on two occasions. The staff here were rather hit and miss, not friendly but just doing their job. The rest of the staff we encountered throughout the hotel were excellent.
The hotel is in a great location, near the Salamanca markets and Battery Point. There are so many beautiful walks to explore the area and Arthur’s Circus is just up the road. We found great restaurants and a bakery on Hampden Road. So accessible. The city centre and the waterfront are only a 10-15 minute walk away.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
NeilC2607 wrote a review Dec 2020
Gunnedah, Australia
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Reception:
Welcoming staff, friendly, efficient and made me feel at home.

Room / facilities:
Room number 116 is in the new hotel building and is on the first floor. The room is very clean with a king bed, sofa bed, table and 2 chairs, along with the normal amenities with complementary car parking and harbour views .
The bathroom has heated floors, walk in shower and lovely thick bath towels.
The room has split system Self control air conditioning with windows that opens about 5 cms.
Plenty of off street parking over 2 outside levels.

Laundry:
Self service coin laundry is located on level 2 with 2x washers and 2x dryers costing $4 each per use.

Wifi:
Super fast, reliable and requires access codes.

Breakfast:
Not utilised on this visit, however as the hotel is only a 3 minute walk from Salamanca restaurants.

Conclusion:
Beautifully restored historical part of the hotel, with complementing newer building addition with great staff, fantastic location and very very comfortable bed.

Letdowns:
Some small amounts of noise in the building atrium that echos into rooms from guests returning from dinner out.

Location / Nearby:
Salamanca Markets, Hobart city centre, Sandy Bay shops.

Getting to hotel:
Find Salamanca markets, at the end turn right to, go-up the hill for about 10 meters and the hotel reception and parking is on the left.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2020Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Caroline wrote a review Dec 2020
Melbourne, Australia
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Was extremely impressed with Lenna of Hobart. I had booked 2 rooms for a short getaway with my father and I had a standard Queen Room while my father was kindly given an upgrade into a Harbour view with King bed. As soon as we walked into the reception we were greeted by friendly staff and advised of our lodgings.

The main building is a stunning old girl which is in great condition and beautifully decorated. The walkway to the hotel rooms has a great view on either side and the newer building is nicely presented and clean.
The rooms themselves are again beautifully presented, neat, clean, tidy and well kept. They are nice and large and have plenty of storage available. I was also happy to see that there are multiple power points in the rooms, this is lacking in many other hotels I have visited overseas. Mini bar was available with the basics and a Nespresso machine in the room.

The showers had great water pressure and adjustable height shower head which is great for taller people. The room had its own split system and was quiet when turned off so you could get a good nights sleep without the background noise of an aircon unit.

The hotel is a 2min walk to Salamanca Place and Battery Point shops so plenty to eat and drink. A short walk to the Travel Centre to get the Hop on Hop off bus or the bus to visit Mt Wellington and also a short walk to the waters edge, all the Fresh Seafood restaurants and also the Museums.

I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone going to Hobart.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Babsio wrote a review Jan 2022
Sydney, Australia
5.0 of 5 bubbles
The Lenna of Hobart is situated in the perfect spot at the end of Salamanca Place- so an easy walk to restaurants, cafes, town, saturday markets, wharf etc. Tip: turn left and go up the hill for beautiful Arthur Circus (little park/garden/historic homes) and tucked away bakeries, cafes and restaurants.

We had a family room with view of the harbour, windows that opened for fresh air, great pillows, good wardrobe space, space for luggage and everything else we needed to make our stay comfortable (hairdryer, iron, ironing board, kettle, real milk, mini bar etc).

Spacious bathroom, good hot water and good quality shampoo, soap etc. Towels were soft and fluffy!

Laundry located on 2nd floor - $4 per wash, can buy powder for a few dollars too so bring coins. Very clean area and equipment. 25-30 min wash cycle.

Parking is on site and free, not undercover but very convenient given the location!

Staff are very pleasant and friendly.

Can’t fault this hotel, good Covid practices in place (nice smelling sanitiser… too).
Read more
Date of stay: January 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
mah1066ban wrote a review Jan 2020
Morristown, New Jersey
3.0 of 5 bubbles
If your main criterion for a Hobart hotel is location, then the Lenna is a good choice. It is easy walking distance to the harbor, restaurants, shops, and the Salamanca Market. They also have their own parking lot. The staff members are friendly and the hotel is clean. I’m sorry, however, that I just can’t give the Lenna more than three stars.

We were not placed in the main, historic building, but in the adjacent annex. The room was spacious enough for two people. From a decorative standpoint, however, it was rather nondescript and uninspired and could have used a fresh coat of paint. I realize that our room wasn’t in the “Original Lenna” building, but given the historic nature of the hotel, I was expecting something prettier in the annex. Our room had the basic, hotel particleboard furniture and dark carpeting. While efficient, I would not call our room (#19) luxurious, though we did have a nice view of trees outside our window. Constantly (i.e., all night long), there was a sound of water gurgling and rushing through a pipe. I’m not sure what was causing it.

I was quite disappointed to learn that even though the exterior of the building looks quite robust, the walls of the rooms inside are thin. We had to listen to the muffled conversation of the people on one side of us and a TV on the other side, as well as the comings and goings of people out in the hallway. Given the price per room, I feel it is not unreasonable to expect silence. I don’t know if the rooms in the original part of the hotel are quiet. That might be something for you to check into if noise is an issue for you.

The breakfast room needed at least one more employee. While the staff members were friendly and tried to be attentive, there just weren’t enough hands to keep things running smoothly. The coffee machine kept running out of water. The buffet looked picked over, because they couldn’t stock it fast enough, so this left people hanging around the food tables waiting.

Because I value quiet so much, I personally would not stay here again. However, if you aren’t bothered by noise and are more focused on finding lodging that is walking distance to everything, then this is probably a good choice for you.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2019
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
2.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The Travel Dude wrote a review Apr 2022
Sydney, Australia
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Stayed 3 nights in Hobart and glad I chose this place for it's proximity to everything you would need for your stay. restaurants, markets, bars, cafe etc all within 5 minutes walk so we never had to use our car. To be clear we stayed across the road in their Salamanca apartments and not the historic building they show in the promotion. Free onsite parking with never a problem getting a spot. Rooms were quite spacious and kept clean by the staff and if travelling with friends you can get an adjoining room which uses a common door then individual doors to enter each apartment so privacy is not an issue. Finally the rooms are right on the pathway so a bit of noise as locals head home is expected but it wasn't a huge nuisance. Definitely would stay again and highly recommended for a Hobart stay.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: First floor is easier to access although there is an elevator.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
MyDiabetic N wrote a review Jan 2020
Edgeworth, Australia
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Have stayed in Tasmania for 7 nights and different location every day from west coast, east coast and central Tasmania and in some small towns.

Lenna Hobart service was the worse experience in my travels and their continental breakfast was the worse experienced in all of my years travelling. Service was well below par and way way overpriced for this facility let alone the poor service level.

I won't write all the failings here, but a simple one was not even welcomed on arrival or even checking for how we enjoyed our stay. There was not much that went the way it should have.

I experienced better service in 3* facilities in small towns than what I received at Lenna.

Sorry I can't recommend based on this lack of dedication to service. Cultural change needed.

Location was only benefit.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Justin G, General Manager at Lenna of Hobart
Responded 12 Jan 2020
Dear tonyw612015, Thank you very much for your feedback and our sincere apologies that you didn't enjoy your recent stay with us. We are sorry for the level of service you received as this is certainly not our normal standard. Customer service is something we pride ourselves on at Lenna of Hobart and generally we receive very positive feedback on this. Our apologies also that you didn't enjoy breakfast. Currently, this is absolute peak season in Hobart and we have noticed some very busy mornings in our restaurant. We are looking a plans to immediately resolve this and we thank you for your feedback. Once again our sincere apologies for the issues encountered during your stay. Kind Regards
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
argi2010 wrote a review May 2022
Colac, Australia
5.0 of 5 bubbles
This Hotel is beautifully presented and perfectly positioned to explore the best of Hobart and surrounding regional areas. It’s history and importance in the settlement of Hobart is unique. The staff are professional and warm in their approach. Our room was comfortable, spacious and well equipped. The shower was super. Supplied toiletries were of a high standard and quite large. Towels were large and fluffy. House keeping was highly efficient. Open air parking was included in the room rate. It was secure and accessed using a scan of our room card. Breakfast was offered in the breakfast room. Both continental and cooked choices were available at an additional cost to the room rate.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Parking is provided but can be a bit tight for large SUVs. Quite fine though
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
GoldCoastJane wrote a review Mar 2021
Gold Coast
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We arrived at The Lenna late from our flight . Our checkin was easy and smooth. We had room 18 with a queen bed. The room was a good size , clean with a good hot shower and quality toiletries . I found the bed very firm but my husband had no problems with it at all. The hotel has beautiful gardens and a stylish booklet explaining the history of the hotel. There are a variety of cafes and restaurants within a 5 minute walk of the hotel, but you do need to climb a slightly steep hill to return to the hotel. We had a booking at the Salamanca Suites (Lenna owns the suites as well, they are just across the road) for the following 4 nights, the staff took our bags over to the Salamanca and delivered them to our room. All the staff we dealt with were extremely friendly and helpful. A little treat was the upstairs lookout in the Lenna Hotel. I highly recommend this Hotel in Hobart.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2021
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Valapha G wrote a review May 2021
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Booked 2 nights hoping that it was worth$648/2 nights weekdays. A bit disappointed because the room was old fashioned and not soundproof, so you can hear toilet flushing and bath water being run from upstairs. Housekeeping was a bit of hit and miss. Had washed up the milk frother and a glass, and there it stays. Our bevarages, milk and bathrooms sundries were not restocked had to asked for them to be replenished. Otherwise the bed was comfortable with views to the mountains. Walking to the shops and surrounding areas were pleasant. Hotel itself and the compound is nice.

Would I stay there again? Probably would at half the price.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Answer from Matt0724
Brisbane, Australia33 contributions6 helpful votes
The Family Room that I stayed in was one room, Queen Bed & Two Singles. Just email the staff however, as I believe that they have a Two Bedroom Penthouse & a Two Bedroom Family suite with a view of the Park. Hope this helps.
Answer from Justin G
Hobart18 contributions2 helpful votes
Hi NA N, You certainly can book tours from the hotel and most will pick you up or their offices are only a short walk away. Kind Regards Justin
Picky asked a question Oct 2016
Montgomery County, Maryland177 contributions155 helpful votes
Hi, Do you recall anything about the aircon? Was it efffective? Was it individually controlled? Thanks
Answer from Justin G
Hobart18 contributions2 helpful votes
Hi PickyAbout, We have just completed the install of air-conditiong and heating units in all rooms. Kind Regards Justin
Nina a asked a question Mar 2016
Melbourne, Australia1 contribution
is there a twin share room - 2 doubles beds
Answer from Gabycalvehider
Sydney, Australia105 contributions103 helpful votes
Not sure but I'm sure if you email the hotel, they will let you know.
koznloki asked a question May 2015
Rockhampton, Australia155 contributions10 helpful votes
Hello, I walk with a stick. Is this hotel an easy walk to Salamanca Markets. How far us it? Thanks :)
Answer from Justin G
Hobart18 contributions2 helpful votes
Hi Sandrine P, Thanks for the questions. The hotel is up quite a short sharp hill from Salamanca Place. Please let me know if you need anymore additional information. Kind regards Justin
Nick P wrote a tip Jun 2024
Sydney90 contributions76 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Have time to relax in the bar"
Read full review
kcharmaine28 wrote a tip May 2024
Brisbane, Australia12 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Availability is limited during peak periods. Parking available onsite."
Read full review
Daniel Lim wrote a tip Apr 2024
Singapore, Singapore55 contributions60 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"Walk the grounds. Lovely and full of history."
Read full review
KDMFM wrote a tip Feb 2024
Massachusetts16 contributions17 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Make reservations for Da Angelo’s restaurant in Battery Point or you will miss out!"
Read full review
V P wrote a tip Jan 2024
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Take the time to visit the main house, there is a lookout at the top floor. "
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Hobart area.
PRICE RANGE
£75 - £115 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
lenna of hobart hotel hobart, lenna hotel hobart, hobart lenna hotel
LOCATION
AustraliaTasmaniaGreater HobartHobart
NUMBER OF ROOMS
52
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

LENNA OF HOBART - Updated 2024 Reviews, Photos & Prices

Frequently Asked Questions about Lenna of Hobart
Which popular attractions are close to Lenna of Hobart?
Nearby attractions include Hobart's TrikeMania Adventure Tours (0.2 miles), Battery Point Sculpture Trail (0.2 miles), and Salamanca Market (0.2 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Lenna of Hobart?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
Which room amenities are available at Lenna of Hobart?
Top room amenities include a minibar, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at Lenna of Hobart?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Lenna of Hobart?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Lenna of Hobart?
Conveniently located restaurants include Da Angelo Ristorante, Syra Restaurant, and The Den Bar & Restaurant Salamanca.
Is Lenna of Hobart located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.5 miles away from the centre of Hobart.
Are any cleaning services offered at Lenna of Hobart?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Lenna of Hobart offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers meeting rooms, a banquet room, and conference facilities.
Are there any historical sites close to Lenna of Hobart?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Runnymede (2.7 miles), Constitution Dock (0.7 miles), and Cascades Female Factory Historic Site (1.9 miles).
Does Lenna of Hobart have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the harbour view available here.
All Hobart HotelsHobart Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in HobartHotels near Lenna of Hobart
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire