We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

Adelphi Hotel

avatar-imageavatar-imageavatar-image
Traveller (329)
360
Panoramas (20)
Videos (2)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

View prices for your travel dates

Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.

About

#25 of 171 hotels in Melbourne
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travellers' Choice
Adelphi Hotel is an award winning boutique hotel that presents an enticing palette of temptations. Swinging couches, signature cocktails, Marshmallow Beds and Liquorice All-Sort stools are merely the entree. Discover 34 sumptuous rooms, world-class amenities, an intimate & striking lobby space and a magnificent 12 seater private dining/ Boardroom space. Adelphi is (literally) topped off by it's iconic rooftop Pool and Deck area - with it's over-hanging glass bottomed pool. And guests can be wowed by the Food and Beverage served in Om Nom Cocktail Bar. Directly underneath Adelphi, you'll find the brand new and extremely popular NOMAD restaurant, located in the basement level. A step away from bustling city streets, enjoy the sensation of escape. Lose yourself in luxury & Engage your senses. Taste the unique offerings. Settle in for the sweetest of dreams. Dive in & be enlivened.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Paid private parking nearby
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Rooftop pool
Bar / lounge
Highchairs available
Taxi service
Conference facilities
Meeting rooms
Pool / beach towels
Restaurant
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Complimentary tea
Complimentary welcome drink
Happy hour
Snack bar
Rooftop terrace
Baggage storage
Concierge
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Sun deck
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun terrace
Sun umbrellas
First aid kit
Umbrella
24-hour check-in
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Show more
Room features
Allergy-free room
Blackout curtains
Air conditioning
Desk
Housekeeping
Coffee / tea maker
Flatscreen TV
Walk-in shower
Air purifier
Bathrobes
Interconnected rooms available
Room service
Safe
Seating area
Telephone
Wardrobe / wardrobe
Bottled water
Iron
Laptop safe
Private bathrooms
Tile / marble floor
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Minibar
Refrigerator
Electric kettle
On-demand films
Radio
iPod docking station
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
4.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Boutique
Trendy
Languages Spoken
English, Spanish, Arabic, Hindi and 1 more
1983Reviews13Q+A100Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 1,455
  • 345
  • 116
  • 30
  • 37
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
avatar-image
Nichateley wrote a review Feb 2024
2 contributions
The king suite room was beyond dated, unkept and smelt and build up of scum around shower was unacceptable. Pool area is not per the photos. Reached out to management who told me I was in the best room and could not offer any assistance.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: February 2024
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Dion Chandler, General Manager at Adelphi Hotel
Responded 2 days ago
Hi Nichateley and thank you for your feedback. I am very sorry your recent stay in one of our Deluxe King Rooms fell short of your expectations. We are currently undertaking a refurbishment of our rooms. We have just upgraded the televisions and bed mattress in all of our rooms, amongt other items. The carpet in the room you stayed had been replaced 2 days prior to your arrival, which may have explained the smell you mentioned. We were advised to allow 24 of for the new carpet smell had subsided prior to allocating arrivals and in fact we waited 48 hours, however its apparent this may not have been enough and I apologise for that. We are also about to start bathroom regrouting in our rooms, which will tidy this area up too. The levels above our pool deck will soon start their renovations too, so we have erected a temporary wall towards the back of the pool deck to allow for this. The rest of the deck and the pool is still open and usable for our guests through this period. I understand our Manager on Duty explained we were fully booked out, which is why we were unable to offer a room move at the time. I will follow up with our team to make sure they are doing everything possible to ensure any complaints we receive are handled to the complete satisfaction of our guests at the time. Thanks again for your feedback and please feel free to reach out to me directly if I can be of further asssistance in future at d.chandler@adelphi.com.au Sincerely, Dion
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
MoniqueLSmith wrote a review May 2023
Ferntree Gully, Australia5 contributions1 helpful vote
Hotel's Favourite
This was my 1st visit to the Adelphi Hotel in Melbourne. The complimentary snacks and drinks on arrival was very much appreciated. The room felt cosy and comfortable. Will definitely be my hotel of choice when staying in the city. The location was also ideal!
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: May 2023
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Joe Mataitoga, Guest Services / Front Office at Adelphi Hotel
Responded 18 Jul 2023
Dear MoniqueLSmith, Thank you for taking the time to share your wonderful experience at Adelphi. Our boutique charm is something that we pride ourselves on, providing exemplary customer service and going the extra mile to ensure our guests' expectations are exceeded. I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed the Comfy King room, with a complimentary non-alcoholic mini bar consisting of snacks and sweet treats. Delighted to hear that you have chosen us to be a hotel of your choice when staying in the City.; I thank you for sharing your find to others and look forward to having you back in the near future for another fantastic Adelphi experience. See you again soon, Kind Regards! Joe Mataitoga Front Office Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
MDRNs wrote a review Feb 2024
Fort Wayne, Indiana5 contributions1 helpful vote
We were only in town for one night and decided to stay in town. This hotel was worth the trip into town. The room was clean & the bed was super comfy! Loved the extra amenities offered such as snacks & mini bar (excluding alcohol). The staff was also friendly, professional, and helpful.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: February 2024
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
TichSydney wrote a review Feb 2024
Sydney61 contributions45 helpful votes
Our stay at the Adelphi Hotel was in a Deluxe King room, located on a corner facing Flinders Lane. Despite its city central location, the room was surprisingly quiet, thanks to the effective double glazing on the windows. The room itself was spacious and well-appointed, with a large bathroom which included a bath. However, our experience with the hotel's service fell short of expectations in a few key areas. Upon arrival at 11am, we were informed that our room was not yet available, which we anticipated (we were hoping for an earlyish checking due to a restaurant booking). We were told that we would receive a notification when the room became ready, but unfortunately, this communication never materialized. Consequently, when we returned to the hotel later in the afternoon, we had to inquire about the status of our room ourselves, only to discover that it had been ready for over an hour. Furthermore, upon entering our room, we encountered a disappointing oversight: the fridge had not been cleaned and still contained the previous occupant's half-eaten food. This lapse in cleanliness left us feeling uneasy, as we couldn't help but wonder what other oversights may have occurred. Additionally, the promised welcome drink was missing. While the staff apologized and attempted to rectify the situation by sending up a bottle of champagne, this gesture couldn't fully mitigate the series of basic guest service errors we experienced. For us on this trip, while the hotel's amenities and room quality were commendable, the lapses in communication and cleanliness detracted from an otherwise enjoyable stay.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2024Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
hanlro wrote a review Feb 2024
1 contribution
Fantastic stay. They went above and beyond to make our stay special. giving a gift to my partner, and a special not in room. The cocktails were great during happy hour. the bubbles by the pool were lovely. overall couldn't fault it.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: February 2024
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
cdred19 wrote a review Jan 2024
Sydney, Australia5 contributions
Was in Melbourne for the AO tennis. Location was brilliant and close to everything. Staff were friendly and efficient and the rooms were clean and tidy. Loved the daily stock up of the free snacks and drinks! Great for the tennis! The only small point of note was the water pressure in the shower wasn’t great. It wasn’t a major issue so we didn’t bother mentioning it to staff so not sure if all the rooms were the same.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: January 2024
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
ClareEMGM wrote a review Jan 2024
2 contributions
The Adelphi is a stunning hotel with superlatively friendly and helpful staff. Everything is both high quality and a lot of fun! We also had High Tea at the hotel, which was spectacular. We would have loved to have stayed longer!
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: January 2024
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Joe Mataitoga, Guest Services / Front Office at Adelphi Hotel
Responded 25 Jan 2024
Dear ClareEMGM, Thank you so much for taking the time to share your wonderful Adelphi experience with us! We are so pleased you appreciated our beautifully styled, contemporary, warm, and fun hotel! We take great pride in being both quirky and comfortable. Our staff always love to hear how friendly they are, so we all thank you for your kind words. Comments like this drive us to provide consistent premium service. Couldn’t agree with you more! Adelphi's central location is simply perfect, which allows our guests to choose from a vast list of places to eat/drink and all kinds of attractions. Aww yes, our High Tea is of high quality, elegant, and class which is so spectacular. We would love to have you back at the Adelphi Hotel, and look forward to seeing you next time! Please do not hesitate to contact us for any future bookings. Kind Regards! Joe Mataitoga Front Office Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
c0dylevi wrote a review Jan 2024
Sydney, Australia1 contribution
An excellent place to stay if you want to be in the heart of the CBD. The bed was extremely comfortable and the decor was creative and different to most hotels. Staff were very friendly and always said hello when leaving or returning.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: January 2024
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Joe Mataitoga, Guest Services / Front Office at Adelphi Hotel
Responded 25 Jan 2024
Dear c0dylevi, I am so glad to hear you enjoyed your time at the Adelphi Hotel! And thank you for your amazing review! We pride ourselves on our service, and our team is happy to hear the compliments. As a small hotel, we have the unique opportunity to provide highly personalized service to create memorable experiences for our guests and I am delighted to hear we delivered. I am delighted to read that our bed was extremely comfortable - we just changed our mattresses a few months back and they are so comfy, cozy, and plush. Our location is one of our greatest assets and we are so glad that you were able to experience our wonderful city. I will be sure to pass your feedback on to the team here at Adelphi - they will be thrilled to know that you appreciated their commitment to conscientious and diligent customer service. Thank you for taking the time to leave us such wonderful feedback, and we would love to see you back at the Adelphi Hotel soon. Kind Regards! Joe Mataitoga Front Office Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Meredith S wrote a review Jan 2024
Melbourne, Australia3 contributions1 helpful vote
Excellent service front desk and in the restaurant. Central, but still private. Loved the pool. Rooms are well designed and maintained, with very comfortable beds. The free minibar foods are a great touch 😀
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: January 2024
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Joe Mataitoga, Guest Services / Front Office at Adelphi Hotel
Responded 25 Jan 2024
Dear Meredith S, Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us such a wonderful review! I can't express enough how fantastic it is to read that our team was able to leave such a lasting impression through our exceptional and excellent customer service. We are so lucky to have a team of people who genuinely enjoy getting to know all our guests and show everyone a wonderful time. We are centrally located and our team is always friendly and willing to assist to make your stay in Melbourne all the more comfortable. Our location is indeed superb, with such proximity to restaurants, bars, and great shopping options. I am happy that you have the opportunity to visit our beautiful rooftop pool - which is so beautiful and relaxing. It's also so great to read that you found the rooms to be nice, well-designed, and super quiet, we endeavor to create a perfect mix of unique style and design with plush comfort! The complimentary non-alcoholic mini bar and snack jar full of treats also certainly help make relaxing and indulging very easy! It was such a pleasure hosting you, and we cannot wait to welcome you back. Please do not hesitate to contact us directly to organize your next stay. Kind Regards! Joe Mataitoga Front Office Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
ameliamc7 wrote a review Jan 2024
1 contribution
Loved our stay! Wonderful service from all of the staff, great room and location. Especially loved the rooftop pool! The room was clean with excellent facilities and very aesthetically pleasing. The restaurant was also beautiful. No complaints here :)
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: January 2024
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Joe Mataitoga, Guest Services / Front Office at Adelphi Hotel
Responded 25 Jan 2024
Dear ameliamc7, Aw wow 10/10 review is just amazing and thank you so much for your honest rating! So it's fantastic to hear that our friendly team was able to help make your time with us so terrific. We are also delighted to read that your room was clean with excellent facilities. Our brilliant housekeeping team are such superstars, and they make a special effort to ensure our rooms are as relaxing as possible. I am delighted you had the opportunity to check out our stunning pool deck during your stay . This space will be renovated soon, and I hope for you to check it out on your next visit - it will be stunning. Please feel free to contact us direct for your next visit. Kind Regards! Joe Mataitoga Front Office Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Melbourne area.
PRICE RANGE
£117 - £179 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
adelphi hotel melbourne
LOCATION
AustraliaVictoriaMelbourneCentral Business District
NUMBER OF ROOMS
34
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

ADELPHI HOTEL - Updated 2024 Reviews (Melbourne, Australia)

Frequently Asked Questions about Adelphi Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to Adelphi Hotel?
Nearby attractions include Melbourne Urban Adventures (0.1 miles), Sporting Capital Tours (0.08 miles), and The Ian Potter Centre: NGV Australia (0.10 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Adelphi Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
Which room amenities are available at Adelphi Hotel?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Adelphi Hotel?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and complimentary tea during their stay.
Is parking available at Adelphi Hotel?
Yes, paid private parking nearby and paid public parking nearby are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Adelphi Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include 11 Inch Pizza, Roule Galette Melbourne, and Il Bacaro Cucina e Bar.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Adelphi Hotel?
Yes, guests have access to a rooftop pool during their stay.
Is Adelphi Hotel located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.6 miles away from the centre of Melbourne.
Are any cleaning services offered at Adelphi Hotel?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Adelphi Hotel offer any business services?
Yes, guests have access to meeting rooms and conference facilities during their stay.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Adelphi Hotel?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Spanish, Hindi, Arabic, and Vietnamese.