We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

BEST WESTERN Riverside Apartments

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
BEST WESTERN Riverside Apartments
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

278 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 267: English reviews
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Reviewed yesterday NEW

I was disappointed by this property as I was stuck around the back of a totally different building to that which the web site indicated I would be in. The room was noisy with street noise and pipes banging. The air conditioning was efficient but the lighting was very dim. The windows had one way thermal coatings but no lace...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Chris_Haml
Sydney Australia
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Having stayed at the Riverside for many years I'm afraid that, like myself , age is creeping in ! It is still a good choice & fairly central but little signs of disrepair & fraying at the edges are apparent and a freshen up is required I think ? Staff are as always professional & friendly but the cleaning in...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Skeney57
Chiang Mai, Thailand
Reviewed 5 days ago NEWvia mobile

We got a room in the annex. Well, our room was a bit run down with an old carpet. If you have a dust allergy like me, you might should stay away. Hotels in Melbourne are expensive and that fact makes this one a good deal. Nice staff, great central location.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Guenterdk
Steven B, Public Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Riverside Apartments, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. It was very nice talking to you at check out. We hope to see you again in Melbourne soon.

Bendigo, Australia
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

The welcome on arrival was very friendly. The room was spacious, clean and well appointed with everything that we needed for a one night stay. We stayed in a single bedroom apartment on the 17th floor. The location is fantastic and easy to access. Very easy and short walk to South Bank, Casino and Exhibition Center or walk or tram...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Robert F
Steven B, Public Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Riverside Apartments, responded to this review

So glad to hear you enjoyed your stay. I will pass on your comments to our staff. Thank you for taking the time to make comments too. Please come back soon.

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

I'm no snob but this is one of the worst hotels I've ever stayed in. After 20 hrs on the run, all I wanted was a bed but no one at reception so couldn't get in. Then sent down to road to other property that is absolutely filthy, there is garbage in the "foyer" if you can call it that....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Stevewb0612
Steven B, Public Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Riverside Apartments, responded to this review

I was sorry to read your review. In all honesty I felt your review was harsh and not accurate. Our staff are here to help you and an access phone number is clearly posted at reception after 11pm to assist you. Had we known you were so unhappy we surely would have tried to make your stay more comfortable.

melbourne
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Stayed in a 3 bedroom apartment , very large and accommodated 7 sleeping and 2 bathroom, it was clean and spacious and suited our night stay in the city. Kitchen did not have enough plates and cutlery for number it should sleep, Also to note there is a flight of stairs once you enter apartment to get to kitchen and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank dora23
Steven B, Public Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Riverside Apartments, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to assist others with details about your stay. Guests find such information very helpful. We hope to see you again soon.

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I found an online special for these apartments, which made the price even more reasonable for one night's accommodation. I was welcomed in a lovely manner at reception and had to walk around the corner to find the other building containing my apartment. The only downside was catching the small lift up that smelt of curry. The apartments appear to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Thepurplegirls
Steven B, Public Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Riverside Apartments, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your review. We appreciate your comments and hope to see you again soon.

Wokingham
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We had two apartments for two nights whilst driving from Mildura to Moe and wanted to have a look around the city. The accommodation was much better than expected at a reasonable price. Good location for the tram and access to the city. Yes, it was slightly noisy but your on a main road in the city. Caused us no...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sprinkle2
Steven B, Public Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Riverside Apartments, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. Great to hear you enjoyed your recent stay with us. We look forward to seeing you all again soon.

Tarneit, Australia
Reviewed 19 October 2016

Room was fantastic. But since it is located around the corner from King St, it is very noisy right through the night till early morning! Everything in the room was clean and very tidy. Would be a great hotel if it was situated somewhere else!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Michelle P
Steven B, Public Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Riverside Apartments, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I'm sorry the street noise disturbed your stay. Next stay please book our 1 bedroom apartment at our main building, Riverside. These are quieter apartments. We hope to see you again soon.

Perth, Australia
Reviewed 9 October 2016 via mobile

I went there for a conference and the position is perfect. The apartment is spacious and everything was good except the carpet definitely was a bit tired. Huge storage room, the linen and towels were top class and the reception was very welcoming and helpful- and you can open the windows! Yay!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Docker15
Steven B, Public Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Riverside Apartments, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at Best Western Riverside Apartments. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again soon.

81 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (75)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
View from Room (15)
Viewed
Room/Suite (12)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (31)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (6)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Central Business District
Clarion Suites Gateway
Clarion Suites Gateway
#27 of 157 in Melbourne
1,007 reviews
Central Business District
Adina Apartment Hotel Melbourne Northbank
Central Business District
Pensione Hotel Melbourne - by 8Hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Oaks on Market
Oaks on Market
#91 of 157 in Melbourne
1,044 reviews
Southbank
Travelodge Southbank Melbourne
Central Business District
Punthill Northbank Melbourne
Punthill Northbank Melbourne
#94 of 157 in Melbourne
72 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Central Business District

Neighbourhood Profile
Central Business District
Full of discovery and delight, Melbourne’s laneways tease the imagination long after you’ve put your weary feet up to rest. They weave through the heart of the city: cafes, bars, restaurants and boutiques, throbbing with conversation and espresso coffee. You never quite know what you’ll find around the next corner: cobblestone alleys, old beer barrel hoists and even vats of simmering organic soup. There is the air of Berlin in the street art, a touch of Paris in the umbrella-shaded cafes and, reminiscent of Rome, eateries tucked away in the most unlikely of places. Perhaps you might want a break and cross the Yarra River to Southbank - walk along the promenade, bask in the sun at a waterside bar and decide whether to go to the nearby casino or book a ticket at the Melbourne theatre company.
Explore this neighbourhood

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Room Service
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair access
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Year remodeled - 2008/9. Best Western Riverside Serviced Apartments are located in the CBD of Melbourne and offer two types of accommodations. Riverside annex apartments described as the annex rooms when booking are located on the corner of Flinders and Highlander Lane situated on the first, second and third floors, just near our reception in Highlander Lane. All apartments in this building are one bedroom. Both riverside and the annex rooms are conveniently located at the historic and entertainment end of the city, just minutes walk to crown casino, Melbourne exhibition and convention centers, aquarium, Southbank restaurants, observation deck and Etihad Stadium. ... more   less 

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Riverside Apartments

Address: 474 Flinders St, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Region: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Price Range: £76 - £172 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — BEST WESTERN Riverside Apartments 4*
Number of rooms: 49
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your BEST WESTERN Riverside Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Riverside Apartments Hotel Melbourne
Best Western Melbourne
Best Western Hotel Melbourne
Hotel Style:
#97 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from BEST WESTERN Riverside Apartments staff and other travellers.
5 questions
Ask a question
Croydon, Australia
over a year ago

See all questions (5)

Questions? Get answers from BEST WESTERN Riverside Apartments staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“not sure but specify river view at least but beware of train noise”
 of 5 bubbles Chris_Haml, 7 Dec 2016 | Read review
“We had rooms on 17th floor. Very spacious.”
 of 5 bubbles R8348UVcindym, 23 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Make sure you are not in the building on Flinders Lane!”
 of 5 bubbles RobynK223, 11 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Request a room with views and high up if you like it quieter.”
 of 5 bubbles vegas778, 3 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Not sure but higher rooms would probably a bit quieter”
 of 5 bubbles Lotto1313, 11 Jul 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay