Park Hyatt Melbourne
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

Park Hyatt Melbourne

1 Parliament Square Off Parliament Place, Melbourne, Victoria 3002 Australia
Room 1556 Park Hyatt Melbourne - View from room of tennis court
Traveller (1458)
Panorama of the Club Deluxe Room at the Park Hyatt Melbourne
360
Panoramas (12)
Room & Suite (740)
What is Travellers’ Choice Best of the Best?
This award is our highest recognition and is presented annually to those businesses that are the Best of the Best on Tripadvisor, those that earn excellent reviews from travellers and are ranked in the top 1% of properties worldwide.
Learn more

View prices for your travel dates

Get rewarded with One Key
£180
£180
£160
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.

About

4.5
#9 of 174 hotels in Melbourne
4.7 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.8 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.6 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.3 of 5 bubbles
Value
This award is our highest recognition and is presented annually to the top 1% of businesses across select categories.
Overlooking St. Patrick’s Cathedral, Fitzroy Gardens and the cosmopolitan mix of Victorian and modern architecture of the central business district, Park Hyatt Melbourne offers an exclusive sanctuary in the heart of the city. Our hotel in Melbourne CBD provides a warm ambiance and exceptional levels of personalised service and luxury amenities. Renowned for having the largest 240 guestrooms & suites in Melbourne with walk in robes, Italian marble ensuites and open windows, our luxury hotel provides an unparalleled experience of elegant, contemporary luxury. Guests are invited to enjoy the award-winning radii restaurant & bar, the vibrant Tea Lounge and Park Club Health & Day Spa featuring an indoor aquamarine pool, spa, sauna, gym and private sun deck. Our Melbourne hotel is only 22km from Melbourne Airport, and is convenient to most city attractions around the city centre. It is within walking distance to the Melbourne Cricket Ground (MCG), home of the Australian Football League (AFL) and test cricket, The Melbourne Museum and the best boutique shopping, cafes, restaurants and theatre districts. Park Hyatt Melbourne is also ideally positioned just steps from Parliament Station and Melbourne's free tram zone.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Paid private parking on-site
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Tennis court
Babysitting
Airport transportation
Parking
Wifi
Hot bath
Indoor pool
Heated pool
Fitness / spa changing rooms
Sauna
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Complimentary tea
Business Centre with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Spa
Couples massage
Facial treatments
Full body massage
Massage
24-hour security
Baggage storage
Concierge
Currency exchange
Non-smoking hotel
Butler service
Doorperson
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Room features
Blackout curtains
Air conditioning
Fireplace
Housekeeping
Room service
Minibar
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Safe
Iron
On-demand films
Room types
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
5.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Luxury
Park View
Languages Spoken
English, Chinese

Location

1 Parliament Square Off Parliament Place, Melbourne, Victoria 3002 Australia
Getting there
Great for walkers
Places to stay are graded on a 0-100 scale. The higher the grade, the easier it is for travellers to find restaurants and things to do within walking distance.
Grade: 100 out of 100
100
Melbourne Airport
12.2 mi
See all flights
Essendon Airport
4,659Reviews24Q+A100Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 3,497
  • 692
  • 244
  • 126
  • 100
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Jason D wrote a review Jan 2021
Melbourne, Australia173 contributions103 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Stayed during Melbourne Covid lockdown in July for an evening with connecting rooms for the kids due to some extenuating circumstances at home.

The hotel was not participating in the Covid hotel quarantine program which made it a very attractive choice. The hotels’ pool, gym, restaurants and bars were all closed.

Service was exceptional, despite the obvious issues the hotel was dealing with. The food at breakfast, lunch and dinner, via room service was prompt and delicious. We were granted a very late check out which was fantastic and very flexible of the hotel. The staff did everything to make our stay warm, pleasurable and easy. Cannot rate the service any higher.

The hotel however is very old and tired. The rooms we stayed in were rather dated. The TV’s were very old, bathrooms very dated, all in dire need of a renovation. Problems brought to their attention were quickly fixed by hotel maintenance.

It was nice to get away in the middle of a pandemic and enjoy things like room service. We all had a wonderful stay despite the circumstances and would look forward to returning to the hotel in normal times.

Hopefully the hotel will update its rooms, with a Shangri-La and Mandarin Oriental slated to open soon, they may find it tough to compete in the same space given how dated everything is.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Leigh Shepheard, General Manager at Park Hyatt Melbourne
Responded 18 Jan 2021
Dear jasond134, Thank you for your kind review of Park Hyatt Melbourne after your recent stay with us. It was a pleasure to have you with us. I am so pleased you enjoyed your stay and that the team made such a positive impression. It is my pleasure to share your comments with them. Apologies you didn't like our art-deco style. We all look forward to having you back to the hotel very soon and I hope you will be able to enjoy all facilities which are now open. Regards, Leigh Shepheard Hotel Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Paul D wrote a review Feb 2020
Stepney, Australia2 contributions4 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
The attentiveness and attention to detail of the staff at the Park Hyatt Melbourne was exceptional and made the stay memorable. The room was large but not altogether comfortable for my frame (normal BMI male). The bed was comfortable and provided good support and would probably suit those like me with back problems. However, I don't like this type of bed that reflects back my own body heat as I overheat. This was only a problem on the first night and I think the staff noticed the state of the bedding and probably changed the weight of the doona (look that up :)) so that on the second night I was cold, but that was easily remedied with an extra t shirt. The pillows were comfortable. The air-conditioning could not be turned off so there was a little fan noise but less discernible than in most similar types of accommodation. Breakfast was good, better than most, and the coffee was served promptly and to barista standard. I made notes to myself about two minor maintenance issues and the staff picked this up and acted without a request from me, fixing the problems - very impressive! All staff were friendly and approachable, making you feel welcome and valued. The location next to Fitzroy Gardens was delightful. As a corporate stay I would definitely chose PHM again if offered. As a private person it is probably a little above my preferred price range for stays in Melbourne and I would chose either a cheaper chain or an Air BnB option, especially as I prefer self catering.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with Hyatt Hotels
Date of stay: February 2020
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
3.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Leigh_Shepheard, Hotel Manager at Park Hyatt Melbourne
Responded 23 Feb 2020
Dear pauldT424ZS, Thank you for taking the time to give your detailed feedback after your recent stay with us at Park Hyatt Melbourne. It was a pleasure to have you with us. I appreciate your comments and I am very pleased that you enjoyed your stay. I take your comments onboard and I assure you we will look into where improvements can be made. I am particularly pleased with your comments on the staff. This means a lot to us and I will be sure to share your comments with them. I hope we can welcome you back to Park Hyatt Melbourne very soon and we all look forward to serving you again. Regards, Leigh Shepheard Hotel Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Texas Traveler wrote a review Jan 2020
Texas178 contributions75 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Our room was comfortable, clean, and well-appointed. The staff is attentive, friendly, and concerned about the comfort of their guests. The staff concierge desk and valets were very helpful.

The quiet location is within walking distance to the museum, train station, and tourist area.

We had excellent dinners in the restaurant, and the breakfast buffet was satisfying. We liked being able to order eggs and omelettes to order. There is a small selection of gluten free pastries at the buffet, and the produce was fresh.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Leigh_Shepheard, Hotel Manager at Park Hyatt Melbourne
Responded 19 Jan 2020
Dear CarolynK184, Thank you for taking the time to review Park Hyatt Melbourne after your recent stay with us. It was a pleasure to have you with us. Your review is very kind indeed and it is my pleasure to share it with the team. They will all be thrilled with your feedback. I hope we can welcome you back to the hotel in the near future and we all look forward to serving you again. Regards, Leigh Shepheard Hotel Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
mavery2020 wrote a review Dec 2020
8 contributions1 helpful vote
3.0 of 5 bubbles
After booking 3 rooms for 1 night including 1 terrace suite for the Friday night to allow myself and bridal party to get ready for one of the most important days of my life (my wedding) and a further king room and terrace suite for the Saturday night (honeymoon night) totalling $3,310 there was great disappointment that followed. The Terrace room was to be cleaned and I was assured it would be done up as a honeymoon suite was NOT even cleaned (only bins emptied) upon arriving back at 10:30pm. A call came through about 11am to confirm what time they could enter the room to prepare it, they were told from 2pm onwards. You can only imagine the disappointment when my husband and I returned to the room and it was in the same state as it was left at 2pm. Eg. open milk carton, open/used toiletries in the shower and around the basins in the bathroom, dirty sheets and unmade bed etc. Not only was the room not cleaned but the room did not resemble the honeymoon ambience which had been promised when booking the room. I was assured it would be "perfect". After discussing this with Jodie Bell and her offering a dinner to compensate which was less than satisfactory compensation, as I felt another night in any room done up as a honeymoon suite would have been adequate to make up for the previous night's disappointment. This was not an option according to Jodie and she instead offered a small financial refund which doesn't even begin to cover the cost (because you can't put a price on your wedding night) or pay for another night in your cheapest room. I hope this never happens to another newlywed couple, my husband and I returned to work on Monday after our honeymoon was cancelled due to COVID and also had 7 changes to our wedding plans so we were hoping that Saturday night would be perfect and it wasn't. Also breakfast the following morning was "forgotten" even though it had been ordered the night before to be brought up to the room.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with Hyatt Hotels
Date of stay: November 2020
2.0 of 5 bubblesValue
2.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
1.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
3.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Leigh Shepheard, General Manager at Park Hyatt Melbourne
Responded 5 Dec 2020
Dear mavery2020, Thank you for sharing your feedback after your recent stay with us at Park Hyatt Melbourne and congratulations on your wedding. I am very sorry to hear that your special day was less than satisfactory. After speaking with the team, as your booking was for two nights, we cleaned your suite as a stay-over rather than a check out. My apologies if you gave other instructions to the team. I understand your parents stayed in the suite the first night and you stayed in the suite on the second night. I hope you will return at some point in the future as I am sure we can give you a great experience to make up for this stay. We would be most pleased to welcome you and be of service again. Regards, Leigh Shepheard Hotel Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
My Display Name wrote a review Jun 2021
2 contributions1 helpful vote
1.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed here to support Melbourne businesses given how hard they are all doing in the CBD.

The place was very empty which was not a surprise given the COVID situation.

Bed was comfy but the hot water in the shower was inconsistent. As you're having a shower it would run hot and cold throughout the whole time.

Staff were generally friendly but we were let down by the denial of an extremely simple request. Our package included full breakfast in the restaurant and we asked to have it delivered to our room but this was rejected. When asked why we were not allowed to have breakfast in our room given they provide room service we were told that it was "just not available." This is clearly not a valid reason.

If they were honest, they could have just said that it would be additional labour and they simply don't want to do this. We would have been happy to pay a delivery fee if this was the case. So in the end we paid for room service breakfast even though our package included breakfast.

You'd think given how NOT busy they were this request wouldn't have been hard to fulfill. Additionally, you would think they would work hard to provide guests a great experience as they are struggling to have enough customers.

The CBD has had an explosion of other hotels crop up like the W, the new Hilton and the upcoming Ritz Carlton in 2022 so there is no need to return to the Park Hyatt.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
3.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Leigh Shepheard, General Manager at Park Hyatt Melbourne
Responded 14 Jun 2021
Dear MyHatMyCandy, Thank you for sharing your feedback after your recent stay with us at Park Hyatt Melbourne. It was a pleasure to have you with us. I am sorry to hear about the hot water issues. It doesn't sound right at all and I will ensure our Engineering team look into what was causing that issue. I apologise for the frustration. My apologies that the breakfast package you booked on didn't suit your needs. If you prefer to have room service breakfast, I would kindly suggest booking a room only rate and you can order room service as you please. I am sorry the team were not able to include the room service instead of the restaurant breakfast. I hope in the future we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back and I remain available to assist you if you wish to discuss further. Regards, Leigh Shepheard Hotel Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Bulent U wrote a review Feb 2020
Shanghai, China52 contributions68 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
After Auckland and Sydney, Melbourne was our last station of our 10 day holiday. Being a Platinum Member, I chose Park Hyatt considering we may be tired and would need the comfort that we had from other Hyatt hotels all around the world before. If this would not be our first time in Melbourne, I would definitely think twice before booking this hotel. Looking at our 3 nights experience, my objective comments are as follows: Room was very good, clean and well maintained, 10/10. General facility 10/10. Bell desk 10/10/ Especially I will never forget Peter’s (Szeto) great efforts to find back our “in the taxi forgotten” backpack. All the bell desk staff were very helpful and efficient during the whole stay. Reception/Concierge 5/10. +5 is for their good intention and -5 is for their lack of experience and know-how. Except Caroline, the staff in general were not trying to bring solutions, which is very rare in Hyatt branded hotels. Anyway, as I mentioned I assumed they have a good intention in general. The only department, however, which definitely made us to avoid this hotel next time is Room Service (0/10). Particularly, a chef named “DEAR”. Let me tell you briefly what happened with this dear chef. We have booked a great ocean tour, for which we had to be somewhere else at 7.10am to be picked up. The breakfast, however, was starting at 7.00 in Park Hyatt. So, I have asked concierge whether it would be possible to collect breakfast boxes in the morning to catch the pickup. They said yes. In the standard breakfast box there would be fruit, yoghurt, croissant and juice. Then I said, we have dietary restrictions and whether it would be possible to have a very simple sandwich (with no meat) and fruit. It took me 30 minutes to get an answer for this request. And the answer was no reason being they have strict regulations. I have insisted another 30 minutes by waiting in the concierge to get a sandwich with cheese and tomato. I offered to pay additionally whatever they want, but this DEAR guy was very strict in following regulations. After 1 hour of insisting for buying a simple sandwich I could convince the hotel to give us required sandwiches. All these things happened late at night. Normally I would not stick to this kind of memory to write it here, but losing my 1 hour for this nonsense instead of having a sleep, I have promised to DEAR that I would make his name known to people who will read this. Before I forget, the scones in the lounge were really delicious.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: we had a suite. was recommendable
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Leigh_Shepheard, Hotel Manager at Park Hyatt Melbourne
Responded 5 Feb 2020
Dear Shanghainese2001, Thank you for taking the time to give your detailed feedback after your recent stay with us at Park Hyatt Melbourne. It was a pleasure to have you with us. It is such a shame that such a silly judgement call has ruined what was otherwise a great stay. I too am very disappointed on the call our chef made to reject making a simple sandwich for you. I assure you that this is not our usual level of service and we are happy to be flexible to our guests dietary requirements. We have dealt with this situation internally and for what it is worth, our chef is very apologetic and understands that he made the wrong decision. We are people trying to do our best and sometimes albeit with all the very best of intentions, we make mistakes. If I may kindly ask you to indulge us on this occasion. On a more positive note, I am glad Peter was able to get your bag back to you. I will ensure he is commended for his great work. I hope you will give us the pleasure of trying us again in the future and I assure you of our best possible service at all times. Regards, Leigh Shepheard Hotel Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Daryl M wrote a review Jan 2023
5 contributions4 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
I booked a two night staycation for my wife and I for our 11th wedding anniversary.

The booking process was seamless over the phone, with Nina ensuring that all of my questions were answered prior to booking the best available room rate.

Upon arrival, I mentioned that my wife was going to stay by herself for the first night to relax and have a night away from the children, and a bottle of wine and some chocolates for her were kindly sent up prior to her arrival in the room. All of the staff that we engaged with were friendly and helpful, and we were grateful for the late checkout (12pm).

I had requested a quiet King Deluxe room, which was provided for us (1557, far from the lifts), with a view looking north towards St Patrick's Cathedral. The room was warm, clean and spacious with a comfortable king bed and functional bathroom (including spa) with roomy shower and dual sinks. My wife remarked on the practicality of the vanity mirror. In addition, there were a couple of comfy chairs for lounging in and plenty of space for luggage and hanging clothes.

The buffet breakfast at the hotel restaurant (Radii) was very tasty, with options for hot food (including freshly made omelettes and pancakes to order), deli meats, yoghurt, cheese, breads, fruit, cereal, baked goods, desserts, hot drinks and juices. The meal that my wife ordered on the first night from the in-room dining menu (Rustic Beef Bolognaise and a piece of pavlova for dessert) was delicious, and arrived promptly after ordering.

The parking was in the public Wilson Car Park ($31 overnight) located underneath the hotel.

The location is convenient for many of the entertainment options in Melbourne, with many restaurants, theatres, etc all within walking distance (we went to see 'Hamilton' at Her Majesty's Theatre, which was a 10 minute walk).

For public transport options, Parliament station is a 5 minute walk, as is the tram stop on Macarthur Street (which becomes Collins Street if travelling west).

I would highly recommend staying at the Park Hyatt to both local and international guests.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2022
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Leigh Shepheard, General Manager at Park Hyatt Melbourne
Responded 3 Jan 2023
Dear DarylM444, Thank you for sharing your detailed review after your recent stay with us at Park Hyatt Melbourne. It was a pleasure to have you with us. I am so pleased you enjoyed all aspects of your stay. It is so encouraging to read through the details and hear that every point met your expectations. I will be pleased to share this with the team. I hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back again in the near future and being of service again. Regards, Leigh Shepheard Hotel Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Cléo wrote a review Apr 2022
Perth, Australia34 contributions6 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
I thoroughly researched every 5 star hotel in Melbourne looking for the most luxurious possible experience for my 30th birthday holiday for myself and my partner, and the Park Hyatt did not disappoint! Its exterior is something you'd expect to see of a 5 star hotel in a movie, with water features and manicured topiaries adorning the long driveway. We were greeted warmly on arrival by multiple staff, the lobby was grand and beautiful, check-in was smooth and quick, and our room was incredible. You will not find a larger hotel room for such a reasonable price anywhere else - for the same price as most other 24 square metre 5 star hotel rooms in the city, I got a 60 square metre room with a lounge area, a full wardrobe, two vanities for getting ready, a huge marble spa bath, two sinks and everything else you could ever want. I've stayed in a few 5 star hotels over the years, and I can confidently say this was by far the best one I've stayed at. We ordered room service for breakfast every morning, and the food was delicious and the service speedy. I particularly loved the gluten free croissants, as a coeliac I hadn't had a croissant in years! I loved that the hotel also has its own pet labrador ambassador named Mr. Walker, who sits at the front on a nice bed! We enjoyed drinks in the grand bar downstairs as well. Finally, the luxurious indoor pool and spa was absolutely beautiful, we enjoyed it greatly.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with Hyatt Hotels
Date of stay: March 2022
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Leigh Shepheard, General Manager at Park Hyatt Melbourne
Responded 7 Apr 2022
Dear cleoambre, Thank you for your lovely review of Park Hyatt Melbourne and Happy Birthday to you. It was a pleasure to have you for this special celebration. I am so pleased to read that you had such a lovely stay and enjoyed the hotel so much. It is very encouraging to hear. I will be sure to share your feedback with the whole team. I hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back again in the near future and being of service again. Regards, Leigh Shepheard Hotel Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Tas_S6 wrote a review Jan 2020
Sydney, Australia37 contributions44 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
I was given a lovely room but my booking comments asked for a high room, away from the lift. I was given 2 floors above reception. At check in I said that I requested a high floor and could I be changed, I was told that everyone had already checked in and rooms were allocated but they are now aware for next time. The next day I asked if they had a higher floor room and they once again said no even though there was a large line if people checking out. Plus the phone was not working properly and I had to move the chord around for it to work and for me to hear the reception staff. The manager on duty on my second day was a complete rude and condescending person. Reception got him to call me, they had a wedding and the wedding was so loud I couldn’t rest. I had a really early morning because I had meetings and had plans to rest in the afternoon but couldn’t because there was loud drumming and Noise from the wedding all night. The general manager said they allow people to have weddings there and the hotel was booked. They would be able to move me on the last day. I said what’s the point. I have to pack up my things. I also said they should have put the people from the wedding on the lower floors he told me the wedding guests were not staying there, utter bull because As I was going down the lift 5 people from the wedding were in the lift and they were discussing the state of their rooms and their friends rooms. So here I am lacking sleep and had plans to go out, completely exhausted I went out with friends. The General manager had an horrible answer for every question I asked. Plus he wrote our conversation down and apparently wrote it in a letter but that letter never turned up. He must have imagined it. And how condescending I know the conversation he had it with me. I don’t need it written down l. Maybe he does but not me. I’m never staying there again, full of condescending people. when you work in the hospitality industry you have to provide customer service. It doesn’t exist there. I asked for a 1pm check out and the lady told me over and over again 1pm is the latest we can’t do any later. She said this over and over again, how condescending. I heard her the first time, zero customer service. Just say sure I can give you until 1pm and leave it at that. The general manager was not accomodating at all. Was extremely condescending and because the hotel only caters for older clientele 65 plus the general manager didn’t care about my concerns.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Leigh_Shepheard, Hotel Manager at Park Hyatt Melbourne
Responded 2 Feb 2020
Dear Tas_S6, I am very sorry to hear about your stay with us and the lack of care you received. I am not sure who you spoke with but I would ask you to please contact me directly and I will investigate what has happened. Again, my sincere apologies and I look forward to hearing from you. Regards, Leigh Shepheard Hotel Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
kyung wrote a review May 2021
Vienna, Austria24 contributions26 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed 4 nights in the first week of May. We booked a king bed room on the hotel's website but found out after check in our bed was not a king bed room. Our bed was twin beds pushed together, which was very uncomfortable to sleep on because we could feel the edges of twin beds. We had had enough after first night and went down to reception to complain as its website clearly said it was a king bedroom not twin bed room. Reception staff said we could get upgraded to a real king bed room with extra. Why didn't the hotel clearly say in the beginning our room was a twin bed room not a king bedroom. We were frustrated but agreed to pay an extra for a real king bed room, which we were supposed to get without paying an extra. In general staff were professional except cleaners. The whole world got upended because of transmissible virus, and I expected cleaners to pay more attention to cleaning than this. Cleaning staff of Park Hyatt Melbourne acted like they've got better things to do than cleaning hotel rooms. Our cleaner vacuum cleaned just a small area in front of the bed and wiped the small area of the bathroom, which didn't give me a piece of mind. In general, cleaning of the room was quite inadequate, no disinfection and no hard cleaning. And cleaning staff took away room amenities like robes, sleepers but hardly refilled those stuff. And room service staff forgot cutlery for room service. Overall our stay was disappointing. This hotel needs serious update. Sauna areas connected to the pool are terribly old and need an immediate renovation. We flew from New Zealand to enjoy travel bubble with Australia, and we honestly didn't have a good time staying at this hotel. You cannot blame every thing on Covid Pandemic. Won't stay in this hotel again. The best thing about this hotel is the size of room is very generous. Rooms are much bigger compared with other 5 star hotels
Read more
Date of stay: May 2021
2.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
1.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
2.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Leigh Shepheard, General Manager at Park Hyatt Melbourne
Responded 12 May 2021
Dear kyungupton, Thank you for sharing your feedback on your recent stay with us at Park Hyatt Melbourne. It was a pleasure to have you. I am very sorry to hear that you didn't enjoy your stay with us. It is very disappointing to hear. In regards to your room, you paid to upgrade to a View King Room which is a higher room category than the Park King room you booked. Some of our rooms are zipper to give the flexibility to provide guests with a range of bedding configurations. I am sorry you were not comfortable in this room type. I have shared your comments with our Housekeeping and Room Service Teams as I am sure we can do better than that. It is disappointing to hear but I do very much appreciate the feedback. It would be a pleasure to discuss your stay personally if you wish to do so and I would ask that you please contact me at your convenience. I hope we will be able to be of service in the future. Regards, Leigh Shepheard Hotel Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Answer from Nic29e
Cohuna, Australia642 contributions111 helpful votes
Unsure sorry
Answer from rosey55
Wantirna, Australia72 contributions56 helpful votes
There are squash courts available for public use at University of Melbourne. Easy to get there. Just 10 minutes by tram along Swanston Street.
Answer from DenverJanine
Denver, Colorado41 contributions33 helpful votes
All of the rooms are large and wonderful so you wouldn't even need connecting rooms. I went with family and we just got rooms next to each other (can't remember if they were connecting). The whole family LOVED it!
Answer from margaretmazza
Melbourne, Australia3 contributions
Probably best to phone the hotel as they are very accommodating and would provide further options if they know they were to have vegan guests
CLGT wrote a tip Apr 2024
New York City, New York74 contributions46 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
"The price seems a bit lower than the usual Park Hyatt brand but you get what you pay for. This is not a true Park Hyatt hotel."
Read full review
ian t wrote a tip Mar 2024
3 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"We had a lovely dinner in the hotel. Please note that small plates aren't starters but small (ish) main courses."
Read full review
Oddie2014 wrote a tip Feb 2024
Melbourne, Australia45 contributions35 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"If you have chanced to choose the room, please choose higher level"
Read full review
ROBERT I wrote a tip Feb 2024
New York City, New York722 contributions209 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Beautiful pool and spa. We used the free trams in the city center and never needed a taxi."
Read full review
Liz wrote a tip Jan 2024
Balwyn, Australia60 contributions14 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Book breakfast. It’s delicious!!!"
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Melbourne area.
PRICE RANGE
£180 - £212 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
park hyatt melbourne hotel melbourne, hyatt melbourne, melbourne hyatt
LOCATION
AustraliaVictoriaMelbourne
NUMBER OF ROOMS
240
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

PARK HYATT MELBOURNE - Updated 2024 Reviews, Photos & Prices

Frequently Asked Questions about Park Hyatt Melbourne
What are some of the property amenities at Park Hyatt Melbourne?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an indoor pool, free wifi, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at Park Hyatt Melbourne?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Park Hyatt Melbourne?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Park Hyatt Melbourne?
Yes, paid private parking on-site is available to guests.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Park Hyatt Melbourne?
Yes, guests have access to an indoor pool, a fitness centre, and a sauna during their stay.
Does Park Hyatt Melbourne have airport transportation?
Yes, Park Hyatt Melbourne offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Are any cleaning services offered at Park Hyatt Melbourne?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Park Hyatt Melbourne offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Park Hyatt Melbourne?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Chinese.
Does Park Hyatt Melbourne have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the park view available here.
Is Park Hyatt Melbourne accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access, reduced mobility rooms, and facilities for disabled guests. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.
All Melbourne HotelsMelbourne Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in MelbourneHotels near Park Hyatt Melbourne
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire