We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Rydges on Swanston Melbourne

Hotels.comUS$97*
View Deal
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
US$357*
US$97*
US$357*
US$97*
US$357*
US$97*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Professional photos
Rydges on Swanston Melbourne
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

342 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 336: English reviews
Start your review of Rydges on Swanston Melbourne
 Click to rate
Brisbane, Australia
Reviewed yesterday NEW

I stayed here while travelling to Melbourne for business. Although I didn't book the accommodation I would definitely stay there again as it is very close to restaurants in Lygon St and food places. Although the room was a little lacking in lighting which alot of hotel rooms are this one was a very large room with desk, king bed...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank muljh
Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 5 days ago NEWvia mobile

Wonderful trip to Melbourne with my friends cannot be mentioned our lovely Rydges on Swanston which made our trip far way better than what we expected when I made a booking online. We spent 3d2n there for my partners bday. We stayed in Spa room as we wanted a romantic for his bday. Room is nice touch with simple furnished...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Baohoang1607
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

I was there for the ausdoc conference on the weekend of may 5/6 . While some staff were very helpful it was hard to get information. As i was part of the committee i did have some dealings with your staff. Your antiquated lift doesn't lend itself to fast movement of goods for people who hire your function room facilities....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank John J
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 1 week ago

The people running it do so by the skin of their teeth and lie by omission to attract business. The staff camaraderie exists at the expense of guests. The lift is slow and inadequate. The coordination between departments is appalling and the customer is not the first consideration. Concerns are not taken seriously and guests are not treated with consideration....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank groldis
RydgesonSwanston, General Manager at Rydges on Swanston Melbourne, responded to this review

Dear Spaxfield, Thank you for sharing your opinion, I’m sorry you felt the event did not meet your expectations. We are surprised by your comments, the feedback the hotel received from the committee and a number of attendees during the post event debrief was very positive. I disagree the hotel lies to attract business. For this event the hotel was...

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Stayed here for 4 nights while attending a course at Melb uni. The hotel is 5 min walk away from the uni and about 20 min wall from melbourne central so very convenient location wise. The check in process was smooth and efficient. The room I got was in the refurbished half and quite clean and roomy. The bathroom was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Dilini K
Pokhara, Nepal
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We had a lovely night. The room was great and the staff are very friendly and helpful. Coming back for sure next time we are in town. 100% recommended for couples. We had the queen suite with the hot tub. All excellent!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tomas C
Maroochydore
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I always find this hotel to be a pleasure to stay at for my business visits to Melbourne. The location is great, it is easy to get to and the staff are always friendly and helpful. I would happily recommend this hotel to both friends and work colleagues.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank U6867YJrobertl
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

This is going to be a short review. Hotel is great, customer service is great, food is great, car park is a rip off for tiny spaces @ $25 a pop, the wifi is good, the lift is slow but my biggest disappointment is being told a lie by Andy @ reception. Stayed the night using my priority guest rewards,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Monson08
RydgesonSwanston, Front Office Manager at Rydges on Swanston Melbourne, responded to this review

Dear Monson08, Thank you for taking time to sharing your feedback in regards to your recent stay at Rydges on Swanston. It was great to see that you like the hotel and the service. I am disappointed to see that you found the car park was overpriced however I can confidently tell you that we are offering the lowest car...

Adelaide, Australia
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This hotel is a little way from the main shopping center,but a tram stop outside hotel quickly gets you there . This is not a five star establishment ,but it is clean ,quiet and comfortable , with reasonably priced rooms. we had a double that had two large queen beds and a chaise lounge, a little tight on space but...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank djascott
RydgesonSwanston, Front Office Manager at Rydges on Swanston Melbourne, responded to this review

Dear djascott, Thank you for taking time to sharing such a detailed review about your recent stay at Rydges on Swanston. I am glad to see that you found the hotel room clean and comfortable to your liking. As our discussion when you were at the hotel I am happy to inform you that the hotel is undergoing a refurbishment...

Skenes Creek
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We had a beautiful room over looking the Gardens of Lincoln Square. The fact that reception is 24 hours meant that there was no pressure with our check in after 11pm. Comfortable bed, pillows and great shower!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank praline2017
RydgesonSwanston, Front Office Manager at Rydges on Swanston Melbourne, responded to this review

Dear praline2017, What a wonderful review! Thank you for that. I am delighted to see that you enjoyed the beautiful view from one of our King Parkview room. We always try our best to make our guest has a peace of mind stay by providing 24h front desk service to assist guest anytime. It was also great to see that...

107 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (72)
Viewed
Room/Suite (13)
Viewed
Bathroom (10)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Other (43)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (35)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Other (15)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Chinatown
Rydges Melbourne Hotel
Rydges Melbourne Hotel
#77 of 159 in Melbourne
2,136 reviews
Lygon Street
Best Western Plus Travel Inn Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Lygon Street
Quest Carlton on Finlay
Quest Carlton on Finlay
#38 of 159 in Melbourne
296 reviews
Lygon Lodge Carlton
#114 of 159 in Melbourne
131 reviews
Central Business District
Jasper Hotel
Jasper Hotel
#76 of 159 in Melbourne
1,023 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Food & drink at the hotel
Blue's Bar & Grill
Blue's Bar & Grill
Cuisines: Australian, Bar, Grill, Pub
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Pool
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Conference Facilities
  • Room Service
  • Babysitting
  • Breakfast Available
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Rydges on Swanston having undergone a multi-million dollar refurbishment both externally and internally has well and truly positioned itself as a hotel of choice within Melbourne. Blues Bar & Grill has a contemporary feel offering the very best food, service and presentation. The funky bar lounge and great outdoor terrace is very popular. Close to the airport and a short tram into the heart of Melbourne's CBD, makes us a great location for any traveler. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Rydges on Swanston Melbourne

Address: 701 Swanston St | Carlton, Melbourne, Victoria 3053, Australia
Region: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Price Range: £75 - £189 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Rydges on Swanston Melbourne 4.5*
Number of rooms: 107
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Rydges on Swanston Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rydges On Swanston Melbourne Hotel Melbourne
Rydges On Swanston Hotel Melbourne
Melbourne Rydges On Swanston
Hotel Style:
#47 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#80 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Rydges on Swanston Melbourne staff and other travellers.
5 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (5)

Questions? Get answers from Rydges on Swanston Melbourne staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Not one of the old ones.”
groldis, 16 May 2017 | Read review
“upper floors back rooms quieter”
djascott, 1 May 2017 | Read review
“Room facing park”
praline2017, 27 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Beware the single, slow lift - perhaps a low floor is advisable?”
mvpalmer, 21 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Make sure you have breakfast here.”
shaynekj72, 17 Apr 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Hotels.com
US$97* /night
View Deal
Hotwire.comUS$97
TripAdvisorUS$97
AMOMAUS$357
View all 12 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates