We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Nomads All Nations Hostel

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Nomads All Nations Hostel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

230 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Nomads All Nations Hostel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 200: English reviews
New York City, New York
Reviewed 26 July 2016

The hostel had an excellent atmosphere and great location. It's right in the city center and near free trams to everything everywhere you'll want to go. The staff was very friendly. Will definitely come back.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank geoffreywest25
Helen M, Manager at Nomads All Nations Hostel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. Great to hear you enjoyed the atmosphere and the location. We love our staff too, can't wait to see you here again!

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 29 June 2016

This hostel was decently clean and the staff was extremely polite and helpful. I stayed in a 12 person dorm room and had no problems with the service. They served free pancakes in the morning if you were up early enough. Also in a very good location and the price is right around what you would expect for a central...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank TravelingTexan93
Helen M, General Manager at Nomads All Nations Hostel, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your review. Glad to hear you enjoyed your stay and the staff were awesome to you and you enjoyed all our freebies. Our location is great. Would love to see you back here soon.

Carlisle, United Kingdom
Reviewed 28 June 2016 via mobile

Only spent one night here between flights however I wasn't really impressed. I was in a room of 6 or 8 and a few were couples all sharing beds. Staff weren't great however Chris that worked in the travel office was more than amazing helping me plan my adventures. Hats off to him. I found the girl very patronising trying...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank kirstymac
Helen M, General Manager at Nomads All Nations Hostel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. Sad to hear you didn't enjoy your stay, in saying that we cannot control couples that want to sleep in a bed with each other. Our travel guru is Adam, during your stay we never had any female staff working in the travel shop, not sure if you are referring to another travel shop or...

Reviewed 2 June 2016 via mobile

My boyfriend and I stayed in All Nations for over a week and were very happy with the hostel. We were in a private room so I can't speak to the conditions of a dorm, but the room was well appointed and clean. We first stayed on the 2nd floor, which was nice and quiet, with free wifi right outside...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Quaffley
Helen M, Manager at Nomads All Nations Hostel, responded to this review

Thank you for your email. Glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and all the freebies we have on offer. You are right we are super close to everything. Would love to see you here again.

Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewed 9 May 2016 via mobile

I stayed in a 10 bed dorm here, was a big room with plenty of space for everyone's stuff. Had a massive unisex bathroom across the hall from my room which was always clean when I went in. Kitchen is slightly small for the size of the hostel. Loud at night but not so bad you can't sleep. Great location...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank NLouise19
Helen M, Manager at Nomads All Nations Hostel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. Glad to hear you enjoyed your stay in one of our large dorm rooms. We have plenty of bathrooms you are right! Yes the only downside to being in the city centre is slight noise but we do make up for it. Would be great to see you back here again.

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 1 May 2016

I am really satisfied with my travel agent STA who arranged my trip in Melbourne and also in The great ocean road trip. The package cost is really decent and affordable as well. The feedback to the customers was really excellent.

Review collected in partnership with statravel.com
 Report
Helpful?
Thank arhan_dewan
Helen M, Manager at Nomads All Nations Hostel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I think you might mean our Mad Travel Shop agent. We get really great discount on our Great Ocean Road trips, I am really glad to hear you enjoyed that. Please come see us to score some more mad travel deals :)

Reviewed 25 April 2016

I stayed here when I first arrived in Melbourne whilst looking for something permanent. Sure, the century old building is in need of attention but it's a beautiful building with lots of the original features which I feel add character to the place. I always found the staff to be friendly and helpful! Location is excellent and the bar downstairs...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank LittleMissMelbs
Helen M, Manager at Nomads All Nations Hostel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. It is really great to see people enjoy our hostel the way you have described, we really love this old building too. We like to think of ourselves as cool over classy. Ubar our onsite bar is exactly where it is at, if you are still hanging around Melbourne you must come check out the...

Reviewed 8 April 2016

Figured this was a cheap and cheerfull option but unfortunately it was only the first. The staff seemed lovely and welcoming but the building itself was a bit run down. If you want somewhere to relax a night or to before continuing travelling this is not the place. To start its dirty. Honestly not to fussy a guy but when...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Drew G
Helen M, Manager at Nomads All Nations Hostel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. Sad to hear you didn't have the best time during your stay. Our building is a heritage building and is very old, because of this it is hard for us to make major changes to it. In saying that we are updating rooms. We have plenty of character in this building. Glad you enjoyed all...

Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand
Reviewed 18 March 2016 via mobile

Nomads was a cheap option for a 4 bed room. The room was clean and pretty quiet (3rd floor). I would say though this place is definitely made for long term travellers and not really people just cruising throw for a day or two. Pretty good backpackers though!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank AndrewDNZ
Helen M, Manager at Nomads All Nations Hostel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. During Winter we do get a lot of longtermers but we like to keep them separate from travelers that are only staying a couple of nights. Glad to hear you enjoyed your stay though. Would love to see you here again.

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 16 February 2016

Lived here a couple of years ago for two months whilst I was backpacking across Australia. The vibe here is really something else. The staff are really helpful and friendly and the rooms are always clean and tidy. A very rustic feel to the place. Big kitchen and huge dining/chill out hall and a TV room with plenty of sofas....

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank OrangeCrusher
Helen M, Manager at Nomads All Nations Hostel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. Glad to hear you enjoyed everything during your stay with us. Really great to see other people loving our hostel us much as we do. You got to come back and see us soon. We have made a lot of changes.

33 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (14)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Other (11)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (19)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (11)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Central Business District
King Street Backpackers
King Street Backpackers
#99 of 126 in Melbourne
141 reviews
Central Business District
United Backpackers Melbourne
United Backpackers Melbourne
#4 of 126 in Melbourne
474 reviews
Central Business District
Melbourne Central YHA
Melbourne Central YHA
#23 of 126 in Melbourne
392 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Discovery Melbourne
Discovery Melbourne
#98 of 126 in Melbourne
466 reviews
Home at The Mansion
#45 of 126 in Melbourne
112 reviews
Central Business District
The Greenhouse Backpacker
The Greenhouse Backpacker
#32 of 126 in Melbourne
402 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Central Business District

Neighbourhood Profile
Central Business District
Full of discovery and delight, Melbourne’s laneways tease the imagination long after you’ve put your weary feet up to rest. They weave through the heart of the city: cafes, bars, restaurants and boutiques, throbbing with conversation and espresso coffee. You never quite know what you’ll find around the next corner: cobblestone alleys, old beer barrel hoists and even vats of simmering organic soup. There is the air of Berlin in the street art, a touch of Paris in the umbrella-shaded cafes and, reminiscent of Rome, eateries tucked away in the most unlikely of places. Perhaps you might want a break and cross the Yarra River to Southbank - walk along the promenade, bask in the sun at a waterside bar and decide whether to go to the nearby casino or book a ticket at the Melbourne theatre company.
Explore this neighbourhood

Amenities

Highlights
  • Bar/Lounge
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
Internet
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry

Additional Information about Nomads All Nations Hostel

Address: 2 Spencer St, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Region: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Price Range: £18 - £89 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Nomads All Nations Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 55
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, HostelWorld, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Nomads All Nations Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Nomads All Nations Hostel staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from Nomads All Nations Hostel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“its rooms are noisy.”
 of 5 bubbles mojtaban912, 22 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Ask for a higher up room”
 of 5 bubbles 522michelj, 18 Dec 2016 | Read review
“First floor as there are a LOT of stairs, the lift is broken.”
 of 5 bubbles Edward1000, 22 Jan 2016 | Read review
“get a room away from the tracks”
 of 5 bubbles natef436, 21 Dec 2015 | Read review
“The one opposite reception has massive stain marks on carpet.”
 of 5 bubbles AlexP2256, 13 Dec 2015 | Read review
5 of 5