We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Greenhouse Backpacker

Save
Traveller (112)
Room & Suite (29)
Dining (7)
You may also like:
See all
Nearby
Overview
  • Excellent24%
  • Very good41%
  • Average23%
  • Poor7%
  • Terrible5%
Travellers talk about
“free breakfast”(48 reviews)
“free walking”(9 reviews)
“common room”(9 reviews)
AMENITIES
Free Internet
Breakfast included
Non-Smoking Rooms
Multilingual Staff
Accessible rooms
Self-Serve Laundry
Free Parking
2 Star Hotel
All hotel details
You may also like:
See all
Nearby
{"containerClass":null,"containerAttributes":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null}
Reviews (447)
Filter reviews
342 results
Traveller rating
92
132
68
25
25
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
92
132
68
25
25
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfree breakfastfree walkingcommon roomhostel offerstour deskfree pastafederation squaregreat locationcleaned regularlybed dormcommon areasflinders lanekey cardenjoyed my stayvisit melbournelounge areayarra river
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 5 of 342 reviews
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

The location of this hostel is really good and I liked the free walking tour which you can do every Monday. However, I didn't like my room very much, as it didn't have any windows (at all). The bathroom wasn't really clean and the common...More

Thank Lisa v
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Ideal place to stay for a short trip to Melbourne. Only 20 minute walk from Southern Cross Station and it located right in the centre walking distance to all major attractions and great places to eat and drink around. Regarding the10am Monday walking tour with...More

Thank Caitlin B
Response from Brendan R, Public Relations Manager at The Greenhouse BackpackerResponded 3 weeks ago

Hi Caitlin, Thanks for your great review. Glad to hear you enjoyed our location and free walking tour! We hope to see you again when you are in Melbourne next!

Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

Having stayed at Greenhouse Backpackers on 2 occasions now (sadly I'd booked the return and the first stay at the same time) I find the staff to be very rude, save for the exception. The kitchen closes at 9:30pm (which is too early) and we...More

1  Thank Jessica B
Response from Brendan R, Public Relations Manager at The Greenhouse BackpackerResponded 4 weeks ago

Hi Jessica, We are sorry to hear you had a bad experience with our staff. Our friendly and knowledgeable, local staff are one of our best assets and we pride ourselves on our customer service. It must be noted that our kitchen cleaning staff are...More

Reviewed 14 April 2018

...if it's your first time here, it bundles up with currency exchange and cop shop. The reception is on the top floor, which isn't stated anywhere, not clearly anyway. Major coup here is it's cheap. I stayed in a twin room by myself and paid...More

Thank bawdo
Response from Brendan R, Public Relations Manager at The Greenhouse BackpackerResponded 16 April 2018

Hi Bawdo, Thanks for your comments. It's a shame you didn't notice our wall length mural, front door signage and large "Reception Level 6" sign as you were waiting for the lift. Good to hear you found us in the end! I'm glad you enjoyed...More

Reviewed 29 March 2018

The hostel is just 5minutes away from the Flinders Street Station and it's not too difficult to find. It's located right above a police station, so that would have easily make anyone feel extra safe! Stayed there for 3 nights and was very happy with...More

Thank nurulshima14
Response from Brendan R, Public Relations Manager at The Greenhouse BackpackerResponded 16 April 2018

Hi nurulshima14, Great to hear that you enjoyed your stay! We hope that you come and stay with us again next time you are in Melbourne.

View more reviews
Most Booked Properties in Melbourne
See allSee all
About
Awards & Recognition
GreenLeaders Gold level
Amenities
Top amenities
Free Internet
Breakfast included
Hotel Amenities
Breakfast included
Self-Serve Laundry
Multilingual Staff
Details
Price range
US$23 - US$74 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms, Accessible rooms
Details
Price range
US$23 - US$74 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms, Accessible rooms
Add Photo Photos
Traveller (112)
Room & Suite (29)
Dining (7)
Family and Play Areas (6)
Nearby
Central Business District
Full of discovery and delight, Melbourne’s laneways
tease the imagination long after you’ve put your weary
feet up to rest. They weave through the heart of the
city: cafes, bars, restaurants and boutiques,
throbbing with conversation and espresso coffee. You
never quite know what you’ll find around the next
corner: cobblestone alleys, old beer barrel hoists and
even vats of simmering organic soup. There is the air
...More
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
Rachael B
21 November 2017|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from Evelyn T | Reviewed this property |
no, generally not. although i cannot say for sure whether they might have one or two rooms with private bathroom...?
0
Votes
Grainne1992
16 August 2017|
Answer
Response from beachlover3691 | Reviewed this property |
I dont know how many rooms dont have a window. We had a window but there was no view. To be hobest you dont spend much time in tbere for a view
1
Vote
teresa_wan
16 April 2016|
Answer
Response from ayie92 | Reviewed this property |
Green house back packers , all toilet is shared, but it's usually clean:)
0
Votes
Room Tips
"All rooms where very basic but perfectly clean"
Read review
"Choose a private room"
Read review
"The third floor may be the quietest floor."
Read review
"Request for quieter room"
Read review
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing