We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Clarion Suites Gateway

Show Prices
#28 of 157 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Clarion Suites Gateway
Clarion Suites Gateway
Panoramas (13)
View Map
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel_streamline","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel_streamline","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel_streamline__widget","dust":{}}}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,018 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 986: English reviews
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 2 days ago NEWvia mobile

My partner and I live about 1hr outside of Melbourne and wanted a one night getaway in the city. We booked this hotel last minute and it was the best stay and service we have ever had in the city. Special mention to the staff at reception who delivered some of the best customer service I have ever received. They...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank alaynawaite
Kerry
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Walking distance from great restaurants, great shopping and attractions. Room overlooks the Yarra River and stunning skyscrapers. Room we have is a suite which is spacious. Very clean and bright. There is a small kitchenette which we used for breakfast. Bathroom is a bit small but minor complaint .Staff are lovely and even dined in the Williams restaurant which is...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank RemyLeBeauKerry
CSGManagement, Public Relations Manager at Clarion Suites Gateway, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us and sharing your experience on Tripadvisor. It is pleasing to read that you enjoyed our great location, rooms and service. We are disappointed to hear that your visit did not reach full expectations, and we offer you our sincere apologies for the inconvenience or disappointment that you experienced. I would like assure that our,...

Curlewis, Australia
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The hotel is well presented and the staff were fantastic. we were actually staying to go to a funeral. They couldn't be more helpful. They were able to find us rooms early as well so we could change before going. Couldn't recommend them highly enough and will stay there again when next in Melbourne. Location is also excellent being directly...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Magpies2016
CSGManagement, Guest Relations Manager at Clarion Suites Gateway, responded to this review

Dear Value Guest, Thank you for staying with us and sharing your experience on Tripadvisor. It is pleasing to read that our room met your expectations and enjoyed our great location, rooms and service. Our Team are delighted to read that they were able to make your stay a memorable one. Also if you’re not already a member can I...

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Purchased a Groupon For a Friends Birthday. For CLARION SUITES GATEWAY WILLIAM ST MELBOURNE> Paid extra for a Saturday Night , With two months to go , they couldn't even book a week night .let alone a Saturday night , Con job , now in a battle with Groupon trying to get reimbursed, Friends weren't happy about it too.getting stuffed...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank trav157
CSGManagement, Guest Relations Manager at Clarion Suites Gateway, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for your feedback and I do apologize that you were not satisfied with your experience in regards to booking availability. The use of voucher is based on our availability and this is defined in the information provided by the Groupon. If I may elaborate somewhat for clarity purposes, Groupon offers 7 day booking guarantee. If...

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

So we just arrived from a long drive from Sydney Adeel was very helpful,cheerful and greeted us with joy,my husband asked for directions to park the car he was very accurate at pointing direction and provided us with print out direction afterwards he helped me out with my massive luggage he just made me feel welcomed after the overwhelming drive......

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Eman A
CSGManagement, Guest Relations Manager at Clarion Suites Gateway, responded to this review

Dear Emma, Thank you for choosing Clarion Suites Gateway for your vacation in Melbourne, and for sharing your experience on Tripadvisor. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay. We really appreciate your positive comments about our customer service and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. Kind Regards, Maria Garcia

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

2 bedroom river view apt was perfect for a girls weekend away. you can watch all happenings at the casino from the balcony. Its in a perfect location. Its clean. Its a great price and the staff are friendly. underground carpark is about $20 per night.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank katpirpinias
CSGManagement, Guest Relations Manager at Clarion Suites Gateway, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest , Thank you for choosing Clarion Suites Gateway for your recent stay in Melbourne, and for sharing your experience on Tripadvisor. We are delighted that you enjoyed our location, rooms, and and the fantastic casino nightly fireball show, which can be seen in our River View room types. We look forward to welcoming you back on your...

Wangaratta, Australia
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

Views of Yarra river was excellent We enjoyed the gas flames every hour on the hour at night too. The food variety was much improved from our last visit and happy hour provided free snacks. The staff at reception went out of their way to help me get to an important venue for a workshop, when the booked taxi refused...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Flyingfox2608
CSGManagement, Guest Relations Manager at Clarion Suites Gateway, responded to this review

Dear Value Guest, Thank you for choosing to stay with us during your recent work trips to Melbourne your patronage is well recognised and most welcome. We really appreciate your positive comments about our customer service, and food service. Our Team are delighted to read that they were able to make your stay a memorable one. If you’re not already...

Greater Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 7 December 2016 via mobile

A great location with free city circle tram outside excellent staff who will go the next step always to help.Very good clean comfortable beds and good rooms.Great views of the bay and Southbank from the south facing rooms.Close to Southbank,Casino and Melbourne conference centre

 Report
Helpful?
Thank bunsy64
CSGManagement, Guest Relations Manager at Clarion Suites Gateway, responded to this review

Dear Value Guest, Thank you for taking the time to leave a review on tripadvisor, your continued patronage is well recognised and most welcome at our Hotel. Our Team are delighted to read that they were able to make your stay a memorable one. We appreciate that you enjoyed our location and all that Melbourne has to offer and we...

Traralgon, Australia
Reviewed 5 December 2016 via mobile

My boyfriend and I stayed a night here as an overnight get away. He has stayed here previously, and recommended it for its situation alone. Close to the aquarium and casino, with a tram stop close by for the city circle tram. The rooms were very clean and tidy. The view from the balcony of the apartment was spectacular! The...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kirsteen R
CSGManagement, Guest Relations Manager at Clarion Suites Gateway, responded to this review

Dear Kristeen, Thank you for your review and recommendation it is appreciated. It is pleasing to read that you enjoyed our room, location and the fantastic casino nightly fireball show, which can be seen in our River View room types. Our Team are delighted to read that they were able to make your stay a memorable one. If not already...

Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 December 2016

The clue is in the name - it provides a suite of rooms, and is therefore not a Budget Hotel, but when you are staying for more than a few days in one place, it is just ideal. The price was acceptable, the suite fantastic. The hotel put me in a room overlooking the River Yarra - very well positioned,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Barry Y
CSGManagement, Public Relations Manager at Clarion Suites Gateway, responded to this review

Dear Barry, Thank you for taking the time to leave a review on tripadvisor about your recent stay with us at Clarion Suite Gateway and thank you for your recommendation it is appreciated. It is pleasing to ready that you enjoyed our location and river view room; we have to agree our River View rooms do have fantastic views overlooking...

573 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (293)
Viewed
View from Room (47)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (25)
Viewed
Bathroom (12)
Viewed
Room/Suite (69)
Viewed
Dining (20)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (6)
Viewed
0:48
Videos (2)
Viewed
Other (112)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (234)
Viewed
Apartment (41)
Viewed
One Bedroom Apartment (29)
Viewed
One Bedroom River View Apartment (32)
Viewed
Pool (16)
Viewed
Dining (17)
Viewed
The Hotel (29)
Viewed
Two Bedroom Apartment (20)
Viewed
Two Bedroom River View Apartment (50)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (46)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (11)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (17)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Central Business District
Alto Hotel on Bourke
Alto Hotel on Bourke
#8 of 157 in Melbourne
1,426 reviews
Central Business District
The Sebel Melbourne Flinders Lane
Central Business District
Oaks On William
Oaks On William
#34 of 157 in Melbourne
1,290 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Pegasus Apart'Hotel
Pegasus Apart'Hotel
#31 of 157 in Melbourne
2,197 reviews
Central Business District
Adina Apartment Hotel Melbourne Northbank
Central Business District
Radisson on Flagstaff Gardens
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Central Business District

Neighbourhood Profile
Central Business District
Full of discovery and delight, Melbourne’s laneways tease the imagination long after you’ve put your weary feet up to rest. They weave through the heart of the city: cafes, bars, restaurants and boutiques, throbbing with conversation and espresso coffee. You never quite know what you’ll find around the next corner: cobblestone alleys, old beer barrel hoists and even vats of simmering organic soup. There is the air of Berlin in the street art, a touch of Paris in the umbrella-shaded cafes and, reminiscent of Rome, eateries tucked away in the most unlikely of places. Perhaps you might want a break and cross the Yarra River to Southbank - walk along the promenade, bask in the sun at a waterside bar and decide whether to go to the nearby casino or book a ticket at the Melbourne theatre company.
Explore this neighbourhood

Amenities

Highlights
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Suites
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Conference Facilities
  • Room Service
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Breakfast Available
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Contemporary High-rise Hotel situated 200 meters from aquarium & 500 meters from casino, shops & Yarra River Cruises. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Clarion Suites Gateway

Address: 1 William St, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Region: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Price Range: £85 - £210 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Clarion Suites Gateway 4.5*
Number of rooms: 122
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Clarion Suites Gateway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Suites Gateway Hotel Melbourne
Clarion Hotel Melbourne
Clarion Melbourne
Melbourne Clarion
Hotel Style:
#15 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#25 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#27 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
#31 Business Hotel in Melbourne
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Clarion Suites Gateway staff and other travellers.
14 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (14)

Questions? Get answers from Clarion Suites Gateway staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“The carpark is directly next to the entrance and can easily be overshot when turning the corner”
 of 5 bubbles Magpies2016, 4 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Just be aware that they don't have movies on TV and you need to take your own DVD's as they have a DVD player in each room.”
 of 5 bubbles Flyingfox2608, 17 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Reasonably Central for the Shopping”
 of 5 bubbles BarryY713, 2 Dec 2016 | Read review
“book rooms on higher floors.”
 of 5 bubbles ppokhare, 30 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Corner suites are large and sunny”
 of 5 bubbles AnneHu, 28 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay