We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

Nomads Melbourne

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Nomads Melbourne
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

290 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 247: English reviews
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Room was pretty dirty, although beds were clean enough and comfortable. Main issue was the bathrooms which were usually pretty dirty with wet floors and obviously not checked/cleaned frequently at all. Good location and sociable bar area if you're looking ti meet people in Melbourne.

Helpful?
Thank sep101
jonnie m, General Manager at Nomads Melbourne, responded to this review

Hi there, thanks so much for leaving a review! Glad your enjoyed our comfy beds! All bathrooms are cleaned twice a day and are checked regularly by staff. We are glad you enjoyed our bar where you can meet lots of friends and enjoy our cheap drinks and free games! Enjoy the rest of your travels! More 

Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
274 reviews
110 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Stayed here for one night before an organised tour in September 2016. The hostel's pretty easy to find and centrally located. Check-in was pretty quick and there's a lift or you can take the stairs. The rooms are a good size - mine was ensuite and had 3 bunk beds, one of which was a double bed. The bedding was... More 

Helpful?
Thank TheLush101
jonnie m, General Manager at Nomads Melbourne, responded to this review

Thanks so much for leaving a review! We really appreciate you leaving a detailed review for other potential guests to see. Our lockers are made for your smaller, valuable possessions to be stored. We hope you enjoy the rest of your travels! More 

Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This hostel is in the CBD, has a big park close to the hostel. The rooms where big, have enough space and lockers! The lounge bar is really cool. The beer garden is the place to met new people and chill. The week I was there, the weather wasn't really nice. But they have a big rooftop, when the weather... More 

Helpful?
Thank Rick S
jonnie m, General Manager at Nomads Melbourne, responded to this review

Thanks so much for leaving a review! We are glad you enjoyed your stay and enjoyed our bar. Enjoy the rest of your travels! More 

1 review
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Convenient location two minutes walk to exciting Victoria Market this place offers great value for money. I stayed in room 301 which has an ensuite, very comfortable bed, TV, bar fridge and all in all has a nice feel. Everything was super clean with good linen and toiletries supplied. Helpful staff around the clock is the biggest plus here -... More 

Helpful?
Thank 564ninal
jonnie m, General Manager at Nomads Melbourne, responded to this review

Thanks so much for leaving a review! We are so happy that you enjoyed your stay! More 

Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Ok it's a hostel so you never can expect too much. But for the price you pay here, its not done. Lift didn't work for about 5 days. It's a 5 floor hostel. And the kitchen is made for a couple appartment. Didn't had one chance to cook because it was continuously so crowded. They also clean it during lunch... More 

Helpful?
Thank Louise B
jonnie m, General Manager at Nomads Melbourne, responded to this review

Hi there, unfortunately the lift had jammed on the 4th floor on the Saturday night, the soonest we could have someone out to look at it was Monday and it was fixed by Tuesday. We were as sad about the lift being out for 3 days as you were as staff were helping run guests bags up and down the... More 

Travellers are raving about these Melbourne hotels

1 review
Reviewed 24 October 2016

Well, as the other comments said, it does smell a bit and is not very clean (and admittedly my lodging standards are not very high). But if you are looking to meet some people and go out in Melbourne that's definitely the place to be. Overall, had a great time. Internet is not free, but signal quality is very good.... More 

Helpful?
Thank Agnieszka G
jonnie m, General Manager at Nomads Melbourne, responded to this review

Thanks so much for leaving a review! We actually do have free wifi in our bar and reception area from 7.00 AM - 7.00 PM. We hope you enjoy the rest of your travels! More 

Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 October 2016 via mobile

Stayed at Nomads for one night on a Saturday night on a very busy weekend in Melbourne. The place was booked out and the place was pumping at night! The rooms were very basic but clean. Same with the bathrooms. The bar/common area was a little dark for my liking. Not very inviting. The sticky floor was also a bit... More 

Helpful?
Thank Lydz81
jonnie m, General Manager at Nomads Melbourne, responded to this review

Thanks so much for leaving a review! We really hope you enjoy the rest of your travels! More 

Barcelona, Spain
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2016

the hostal was well located, and it offered night games which was very nice. although the fact that they shut the wifi from 7pm to 7 am is REALLY ANNOYING. most people need wifi most of the day in order to book their next trip.. They made you pay to have wifi all day. The offered free pancakes which was... More 

Helpful?
Thank gmc93
jonnie m, General Manager at Nomads Melbourne, responded to this review

Hi there, we do provide 12 hours of free wifi, we turn it off in the evening as this prevents people from sitting on their laptops in the bar. We have a wonderful travel desk where you can book all the trips you like! We are glad to hear that you enjoyed the free pancakes! Enjoy the rest of your... More 

Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
334 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2016

Things that I like about Nomads: - very central location, including 15-min walk to 24-hour eateries - comfortable bed - very warm in the winter - fairly quiet, good sound proof doors - clean bathroom - generally friendly staff Things that can be improved - Slow staff and understaffed reception area - No free wifi in rooms, limited free wifi... More 

Helpful?
Thank 96joshuap
jonnie m, General Manager at Nomads Melbourne, responded to this review

Hi there, thanks so much for leaving a review! We love to hear all feedback, good or bad, from our guests. We do offer free wifi in our bar and lobby area. Apologies that we couldn't offer you your own individual light and plug socket. We hope you enjoy the rest of your travels! More 

Sydney, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 31 August 2016

My stay at the Nomads Melbourne was a pretty good experience for my first time staying in a hostel. The people were friendly and it was super accessible in terms of being close to many things in the city. One downside was that I had booked with my friends but was then placed in a room separate from them because,... More 

Review collected in partnership with statravel.com

Helpful?
Thank lstabo
jonnie m, General Manager at Nomads Melbourne, responded to this review

Thanks so much for leaving a review! Apologies that you could not be put in the same room as your friends, we always strive to keep all groups together. Unfortunately as we are busy during the weekends, this can become quite difficult to honor. All rooms are hoovered everyday by our friendly housekeeping team and fresh sheets are used. We... More 

30 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (24)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Other (10)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Chapel Street
Hotel Claremont
Hotel Claremont
#99 of 157 in Melbourne
364 reviews
Central Business District
Pegasus Apart'Hotel
Pegasus Apart'Hotel
#31 of 157 in Melbourne
2,062 reviews
Parkville
Art Series - The Larwill Studio
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
United Backpackers Melbourne
United Backpackers Melbourne
#4 of 118 in Melbourne
420 reviews
Central Business District
Space Hotel
Space Hotel
#9 of 118 in Melbourne
741 reviews
Central Business District
The Greenhouse Backpacker
The Greenhouse Backpacker
#34 of 118 in Melbourne
383 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Central Business District

Neighbourhood Profile
Central Business District
Full of discovery and delight, Melbourne’s laneways tease the imagination long after you’ve put your weary feet up to rest. They weave through the heart of the city: cafes, bars, restaurants and boutiques, throbbing with conversation and espresso coffee. You never quite know what you’ll find around the next corner: cobblestone alleys, old beer barrel hoists and even vats of simmering organic soup. There is the air of Berlin in the street art, a touch of Paris in the umbrella-shaded cafes and, reminiscent of Rome, eateries tucked away in the most unlikely of places. Perhaps you might want a break and cross the Yarra River to Southbank - walk along the promenade, bask in the sun at a waterside bar and decide whether to go to the nearby casino or book a ticket at the Melbourne theatre company.
Explore this neighbourhood

Amenities

Highlights
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair access
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Nomads Melbourne is a backpackers offering travellers a unique backpacking experience. The totally refurbished building at 196-198 A'Beckett St, is located at the top end of the city, right in front of the Queen Victoria Market. With many popular Melbourne attractions, beautiful gardens, fantastic shopping and a wealth of public transport options close by, Melbourne at its best is at your doorstep. At Nomads Melbourne you can indulge in the luxury of a deluxe en-suite king room, relax in style in a single or multi-share private room, or meet your fellow travelers in a 4-10 share dormitory room. Nomads Melbourne will make your stay in Melbourne a breeze. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Nomads Melbourne

Address: A'Beckett St. 196-198, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Region: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Price Range: £25 - £181 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Nomads Melbourne 2*
Number of rooms: 52
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Agoda, Orbitz, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Nomads Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nomads Industry Backpackers Hotel Melbourne
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Nomads Melbourne staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Take a look at the rooftop!”
 of 5 bubbles ricksX9049TO, 16 Nov 2016 | Read review
“not the ones that give to the night bar as it can get very noisy”
 of 5 bubbles gmc93, 14 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Probably get the 4-bedroom place, instead of 12.”
 of 5 bubbles Dracarys007, 2 Aug 2016 | Read review
“get in before 9.30 am to choose your bed”
 of 5 bubbles 695donaldh, 18 May 2016 | Read review
“If you don't mind hot rooms, cold showers and no free WiFi this place would be great for you.”
 of 5 bubbles CitrisLemon, 2 Feb 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay