We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Arrow On Swanston

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Arrow On Swanston
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel"},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

246 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 234: English reviews
Reviewed yesterday NEW

The location is good and convenient. Walking distance to Queen Victoria Market. We stayed in a studio apartment with small kitchen and living room. However, the Front Office staff need to improve their services to guests.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Siew Peng L
Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Very good place to stay as close to [free ] trams to city,food outlets.Rooms have all things needed to stay and comfortable.Only drawback they are small but you are only sleeping there not buying it .

 Report
Helpful?
Thank queenslanderlarry
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I was pleasantly surprised with this budget hotel. Great location, very clean and staff were helpful. My friend and I stayed in a room with twin beds. Each bed was in its own little room which meant we could maintain our privacy. My friend wanted to sleep and I wanted to read - no problem. We stayed on New Years...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Shelzie2016
HULL CITY
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Stayed 3 nights, Hotel basic, room was clean, had cooker, fridge (like a small kitchen) as we had just decided to visit Melbourne picked this hotel as it was near the main area of town with a short walk to shops and river front.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jacky G
Arrow M, Marketing Executive at Arrow On Swanston, responded to this review

Dear Jacky, Thank you for your feedback and it is good to hear that you had enjoyed our location while visiting Melbourne. We wish to have a chance to accommodate you again in the near future. Thank you very much. Regards, Than

Singapore, Singapore
Reviewed 4 December 2016 via mobile

A serviced apartment which is located at a convenient place im city. It is quite clean due to the impeccable and friendly housekeeping service. The staff generally quite polite, however, it will be better if the staff does know what is featited on the apartment main website so as to better able to answer any queries. For traveller, do note...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Janet_Peh
Arrow M, Marketing Executive at Arrow On Swanston, responded to this review

Dear Janet_Peh, Thank you for your value feedback. It is our pleasure to know that our service and facilities has met your expectation. However, the staff issue will be look into to help us improve our service standard. Regarding to the WIFI, guests are more than welcome to book direct with us not only for the complimentary 24 hours free...

Reviewed 3 December 2016 via mobile

It was late in night so everyone was tired but it took us quite a while to just register and get a room. The room was quite nice and comfortable but bathroom could have been a little better with the amount charged.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ianna T
Arrow M, Marketing Executive at Arrow On Swanston, responded to this review

Dear Ianna T, Thank you for your staying with us and the value feedback. We have to apologise that you had to wait a while for the check-in process. Regarding to the room, this will be brought up to the management to improve our service and facilities in the future. We wish to have a chance to accommodate you again...

Reviewed 29 November 2016 via mobile

We booked there to be close to the conference I was attending but had to leave on the third day because we got NO sleep. The bed was too hard, all rooms faced a multi storey car park and the fridge smelt as if something had died in it! They refused to refund the rest of the days and gave...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Ausperspective
Canberra, Australia
Reviewed 28 November 2016 via mobile

Stayed in a studio apartment here from 20/11/16 to 23/11/16. Very small room but it has everything you need, including a kitchenette. Loved being able to make tea and coffee in the room. Was clean and housekeeping came and made up the bed and changed the towels each day. Amazing location on Swanston Street - tram stop right outside the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank lucinda1206
Arrow M, Marketing Executive at Arrow On Swanston, responded to this review

Dear Lucinda, Thank you for your great review. It is much appreciated to hear that our service has reached your expectation. However, as a economical hotel, our room size is not that spacious but provided everything you need as mentioned in your review. We hope to have a chance to accommodate you again in the future and hope you have...

Reviewed 20 November 2016 via mobile

Conveniently located close to Melbourne Central. With easy access to tourist attractions such as the Queen Victoria Market, Chinatown, Melbourne Museum, etc. Hotel staffs are friendly and helpful. Not to mention the nice little cafeteria next to the lobby. Food is delicious and reasonably priced. The owner was a Malaysian Chinese migrated to Australia. He is chatty and provided us...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Gim Leng N
Arrow M, Marketing Executive at Arrow On Swanston, responded to this review

Dear Gim Leng N, Thank you for your time providing us this lovely feedback and extended to the café. We would love to have you staying with us again any time in the future for your next Melbourne trip. Regards, Than

Reviewed 19 November 2016 via mobile

Spent three nights here on a business trip. The hotel is in a good location and the reception staff were friendly and helpful. Unfortunately the rooms are very dated and really small, beds are not comfy and the bathroom had mould in the shower. It is noisy all night long whether it be street noise or the slamming of doors...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Glen M
Arrow M, Marketing Executive at Arrow On Swanston, responded to this review

Dear Glen, Thank you for your valuable feedback. It is our appreciated to hear that our staffs were looking after you well and the location is great. However, it is disappointing the our property did not meet your expectation and the noise from the outside. The issues will be brought up to the management for the improvement and we are...

65 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (51)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Other (32)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (14)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (10)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Adara East Melbourne
#110 of 157 in Melbourne
88 reviews
Central Business District
Ibis Budget Melbourne CBD
Ibis Budget Melbourne CBD
#112 of 157 in Melbourne
1,076 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chapel Street
Hotel Claremont
Hotel Claremont
#100 of 157 in Melbourne
366 reviews
Central Business District
ibis Styles Kingsgate Hotel
ibis Styles Kingsgate Hotel
#138 of 157 in Melbourne
1,269 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
Things to do
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Airport Transportation
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Located on Swanston Street, Arrow on Swanston offers comfortable, convenient and value for money serviced apartments ranging from studio, one and two-bedroom apartments to fit the single traveller, couple or the family. Our self-contained 3.5 star self-rated serviced apartments are fully furnished with modern amenities to suit your needs. Arrow on Swanston is perfectly situated in the heart of Melbourne, surrounded by entertainment, tourist attractions and sporting venues. Having tram stops just outside our doorstep allows easy access to anywhere in Melbourne. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Arrow On Swanston

Address: 488 Swanston Street | Carlton, Melbourne, Victoria 3053, Australia
Region: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Price Range: £52 - £112 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Arrow On Swanston 3.5*
Number of rooms: 85
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Arrow On Swanston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arrow On Swanston Melbourne
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Arrow On Swanston staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Check website of hotel as they may have rooms to suit your needs [ families].”
 of 5 bubbles queenslanderlarry, 17 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Not sure we was facing front, its was quite.”
 of 5 bubbles JackyG393, 18 Dec 2016 | Read review
“High floor”
 of 5 bubbles celestfriendz, 1 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Ask for a room away from the noise of bins being cleared at about 5a.m., , traffic noise etc.”
 of 5 bubbles 295clarea, 26 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Walk to the city in 10 minutes, or walk 300 meters to the free tram zone stop”
 of 5 bubbles thumper123456, 24 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay