We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Hotel Sophia

Save
Traveller (140)
Room & Suite (51)
Dining (10)
You may also like
See all
Nearby Hotels
Overview
  • Excellent15%
  • Very good33%
  • Average19%
  • Poor11%
  • Terrible22%
Travellers talk about
AMENITIES
Wifi
Breakfast Buffet
Air Conditioning
Non-Smoking Rooms
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Free Parking
4 Star Hotel
All hotel details
You may also like
See all
Nearby Hotels
{"containerClass":null,"containerAttributes":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null}
Reviews (642)
Filter reviews
602 results
Traveller rating
100
180
109
72
141
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
100
180
109
72
141
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsplunger coffeesouthern cross stationfree breakfastetihad stadiumvictoria marketssky busconvenient locationpublic transportcbdcupboarddocklands
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 5 of 602 reviews
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Good. Location and thats it. Very noisy you can here people talking in rooms next door as well as traffic. Reception is not manned 24 hours as advertised. Room next door had TV on at 2am and therefore could not sleep. Reception do not answer...More

1  Thank L A
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The location of the Hotel Sophia (King Street) is excellent for Business trips and boys weekends in Melbourne, the rooms are clean and comfortable there is a bar and they provide a good cheap breakfast, staff were friendly, it is close to rail and tram...More

1  Thank Peter A
Reviewed 4 May 2018

Stayed 5 nights at this hotel while in Melbourne. The room was clean, also very quiet. The staff went out of their way to help me when needed. The location was within walking distance of where I needed to go. My only complaint was that...More

1  Thank Britt B
Reviewed 4 May 2018 via mobile

I booked this hotel through booking.com I cancelled the next day after reading more bad rewiews. The following day the hotel charged my credit card more than the booking cost. When I rang they told me I would be refunded in 10-15 days. My booking...More

3  Thank Carole N
Reviewed 1 May 2018 via mobile

Comfortable. Only complaint: Ignored my request for new sheets. These get changed every 2 days. Amazing fridge. Used a lot for picnic day trips. Close to Chinatown and in the free tram zone. Roughly 2 blocks from commercial centres.

Thank LMTav
View more reviews
Most Booked Properties in Melbourne
See allSee all
About
Amenities
Top amenities
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Room amenities
Air Conditioning
Refrigerator in room
Things to do
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Details
Price range
US$59 - US$106 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Hotel Style
#114 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms
Details
Price range
US$59 - US$106 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Hotel Style
#114 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms
Add Photo Photos
Traveller (140)
Room & Suite (51)
Dining (10)
Nearby
Central Business District
Full of discovery and delight, Melbourne’s laneways
tease the imagination long after you’ve put your weary
feet up to rest. They weave through the heart of the
city: cafes, bars, restaurants and boutiques,
throbbing with conversation and espresso coffee. You
never quite know what you’ll find around the next
corner: cobblestone alleys, old beer barrel hoists and
even vats of simmering organic soup. There is the air
...More
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
TonygMildura
20 June 2017|
AnswerShow all 4 answers
Response from TonygMildura | Reviewed this property |
They took $150 from my credit card account, i only found out after i did a routine check of my account. I wasn't told about this upon checking in.We stayed 2 nights, & on checking out was told, that refund will take up to 5... More
1
Vote
Kevinmalta22
29 May 2015|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from Capehorn2 | Reviewed this property |
They are just arrogant Contact your credit card provider - tell them you have been incorrectly charged
0
Votes
emothedemo
4 September 2014|
AnswerShow all 11 answers
Response from Carl G | Reviewed this property |
Gday. I think they have a policy of a deposit taken from the credit card for everyone which is held. I checked my bank online and it was taken as "pending", but never went through as a charge. But ask them if youre unsure. I... More
1
Vote
Room Tips
"Room 213 rear of the property quieter with a noise barrier between it and the carpark"
Read review
"Beware - extra fee doesn't get you a personal bathroom - just a place to hang your clothes!"
Read review
"Not sure where I was - but it was lovely and quiet."
Read review
"My room was on a main street but quiet enough"
Read review
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing