We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Alderney on Hay

TripAdvisorUS$130*
View Deal
05/06/2017 06/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Lowest price we found
US$130*
View Deal
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
Alderney on Hay
View Map
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}}}
Add Photo Write a Review

269 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Alderney on Hay
See the most recent reviews
Showing 268: English reviews
Reviewed 9 December 2014

I stayed here recently with a friend as it was near a concert we were attending and had a great experience. Reception staff were polite and helpful, rooms were clean and the price was reasonable. We had the standard room and it was spacious and nicely furnished. Would definitely stay here again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Katevictoria14
Roshan G, Manager at Alderney on Hay, responded to this review

Thank you Katevictoria14 for taking the time to review your stay with us! We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope to see you again. Please feel free to like us on Facebook for exclusive deals and offers. Kind Regards, Management

Singapore, Singapore
Reviewed 5 December 2014

We enjoyed ourselves in this clean service apartment which is fully equipped with everything for a long stay including washer and dryer. Great location near a playground and a park and some grocer shops nearby. Free red cat bus to the shopping hub-hay st. Staff were friendly offering candy canes for our little kids . A pity that the heated...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jasonng1Canberra
Roshan G, Manager at Alderney on Hay, responded to this review

Dear NgFamily288, I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. I apologise for the pool being closed during your stay, we are currently refurbishing it and I hope you return soon so that you can enjoy it. I am sorry that you had cigarette butts and smell on your balcony, whilst we do not have smoking...

Perth, Australia
Reviewed 4 December 2014

After reading some of the reviews i was apprehensive. It was unfounded. Clean and comfortable self contained apartment. Some banging of doors in the morning from inconsiderate guests but not the hotels fault. Would happily stay again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Boomer020
Roshan G, Manager at Alderney on Hay, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post a review! We apologise regarding the banging of the doors in the morning, it is unfortunate that some guests do not think about this when they are leaving their apartments. We are very glad you enjoyed your stay and we alway enjoy seeing that a guest has enjoyed their stay. Please feel...

Bunbury, Australia
Reviewed 1 December 2014

Worst place to stay! Paid the room in advance but had to give an additional $150 bond to get the key cards. Over a week later I am not getting anywhere with getting the cash back. The reception lady [--] was rude the first time I asked for it saying that she didn't check us in so it has nothing...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank Rolf H
Roshan G, Manager at Alderney on Hay, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post a review. On arrival we require a security pre-authorisation from all guests, these funds are not charged to you, but held by the banks. Depending on your bank this can take up to seven days, however would usually only take 3-4 days. This is beyond our control as we do not have...

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 23 November 2014

We stayed twice, for one night each. The rooms were lovely, clean, spacious and modern. I had no issues regarding amenities, however my friend experienced cold showers. The location is good, close to some cafes, and not far from the airport ($30 taxi fare). The staff upon check in were great, gave us directions to local shops etc, but upon...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank kirstimmm
Reviewed 15 November 2014

Spent last week at the hotel. Staff were helpful. Kumar was exceptional and I will definitely be back next time family comes to visit. Stayed in room 80 and the rooms balcony helped as a smoker. Would like to see what a platinum room is like.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ChunkyDunkywunky
Roshan G, Manager at Alderney on Hay, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. We are very glad you enjoyed your stay and we hope to see you again. Please feel free to like us on facebook for exclusive deals and offers. Kind Regards, Management

Reviewed 15 November 2014

Stayed 3 weeks ago and had a noise issue with a room next door After calling reception it took 5 minutes and the noise was gone. Friendly staff. Good service worth a try. Consider asking for a room on the hay st side

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Trotty6
Roshan G, Manager at Alderney on Hay, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review us! We apologise for the inconvenience of having the noise issues. Unfortunately, some people are inconsiderate to other guests and residents, we do all we can to protect the guests who are considerate to others needs. We are not a party hotel and we hope to see you again. We take strict...

Singapore, Singapore
Reviewed 11 November 2014

Stayed in a 2 bedroom apartment for 6 nights. Unit has 2 single beds (which are pretty small) and a double bed. There were 5 of us so it was ok. Spacious living area, moderate kitchenette, dining table and large sofa that can be converted to sofa bed. No wifi in unit. TV connection was not that great. Only 1...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank SoephySue
Reviewed 5 November 2014

Yes the location is close to the city and the price is fair. However next time I will pay a little more and stay somewhere where the showers are warm and a little less mouldy. The service ranged from non existent to horrible, can't recommend this to anyone.

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Wonderwander5
Roshan G, Manager at Alderney on Hay, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your feedback. I have done a few room inspections and found no mould in the apartments. Also with regards to cold water we had no complaints from any of the apartments. We had a full house last 4 days out of the 5 and had no issues with cold water as each apartment is fitted...

Perth, Australia
Reviewed 28 October 2014

clean and spacious has everything you need for a stay in the city would come again staff were friendly room was clean noise level was ok and room had everyhting you would need for a good self contained trip

 Report
Helpful?
Thank debbie99990
Roshan G, Manager at Alderney on Hay, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you taking the time to review our property and for giving us an opportunity to become a favourable accommodation supplier for you and your family. Feel free to like us on Facebook to receive special updates and deals!

149 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (63)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
View from Room (8)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (11)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
Other (21)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (86)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Other (85)
05/06/2017 06/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Perth hotels
East Perth
Mont Clare Boutique Apartments
Mantra on Hay
#31 of 81 in Perth
979 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
East Perth
City Waters
City Waters
#63 of 81 in Perth
148 reviews
Seasons of Perth
#59 of 81 in Perth
349 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Starwest Apartments Alderney On Hay is leading the way in offering affordable, fully self-contained quality apartments that are close to the city centre.Our 3.5 Star property is conveniently located in East Perth approximately 1km from the Perth City Centre. Starwest Apartments Alderney on Hay is located just minutes from the Perth CBD, shopping, entertainment, restaurants, the WACA cricket ground, Burswood Casino, Gloucester Park, Ascot and Belmont horse racing tracks and the Swan River. Featuring spacious non-smoking self-contained two bedroom apartments with dining/living area, separate laundry and bathroom, direct phone line and a private balcony - it's the perfect accommodation whether you're on holiday or travelling for business. Standard Apartments:Spacious 2 bedroom apartment, fully equipped kitchen, television, DVD player, lounge, spacious dining/living area and separate bathroom and laundry with washing machine and dryer. Deluxe Apartments:Each Deluxe Apartment has a fully equipped granite-top kitchen, television, DVD player, lounge, spacious dining/living area and separate bathroom and laundry with washing machine and dryer.Platinum Apartments:Our Platinum Apartments consists of two bedrooms and one bathroom; it has a fully equipped granite-top kitchen, dishwasher, lounge, television, DVD player, spacious dining/living area and separate bathroom and laundry with washing machine and dryer. The modern platinum apartments also include a daily housekeeping service.The property also offers:• E-Sense Cafe open Monday-Friday 7.30am-3pm.• DVD hire available at $7 per movie.• Cot Hire at $10 per night.• Local and International calls are chargeable. • Vending machines with snacks. • Dry cleaning / laundry service.• Indoor pool – heated.• Spa and gym facilities. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Alderney on Hay

Address: 193 Hay St, Perth, Western Australia 6004, Australia
Region: Australia > Western Australia > Greater Perth > Perth > East Perth
Price Range: £52 - £101 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Alderney on Hay 3.5*
Number of rooms: 80
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Hotels.com, Agoda, Evoline ltd, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Alderney on Hay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alderney On Hay Hotel Perth
Alderney Hay
Alderney On Hay East Perth
Hotel Style:
#10 Spa Hotel in Perth
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Alderney on Hay staff and other travellers.
7 questions
Ask a question
Singapore, Singapore
over a year ago

See all questions (7)

Questions? Get answers from Alderney on Hay staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Our room (21) faced the road but was very quiet as there is not a lot of traffic on that part of Hay Street.”
99marinal, 13 May 2017 | Read review
“2 bedroom apartments have everything a family needs.”
tambobo, 30 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Stay away away from the lifts they are noisey”
396vich, 22 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Take towels for the pool; request Northern side of the hotel as it is quieter.”
  • View from our 4th floor balcony.
152rhondas, 1 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Away from lift if you can”
Saltwater-living, 11 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
TripAdvisor
US$130* /night
View Deal
Hotels.com
Agoda.com
Ctrip.com
View all 7 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates