We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
Panoramas (1)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

2,517 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 2,397: English reviews
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Reviewed yesterday NEWvia mobile

Checked into the hotel and was greeted by the guest relations manager due to being an elite accor club member. Also was advised I was upgraded to a Luxury room which was a pleasant surprise. Was escorted to my room and then a handwritten card from the hotel manager along with a platter of cheeses arrived which was an amazing...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Altomatum
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed yesterday NEW

An excellent modern city hotel in a great location on the waterfront in Auckland. Close enough to all of the action, far enough away to be more relaxed. Ultra modern with a lot of glass and water features and set out in such a way that it is very intimate and warm. Excellent room, sleek bathroom where everything worked a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jbelbin
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed yesterday NEW

a good luxury hotel with all the bells & whistle that you would expect from a Sofitel, with walking distance to the ferries, shopping and all the good places around the harbour. The restaurants and bars are wonderful, as is the service.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank sallyharig
Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 3 days ago NEWvia mobile

We had a good meal and service was very good However the lava restaurant does not have a view and we were in a small room divided off from other tables which was a bit strange - and fairly close to the adjoining loud table Food however was very Tasty we ordered three entrees rather than a main and all...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MelindaMahrs
Perth, Australia
Reviewed 4 days ago NEWvia mobile

A good luxury hotel .Restaurants and service excellent though expensive but I think Auckland is at this time of year. Decor was very good and sleep quality very good . Shower had lots of power and. Bathrooms were large with a bath tub.Good storage in wardrobe and drawers.Turndown service and amenities were excellent . One small thing .... I don't...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rogerperthaustralia
SofitelAuckland, Guest Relations Manager at Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour, responded to this review

Bonjour Rogerperthaustralia, Thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience at Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour. I am delighted to read that you enjoyed your time with us and acknowledged the hotel ambience and room amenities. It is delightful to hear about your experience at the Lava Dining and to hear the service has matched your expectations....

Wayne, Pennsylvania
Reviewed 5 days ago NEWvia mobile

The Sofitel is within walking distance of the ferries, shopping and sites near the harbor. Pricey and parking is $45 so would suggest if you're traveling to other parts get your rental car after your stay at the hotel. They stuck to their 2 pm checkin but would have been nice to get into our room after an overnight flight...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Patricia M
SofitelAuckland, Guest Relations Manager at Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour, responded to this review

Bonjour Patricia M, Thank you very much for taking the time to share your recent experience here at Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour. It is lovely to hear that you enjoyed our central location and this was advantageous to you. I would like to apologise for the room not being ready upon arrival especially after a long flight, we had definitely...

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 1 week ago

I have now stayed at the Sofitel three times in the last two months and have found the hotel to provide a consistently high standard of service. Everyone on property is friendly and attentive. The wait staff in the restaurant where I eat breakfast every morning remember me from visit to visit. My one complaint with the hotel is the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MelBNolan
SofitelAuckland, Guest Relations Manager at Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour, responded to this review

Bonjour MelBNolan, Thank you for taking your time to share your recent experience with us at the Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback on the delivery of service from our friendly and attentive ambassadors. Thank you again for choosing to stay with us on business and I hope to be able to welcome...

scottsdale
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We had reserved a Jr. Suite with an internal water view/city view. Upon checking, we were informed the hotel was fully booked and all internal water view rooms were taken. One would think we'd have a city view. WRONG! Upon entering our suite, all the draperies were closed making the room very dark. I went to see our "city view"...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank sonorankris
SofitelAuckland, Guest Relations Manager at Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour, responded to this review

Bonjour sonorankris, Thank you for taking the time to share your experience during your recent stay with us at Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour. Please rest assured that we do not assign rooms to our guests based on arrival times but on preferences; I apologize if the room allocated to you initially was not to your liking and I understand that...

La Jolla, California
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We really enjoyed our stay at the Sofitel Auckland. The hotel is in a very convenient location and we were able to walk almost everywhere. The hotel is nicely decorated and the staff were attentive. The downstairs cafe was great for coffee and light breakfast, and we appreciated the fresh kiwi juice always on offer in the lobby. Our room...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank SDiego5
SofitelAuckland, Guest Relations Manager at Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour, responded to this review

Bonjour SDiego5, Thank you very much for sharing your recent experience at Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour. It is an utmost pleasure to read your lovely review and the aspects that had highlighted your stay. I am glad you had enjoyed our central location and facilities at the hotel. I will share your comments about our attentive staff and proud to...

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 1 week ago

Sofitel viaduct harbour is in the quiet part Auckland's harbour scene, far enough to have some peace but close enough to walk to most of central Auckland's attractions. The rooms are new with views of the internal courtyard or over viaduct harbour. It is pretty close to apartments so privacy is limited at night with drawn blinds a requirement. Valet...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank lcksyd
SofitelAuckland, Guest Relations Manager at Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour, responded to this review

Bonjour lcksyd, Thank you very much for taking the time to share your recent Sofitel experience with us. I am glad to hear you have enjoyed our central and serene location of the hotel. It is with great pleasure to hear the excellent service portrayed by our Ambassadors reflecting our French elegance and luxury service. Thank you again for your...

845 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (618)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (76)
Viewed
Room/Suite (122)
Viewed
Dining (27)
Viewed
View from Room (64)
Viewed
Bathroom (46)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (6)
Viewed
Other (277)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (167)
Viewed
Amenities (56)
Viewed
Pool (13)
Viewed
Dining (43)
Viewed
The Hotel (55)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (60)
Viewed
Room/Suite (15)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (11)
Viewed
Dining (12)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (15)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Auckland hotels
0.9 mi away
The Langham, Auckland
The Langham, Auckland
#5 of 68 in Auckland
3,632 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hilton Auckland
Hilton Auckland
#4 of 68 in Auckland
1,926 reviews
0.4 mi away
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
#3 of 68 in Auckland
2,229 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel DeBrett
Hotel DeBrett
#1 of 68 in Auckland
1,031 reviews
0.8 mi away
Pullman Auckland
Pullman Auckland
#11 of 68 in Auckland
1,992 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Sebel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
  • Spa
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
GreenLeadersSilver level
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Food & drink at the hotel
Lava Dining
Lava Dining
Cuisines: European, New Zealand
Sabrage Bar
Sabrage Bar
Cuisines: Bar, European, Pub
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Paid Wifi
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Room Service
  • Laundry Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Airport Transportation
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Inspired by New Zealand's landscape and culture and boasting panoramic views of Waitemata Harbour, this beautifully designed hotel is a true landmark destination.Superbly located on the waterfront in the heart of the Viaduct, Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour harmoniously blends French spirit with the best of New Zealand culture. Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour offers 172 chic and luxurious rooms all with juliette balconies and floor to ceiling windows. Oversized bathrooms feature separate rain showers and deep soaking bathtubs. Each guest room also offers Sofitel's famous 'My Bed', LCD televisions and Bose sound systems. Services include valet car parking, dedicated Concierge team, luxury airport transfers, Guest Relations Manager and 24 hour in-room dining. Sofitel's luxury day spa, So SPA offers six private rooms with a wide range of beauty and wellness treatments. Guests can also make use of a sauna and steam room, and adjacent gymnasium. A 20-metre indoor lap pool and spa pool are also available. Lava Dining delivers flavour & flair with an innovative menu, tastefully blending the best local produce with a refined French touch. Serving breakfast, lunch & dinner, visit Lava Dining for an intimate dining experience & breathtaking views. A bright & casual eatery, 21 Viaduct Cafe offers waterside seating to allow guests the chance to enjoy the Marina vistas. Savour expertly made espresso, French pastries, and a daily selection of healthy choices filled with fresh, local ingredients. In an unofficial toast to Sofitel's fine French origins, Sabrage invites guests to revisit the art of 'sabrage'. A sophisticated bar serving the finest champagnes, signature cocktails, local and international wines and beers. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour

Address: 21 Viaduct Harbour Avenue, Auckland 1010, New Zealand (Formerly Lighter Quay Hotel)
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Price Range: £157 - £322 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour 5*
Number of rooms: 172
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, ACCOR, Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour New Zealand
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Auckland
#1 Spa Hotel in Auckland
#2 Luxury Hotel in Auckland
#3 Romantic Hotel in Auckland
#3 Green Hotel in Auckland
#6 Business Hotel in Auckland
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour staff and other travellers.
27 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (27)

Questions? Get answers from Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Marina view room has a great outlook.”
 of 5 bubbles jbelbin, 9 Dec 2016 | Read review
“higher floors better”
 of 5 bubbles lcksyd, 30 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Views on the interior face a canal and other apartment buildings. Room on the exterior face a more interesting harbor view.”
 of 5 bubbles travelbear14, 29 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Breakfast is has a french theme not just bacon and eggs.”
 of 5 bubbles rew2you, 28 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Most restaurants are to the left of the hotel if you are looking towards the water. The viaduct area, we made the mistake of going right.”
  • superior room queen
  • superior room queen
  • superior room queen
  • view outside hotel
 of 5 bubbles 514KennyC, 26 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay