We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Grand Windsor Hotel Auckland

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Grand Windsor Hotel Auckland
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

423 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 381: English reviews
Level Contributor
27 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW via mobile

Stayed two nights this week and for the price per night it was very underwhelming. I know they are going through some renovations so hopefully it gets better but I am not sure I would "risk it." The rooms were very outdated, the beds were. It comfortable, the shower was a plastic wall insert like it was an after thought,... More 

Helpful?
Thank ColinWalker00
Kerikeri, New Zealand
Level Contributor
46 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago

We booked in for one night for a nearby function. Expected it to be old and noisy but we were so surprised at how lovely and grand this place is. We had room 303 which is at the front of the building facing onto queen street. The room was large, a hall, a corner with table and chairs, an easy... More 

Helpful?
Thank carlene mabey m
CPG-Hotels, Executive Assistant Manager at Grand Windsor Hotel Auckland, responded to this review

Thank you carlene mabey m for your review of the Grand Windsor Auckland Hotel. So pleased to read your review in that you enjoyed our Team's service, location of the room, as well as all that your room had to offer in terms of services and furnishings. The Hotel does have a Grand 'feel' about it and we are currently... More 

1 review
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Came into auckland for a one night stay on my way home to Australia. The hotel location was great, the staff were friendly, then it all went to hell when we settled into bed, the nightclub next door sounded like it was in the next room, they turned of the music at precisely 5.06am. I can tell you this with... More 

Helpful?
Thank Michael E
CPG-Hotels, Executive Assistant Manager at Grand Windsor Hotel Auckland, responded to this review

Good Afternoon Michael E and Thank you for your review of The Grand Windsor Auckland Hotel. My sincere and personal apologies you were disturbed by noise on two fronts. The Hotel is currently undergoing a refurbishment however contractors do not work on floors during the time you have noted in the morning, there is some work being done next door... More 

Travellers are raving about these Auckland hotels

Newcastle, Australia
2 reviews
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We stayed here for one night. The room was not good, a lovely view of a row of air conditioners. Ironically the air con on our room didn't work. Music from nearby clubs went on through the whole night - until 5am on a Wednesday night! We didn't get any sleep and were very disappointed. Avoid!

Helpful?
Thank r_eddie_monds
CPG-Hotels, Executive Assistant Manager at Grand Windsor Hotel Auckland, responded to this review

Good Afternoon r_eddie_monds and Thank you for your review of the Grand Windsor Auckland Hotel. Truly sorry to hear that your stay overall was impacted by noise and the air con not working. I do hope you were able to advise us of this during your stay in order we had the opportunity to try and rectify and minimise these... More 

Gisborne, New Zealand
Level Contributor
45 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago

Booked through booking.com - Requested a CC form so could pay for the hotel beforehand (as had others checking in before me). Emailed and requested and back and forth finally got a form. At check in the computer didn't have my name on file even though I booked and paid for the booking under my name (but had put my... More 

Helpful?
Thank Sierra P
CPG-Hotels, Executive Assistant Manager at Grand Windsor Hotel Auckland, responded to this review

Good Morning and Thank you Sierra P for your review of the Grand Windsor Hotel. Sorry to hear you had a little bit of trouble pre your arrival however happy we were able to have this resolved for you. Very pleased you enjoyed the Hotel's location as well as our very comfortable beds. Hoping you enjoyed your concert as well.... More 

Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The location was great in that we were close to the harbour and lots of choices of where to eat BUT the nightclub next door was thumping music until 4am!!!! Not much sleep was had. I also found the 2 stairs down from the bathroom to be unsafe and not clearly marked with a safety warning. The staff were reasonably... More 

Helpful?
Thank Max8699
CPG-Hotels, SDM at Grand Windsor Hotel Auckland, responded to this review

Dear Max8699, We thank you for your feedback and the time you spent in writing us a review. We are sorry for the noise experienced and we will continue our efforts to mitigate the issue with Auckland authorities. Your comments are much appreciated in following up with them and the neighbourhood. We will also follow up on your feedbacks about... More 

Tauranga, New Zealand
Level Contributor
61 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Location is perfect for Queen Street but that is were it ends. The thumping nightclub right behind your head keeps you up, so be sure to take ear plugs. (Or as another advisor said, get them from reception - kind of explains it really?). This may only apply for guests on the first few floors on the harbour side so... More 

Helpful?
Thank Mat410
CPG-Hotels, SDM at Grand Windsor Hotel Auckland, responded to this review

Dear Mat410, Thank you for taking some time in writing us a review. We are really sorry that your experience with us did not meet your expectations. The noise coming from surrounding venues is an issue we are working on together with Auckland Council and your comments will help us on this pursuit. As you mention, our hotel is under... More 

Dunedin, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

was highly disappointed when I got to my room at night to get sleep to find out that there was a nightclub situated right beside the hotel so going to sleep was not going to be an option. only other room available was tiny shabby and still the same price as I found out at checkout not good value for... More 

Helpful?
Thank thepatricks2016
CPG-Hotels, DM at Grand Windsor Hotel Auckland, responded to this review

Dear thepatricks2016, Thank you for taking the time to review your experience in our hotel. We are sorry that the hotel did not meet your expectations. Feedbacks such as yours are very important in order for us to mitigate noise coming from neighborhood. Your comments will be shared with the business owners and Noise control Auckland. Please do not hesitate... More 

Wavell Heights
Level Contributor
67 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

As the name suggests, the Grand Windsor in Auckland is an older style hotel with old-fashioned touches of elegance still lingering about it. If the style suits you, you will be well looked after by the staff. Foyer set off the street. Comfortable room and refurbished bathroom. Located a block or two back from the waterfront, close to ferry terminal... More 

Helpful?
Thank 842brucec
N-Caffardo, Duty Manager at Grand Windsor Hotel Auckland, responded to this review

Dear 842Brucec, Thank you so much for taking the time in writing us a review. Comments such as yours for sure are a great incentive in our team’s constant search for a great service. We’re pleased to know that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to have you again soon. Kind regards Carol, Duty Manager More 

Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Our apartment 310 is just above a nightclub which belts out loud music until 4am. Hotel reception provide ear plugs. What a joke! Who wants to pay $300 a night to live like that. DO NOT STAY AT THIS HOTEL if you want any sleep.

Helpful?
Thank BSR999
N-Caffardo, Duty Manager at Grand Windsor Hotel Auckland, responded to this review

Dear BSR999, Thank you for your review. We’re sorry that your stay with us didn’t meet your expectations. Our hotel is located in the heart of Auckland CBD and it can be busy on some nights. Your feedbacks are a great help in our attempts to mitigate noise from the neighborhood. We will share your comments with Noise Control Auckland.... More 

143 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (117)
Viewed
Room/Suite (27)
Viewed
Bathroom (15)
Viewed
View from Room (7)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (24)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (42)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (26)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (12)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Auckland hotels
0.1 mi away
Mercure Auckland
Mercure Auckland
#30 of 68 in Auckland
2,455 reviews
0.2 mi away
Best Western President Hotel Auckland
0.1 mi away
The Sebel Quay West Auckland
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
CityLife Auckland
CityLife Auckland
#7 of 68 in Auckland
1,047 reviews
0.1 mi away
Stamford Plaza Auckland
Stamford Plaza Auckland
#15 of 68 in Auckland
1,568 reviews
0.4 mi away
Econo Lodge City Central
Econo Lodge City Central
#50 of 68 in Auckland
272 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Surrounded by the shopping and entertainment streets of the waterfront. Grand Windsor Hotel blends a protected historic building with chic, contemporary interior design. It boasts a great location in amongst the smart boutiques of Queen Street, right in the heart of Auckland and just off the scenic harbour. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Grand Windsor Hotel Auckland

Address: 58 - 60 Queen Street | next to Louis Vuitton Queen Street, Auckland 1010, New Zealand (Formerly Park Regis Auckland)
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Price Range: £103 - £246 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Grand Windsor Hotel Auckland 3.5*
Number of rooms: 79
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Grand Windsor Hotel Auckland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Accor Hotel Windsor Auckland
Mercure Hotel Windsor Auckland
Grand Windsor Hotel Auckland New Zealand
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Grand Windsor Hotel Auckland staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Grand Windsor Hotel Auckland staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Don't stay there”
 of 5 bubbles Max8699, 12 Nov 2016 | Read review
“It is the centre of the city for street traffic so be prepared to juggle the crowds.”
 of 5 bubbles 842brucec, 5 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Go elsewhere!”
 of 5 bubbles karangaroas, 27 Oct 2016 | Read review
“We were at the front of the hotel and didn't hear any nightclub noise.”
 of 5 bubbles MichelleGarveyWalker, 24 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Ask for a room far from night club”
 of 5 bubbles Nadeera115, 30 Sep 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay