We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Base Auckland Central Backpackers

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Base Auckland Central Backpackers
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_baseline_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

726 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 575: English reviews
Odder, Denmark
Reviewed 5 days ago NEWvia mobile

The staff is nice and friendly but that is the only good thing you can say about this place. Will never return to this place and I highly recommend everrone to find another hostel. Had to pay double the first days because of a new receptionist that clearly didn't know how to do anything. Got my job search package too...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Malthe S
Wellington, New Zealand
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Very central location. Staff were very friendly and helpful but there was a long wait to check in, not fantastic when you finally get to your hostel after a long day travelling. The dorms were cramped and bit smelly because the windows don't open and the walls between the dorms were so thin that noise wise they might as well...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Man-of-goo
Reviewed 5 days ago NEWvia mobile

The receptionist are excellent person, the bed is confortable, the price is according with the room, the room has air conditioning, frozen and TV. The room was cleaned and it was biggest. It's s a good option

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Julian A
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

This hostel is in a great location but some interesting things happened while we were there... Some people got trapped in one of the lifts for ages and they had to claw their way out. Then when my friend and I returned to our room after going for dinner we found that someone had claimed her bed. The room had...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Hannah T
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Presentable and well budgeted, good wifi and also the reception is 24/7, which is a very good one!! I and my wife stayed there in both Auckland and Queenstown and both of the hostels are really close to cbd, very lively bars, impressed!!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mahfuzur R
Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

I've stayed in many hostels and this was one of the worst one. A room with no window, no chance to change the air con (it was fricking cold in the room all the time). Half of my time there I waited for the elevator or had been in it, no stairs. The kitchen was really dirty, nearly no one...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Daniela E
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

I've traveled a ton staying in hostels and this was honestly one of the worst hostels I've ever stayed in. The place is filthy and the shared bathroom was disgusting with toilet paper and trash everywhere. We stayed 2 nights so I figured at first that maybe it was a bad night and would be better tomorrow, however the bathroom...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ashley P
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Arrived at Base later in the afternoon (well after check in time) and were advised that our room had a spill and that a dehumidifier had been placed in there to absorb all the moisture however when we arrived at our room it was apparent that the "small" leak had infact been vomit. The room smelt incredibly bad and there...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Caitlin B
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

It was my first hostel in Auckland. We were three guys and we booked 3 nights in a 6-places room. Our roommates were very friendly and respectful. It's comfortable and it's in an excellent point in the city center. The price for night is in the average prices of Auckland's hostels.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mario D
Darelle J, General Manager at Base Auckland Central Backpackers, responded to this review

Hi there, thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. I'm glad to hear you enjoyed your stay, hope to see you again soon :) Thanks, Darelle Jenkins.

Helsinki, Finland
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The hostel is in a great location, but it is very basic. Kitchen area was very dirty especially towards the end the day. Our bedroom didn't have any windows and you could hear absolutely everything from the corridors and rooms next door. And the showers are just awful.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mindei
Darelle J, General Manager at Base Auckland Central Backpackers, responded to this review

Hi there, thank you for your feedback. Sorry to hear you didn't enjoy your stay here, unfortunately messes can occur very quickly but we do try to keep on top of these throughout the day. If you believe you booked a room with windows, please let me know on aucklandgm@stayatbase.com. We do have some rooms without windows but they are...

94 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (68)
Viewed
View from Room (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (14)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (12)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (30)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (26)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (20)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Auckland hotels
0.3 mi away
Nomads Auckland Backpackers Hostel
0.3 mi away
Queen Street Backpackers
Queen Street Backpackers
#55 of 100 in Auckland
138 reviews
0.5 mi away
YHA Auckland City
YHA Auckland City
#21 of 100 in Auckland
254 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Haka Lodge Auckland
Haka Lodge Auckland
#3 of 100 in Auckland
276 reviews
0.4 mi away
YHA Auckland International
YHA Auckland International
#16 of 100 in Auckland
253 reviews
0.4 mi away
Jucy Snooze
Jucy Snooze
#10 of 54 in Auckland
504 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Award-winning Base Backpacker Auckland is located in the heart of Auckland city, less than 5 minutes walk to everywhere. We have fun working here so we know you'll have fun staying in our hostel. Former ACB, Base Auckland hostel is located in the heart of the city - central to shops, cafes, museums, Sky tower and only a few minutes walk to train, bus and ferry terminals and Vector Arena. The airport bus (Airbus) stops right outside our door! ... more   less 

Additional Information about Base Auckland Central Backpackers

Address: 229 Queen St | Cnr Queen St. & Darby, Auckland 1010, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Price Range: £17 - £61 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Base Auckland Central Backpackers 3.5*
Number of rooms: 460
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Orbitz and Priceline so you can book your Base Auckland Central Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Base Auckland Central Backpackers Hotel Auckland Central
Base Auckland Central Backpackers New Zealand
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Base Auckland Central Backpackers staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Luck of the draw”
 of 5 bubbles Man-of-goo, 14 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Private Queen Bed Room”
 of 5 bubbles BrunGela, 28 Jan 2017 | Read review
“"Private rooms are the best if you want peace at night"”
 of 5 bubbles EdmundLiew, 7 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Preferably somewhere else if you want a good room.”
 of 5 bubbles chasann, 11 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Avoid all together”
 of 5 bubbles 577alice13, 5 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5