We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Portside Hotel - Heritage Collection

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Portside Hotel - Heritage Collection
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_baseline_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

218 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 216: English reviews
New Zealand
Reviewed yesterday NEW

Had a great 1 bed unit self contained overlooking marina wharf area, nice little balcony to have an evening drink or a breakfast cuppa while watching sun come up. Free parking close to local restuarant,city and beach with coastal walkway outside the front gate. Friendly staff, clean tidy accomodation suitable short or long term.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank KiwiBoy66
Auckland, New Zealand
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

I stayed here in November with a colleague although we had two separate rooms. The staff upon check-in were lovely and led me to my room. The room was very spacious with 2x lovely outdoor areas. It was well equipped with a big kitchen (if you wanted to cook) but I just enjoyed a small bottle of bubbles from the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mckje885
Gisborne, New Zealand
Reviewed 1 week ago

Xmas treat Stayed 1 night 01/01/2017. Stayed on the 3rd floor. Great views over looking the port. Room was small but comfortable & clean. Over priced. Arrived to check in at 2 pm & was informed at reception can not not check in until 3:30 pm due to they were behind with cleaning the rooms because of R & V....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tina W
StephanRMR, Manager at Portside Hotel - Heritage Collection, responded to this review

Dear Tina W, Thank you for taking the time to post a review on Trip Advisor. We are sincerely sorry and renew our apologies for the fact that your room was not ready by 2pm on the day you checked-in. Indeed, as explained upon your arrival and in our subsequent telephone conversation, the cleanliness of our rooms is paramount to...

Paris
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We stayed at this hotel on the 2nd and 3rd of January in the penthouse suite - room 218. It was an underwhelming experience. The room was clean and vast but the service was non-existent and amateur. At $655 per night we expected a high quality product and booked the room as a treat at the end of our holiday....

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank ParisWahine
Kiama, New South Wales, Australia
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The hotel is in a great location. The service was very friendly and helpful. The room we stayed in was clean and comfortable and had free wifi BUT... It did not have a mirror anywhere (apart from the bathroom mirror. The bathroom, I. would classify as being very woman unfriendly. No place to put your makeup kit. The toilet and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Dianna B
Wellington, New Zealand
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I booked two nights at the Portside Hotel directly with the hotel, after reading the Tripadvisor reviews. The receptionist I dealt with was very friendly and helpful, and booking was a breeze. My husband and I are used to a king sized bed and we don’t sleep well in anything smaller. Unfortunately the dates we wanted weren’t available but we...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank KiwiLynda15
StephanRMR, Manager at Portside Hotel - Heritage Collection, responded to this review

Dear KiwiLynda15, Thank you for posting such a nice review of your stay with us. We are delighted that our facilities and services met your expectations and we were delighted to have met you. We look forward to having you back with us in the not so distant future. Kind regards, The Team at Portside Hotel Gisborne

Tauranga, New Zealand
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This was not our first time at the Portside. The interior is comfortable average the the age of the building. Unfortunately we had people next door that weren't very considerate. We waited until 10.30 pm before we complained about the noise. Someone came up and told them to keep the noise down and one and a half hours later they...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rewa J
StephanRMR, Manager at Portside Hotel - Heritage Collection, responded to this review

Dear Rewa J, Thank you for posting a review on Trip Advisor. We appreciate your feedback and we are sincerely sorry that on this particular occasion your experience was not satisfactory. Our Guest Sleep Experience is paramount and as such we took steps to attend to the noise from the four ladies in the Suite next to yours the moment...

Hamilton, New Zealand
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We arrived just as the power went out in Gisborne for two days. The hotel staff did everything they could to help us out with the situation. They provided us with a torch and manned the desk the whole time so they could let us in to the room (power operated key system). We had one of the less attractive...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank StuartP52
StephanRMR, Manager at Portside Hotel - Heritage Collection, responded to this review

Dear StuartP52, Thank you for your review on Trip Advisor. We are glad that despite the circumstances you enjoyed your time with us. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future and enjoy our full facilities and services. We take this opportunity to wish you and your family a Merry Christmas and a safe and Happy New...

Lower Hutt, New Zealand
Reviewed 24 November 2016

This was a great place to stay. Modern and clean room with comfy bed. The staff are friendly and helpful. On arrival I was too tired to venture out to get some dinner, so I got a ready meal from reception, which didn't take long to heat in my room. I opted to cook my own breakfast the following morning....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Talaleu
StephanRMR, Manager at Portside Hotel - Heritage Collection, responded to this review

Dear Talaleu, Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us on Trip Advisor. We are delighted that you enjoyed your sojourn and that our facilities and services met your expectations. We look forward to welcoming you again in the not so distant future. Kind regards, The Team at Portside Hotel Gisborne

Napier, New Zealand
Reviewed 17 November 2016

Really nice room and great place to stay..... Room was a little on the small side but was nice and clean and nice bed. I rate this place and it has a nice outlook on the river. I would stay here again

 Report
Helpful?
Thank paul_teddy
StephanRMR, Manager at Portside Hotel - Heritage Collection, responded to this review

Dear Paul_Teddy, Thank you for taking the time to post a review on Trip Advisor. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. May we suggest for your next stay to try one of our 1 Bedroom Premium - views of the river - which will offer you more space, having a full size kitchen, dining/lounge...

73 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (50)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
View from Room (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (20)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (23)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (13)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gisborne hotels
0.3 mi away
Emerald Hotel
Emerald Hotel
#7 of 27 in Gisborne
246 reviews
0.1 mi away
Pacific Harbour Motor Inn
Pacific Harbour Motor Inn
#15 of 27 in Gisborne
58 reviews
1.9 mi away
Motel Oasis
Motel Oasis
#1 of 27 in Gisborne
176 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Ocean Beach Motor Lodge
Ocean Beach Motor Lodge
#5 of 27 in Gisborne
152 reviews
0.8 mi away
Ahi Kaa
Ahi Kaa
#10 of 27 in Gisborne
61 reviews
0.7 mi away
Whispering Sands Beachfront Motel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Suites
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Conference Facilities
  • Breakfast Available

Additional Information about Portside Hotel - Heritage Collection

Address: 2 Reads Quay, Gisborne 4010, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Gisborne Region > Gisborne
Price Range: £88 - £192 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Portside Hotel - Heritage Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 55
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Portside Hotel - Heritage Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Portside Hotel Gisborne
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Gisborne
#3 Family Hotel in Gisborne
#5 Business Hotel in Gisborne
#6 Romantic Hotel in Gisborne
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Portside Hotel - Heritage Collection staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Choose the higher floors for better views”
 of 5 bubbles diannab989, 30 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Be prepared if noise is an issue”
 of 5 bubbles rewaj, 18 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Upper floor rooms facing the harbour are definitely preferable.”
 of 5 bubbles StuartP52, 14 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Try to get rooms toward harbor side and in upper floors”
 of 5 bubbles Uhuru966, 18 Oct 2016 | Read review
“The higher the floor the better the view facing the river. One bedroom units are perfection!”
 of 5 bubbles , 18 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay