We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Quality Hotel The Ambassador

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Quality Hotel The Ambassador
View Map
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}}}
Add Photo Write a Review

204 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Quality Hotel The Ambassador
See the most recent reviews
Showing 199: English reviews
Taupo, New Zealand
Reviewed 9 August 2015

The room was comfortable and the staff were very friendly. We changed our booking and had our grandchildren to stay on the second night. It was no problem for the staff. We would stay there again with pleasure. Thank you for our enjoyable stay.I can't comment on the other facilities at the hotel as we did not use them. From...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank BGHAM
Ambassador_Team, Public Relations Manager at Quality Hotel The Ambassador, responded to this review

Hi BGHAM, Thank you for taking the time to leave us your feedback, we appreciate the time taken to do this. We are so glad that you enjoyed your time here in Hamilton and look forward to welcoming you back again in the future. Many thanks Josh

Hastings, New Zealand
Reviewed 11 July 2015

No problem with checkin- lovely desk attendant. Friendly, helpful and engaging. The room overlooked the pool which was lovely. Location close to town, PaknSave across the road- We would have liked to try the restaurant the menu looked great we just ran out of time. Good parking. Comfortable bed, clean linen, small bathroom but not uncomfortable. Some improvements have been...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank vikj0n
SKING86, General Manager at Quality Hotel The Ambassador, responded to this review

Wonderful! Its fantastic that you enjoyed our convenient location. We have worked very hard to improve the quality of the hotel and level of service our guests receive at The Ambassador. Thanks for choosing us. Sarah King General Manager

Paeroa, New Zealand
Reviewed 30 June 2015

Stayed here for a 21st we were attending on the Saturday night. Very comfortable and spacious room. Staff very friendly on arrival and departure. Kids swimming in pool end of June sounded like they were having lots of fun.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ganeli
SKING86, General Manager at Quality Hotel The Ambassador, responded to this review

Thank you! We are so grateful for your positive feedback. It's a great locally owned and run hotel and the team have worked extremely hard over the past few years to redevelop this iconic hotel in Hamilton city. We look forward to seeing you here again soon. Sarah King General Manger

Reviewed 27 June 2015 via mobile

The team at the ambassador have done a terrific job in turning this once tired and rundown hotel into a comfortable and welcoming home away from home. Clean fresh modern. Great value for money. Convenient to the CBD restaurants and shopping. Free parking. .. a pool and spa on site. A must as part of your stay is a meal...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank curwoodmelonie
SKING86, General Manager at Quality Hotel The Ambassador, responded to this review

Thanks for your lovely feedback. It is certainly deeply appreciated by the team who are fuelled by the kind words of people such as your self to keep working to create the perfect hotel experience in Hamilton city. We hope to see you again soon. Sarah King General Manager

Wellington, New Zealand
Reviewed 19 June 2015

Room was very clean and as advertised, location very good, would stay again. Very economical, and good off-site parking. Free internet was a little hit and miss. Used 3G instead. restaurants nearby and the supermarket is just over the road.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank NickHolcroft
Ambassador_Team, General Manager at Quality Hotel The Ambassador, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback with regard to your recent stay at The Ambassador Hotel. I appreciate you bringing the internet to our attention. We have recently installed many more network wireless points across the hotel as while our solid block walls are great for sound proofing they also provide wireless internet challenges. Sarah King General Manager The Ambassador Hotel

Reviewed 18 June 2015

For the price this place is fantastic. full sky channels bar movies. Clean. Bed was nice. room was big and bathroom was clean.. Swipe key in and out so very safe. Supermartet across the road and CBD not far at all

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jerram H
Ambassador_Team, General Manager at Quality Hotel The Ambassador, responded to this review

Fantastic! Thank you for your review of The Ambassador Hotel, Hamilton, NZ. We are overjoyed that you both enjoyed your stay, and took the time to share your thoughts on Trip advisor. We look forward to your next visit to Hamilton. Sarah King General Manager The Ambassador Hotel

Havelock North, New Zealand
Reviewed 16 June 2015

We booked the cheapest studio room here, since it was only for 1 night while travelling. We got a very friendly check in and an upgrade to a bigger room. A big King sized comfortable bed. Good quality shampoo and teas. Right opposite Pak and Save so we could get some travelling supplies. The room was immaculately clean. Free WiFi....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank suzyloo99
Ambassador_Team, General Manager at Quality Hotel The Ambassador, responded to this review

Great! I am glad we were able to suit your requirements during your time in Hamilton. Thank you so much for your review, we look forward to seeing you again in the future. Sarah King General Manager The Ambassador Hotel

Kiiminki, Finland
Reviewed 13 June 2015

Good location(near cbd) and friendly staff. The room was clean and it had everything necessary. Good price/quality ratio. One con side was that showers handle was horrible (you had to rotate it and it was rather stiff). NOTE that breakfast is not included and 16.50$ is quite much for a basic breakfast.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Nezratul
Ambassador_Team, General Manager at Quality Hotel The Ambassador, responded to this review

Thank you for your review of The Ambassador Hotel, Hamilton We appreciate all your feedback. The team have checked the shower head to ensure this is no longer an issue. Thank you for your thoughts on our breakfast. We feel that $16.50 for a full hot buffet including 5 hot item, a selection of cereals, fruit, yogurt, breads and spreads,...

Auckland Region, New Zealand
Reviewed 2 June 2015

Friendly receptionist allowing us to check in early, very welcoming front desk name Josh, I recommend a promotion for this guy. I would say that first impression is the most important in a business. We had free wi-fi and free breakfast. The room was a bit tired and hard time to get hot water, two beds electric blankets wasn't working...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank nmalolo
Ambassador_Team, General Manager at Quality Hotel The Ambassador, responded to this review

Thank you for sharing The Ambassador Hotel with the rest of the world. Our team work very hard to ensure all our guests have a great experience. Its great to hear that you enjoyed yours. We look forward to seeing you again on your travels through the Waikato. Sarah King General Manager

Palmerston North, New Zealand
Reviewed 18 May 2015 via mobile

From the first fabulous contact with the staff all my questions were answered and I felt like my reservation and needs were very important to them. They also helped me book in another family member later on and gave her a room near us. They were interested in us and how they could help improve our stay and were happy...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Brownnnn
Ambassador_Team, General Manager at Quality Hotel The Ambassador, responded to this review

Great! Thanks so much for your wonderful feedback, I will ensure I share this with our whole team. We hope to see you again soon. Sarah King General Manager

120 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (84)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (44)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (23)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (36)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (5)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hamilton hotels
1.2 mi away
Ventura Inn & Suites Hamilton
0.6 mi away
Ibis Hamilton Tainui
Ibis Hamilton Tainui
#8 of 62 in Hamilton
926 reviews
0.2 mi away
Camelot On Ulster
Camelot On Ulster
#5 of 62 in Hamilton
230 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Novotel Hamilton Tainui
Novotel Hamilton Tainui
#7 of 62 in Hamilton
1,106 reviews
0.3 mi away
Park View Motor Lodge
Park View Motor Lodge
#12 of 62 in Hamilton
162 reviews
1.0 mi away
Ashwood Manor
Ashwood Manor
#16 of 62 in Hamilton
104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Pool
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Room Service
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Pool
  • Hot Tub
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
  • Suites
  • Kitchenette
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Microwave
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Room Service
  • Airport Transportation
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Central to Hamilton Events and Entertainment.Located in the heart of the city amidst shopping, entertainment and the CBD, Quality Hotel at The Ambassador is within short walking distance to Waikato stadium, Claudelands Event Centre, Seddon Park cricket grounds and only 20 minutes from Hamilton International Airport.Relax in one of 51 guestrooms and suites, cool off in the pool, enjoy a wine in the house bar or dine in Retrospect, the family friendly restaurant with fresh seasonal cuisine. The Quality Hotel at The Ambassador is the ultimate location for the corporate traveler to large sporting or tour groups looking for that iconic touch. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Quality Hotel The Ambassador

Address: 86 Ulster Street | Whitiora, Hamilton 3240, New Zealand (Formerly The Ambassador Motel)
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Hamilton
Price Range: £67 - £87 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Quality Hotel The Ambassador 3.5*
Number of rooms: 51
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Quality Hotel The Ambassador reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn Hamilton
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Hamilton
#9 Romantic Hotel in Hamilton
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Quality Hotel The Ambassador staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Book directly with the establishment, get a better room. .Request a room facing away from the roading intersection”
Sutton58, 24 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Hotel rooms overpriced for basic room.”
ToniB165, 1 Oct 2016 | Read review
“easy access to CBD”
fairyLondon_Uk, 26 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Ask for a room with air conditioning during the summer.”
  • View from our room. No AC and that fan didn't help too much.
katiesP6263QW, 14 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Free internet was the only bonus”
Jackie771, 28 May 2016 | Read review
5 of 5