We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Motel de la Mer

Hotels.comUS$103*
View Deal
#23 of 47 Hotels in Napier
Certificate of Excellence
14/05/2017 15/05/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Lock in the lowest price from our partners
View Deal
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Professional photos
Motel de la Mer
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

224 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Motel de la Mer
See the most recent reviews
Showing 215: English reviews
New Zealand
Reviewed 9 August 2016

Click the other "terrible" reviews for similar scam experiences. Clearly stated we would be checking in late via Booking.com. Motel had one weeks notice. Never informed us late check in was not possible. 1. Tried to check in on the night, refused to check us in. 2. Lied about not receiving notification from Booking.com of special request for late check...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Hui_Chch
JWM53, Owner at Motel de la Mer, responded to this review

Hi Hui Many thanks for your email. Yes we did note your arrival between 9 and 10 and we usually wait up for people coming in at this time and there was no need to contact you. Yes check in is between 2pm till 9 pm. We phoned you at approximately 8.30 to see where you were an you were...

Reviewed 28 July 2016

We stayed in the penthouse apartment - top left of picture above. It was clean, the decor was average, and it had views of the ocean, towards Te Mata Peak, and of the Ruahine mountain range. It's close to the city - The Warehouse is directly behind it. It's a couple of minutes' walk into town with lots of restaurants...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank BigZed52
JWM53, Owner at Motel de la Mer, responded to this review

We thank you for your review. Firstly we cannot help the noise of construction during the day. With ongoing projects in Napier happening it is only for the betterment of our fine city. We cannot control the weather and when a storm hits everybody is affected so I apologize for this. Best wishes John

Palmerston North
Reviewed 27 July 2016

My wife and I took advantage of a winter special on a penthouse apartment and loved it. We had previously stayed on 2 occasions in the regular rooms but the penthouse was a step up. The extra space and the sun filled lounge was brilliant for relaxing in on a winter's day. Great friendly service from the proprietors too.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rick F
JWM53, Owner at Motel de la Mer, responded to this review

Many thanks for your kind review. Best wishes John

Palmerston North, New Zealand
Reviewed 19 July 2016 via mobile

We stayed in a penthouse unit on our birthday getaway. It was an immaculate setting with 180 degree views over Napier and the shore. The roar of the waves crashing onto the beach was awesome. The huge spa bath was a fabulous mood setter and the California King bed sealed the deal. The entire room layout just made you feel...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Gerry H
JWM53, Owner at Motel de la Mer, responded to this review

Hi Romantic Weekend We hope to see you back again someday. Best wishes John

Reviewed 9 July 2016 via mobile

I have stayed at many places along the esplanade in Napier but rate this at the top. The 1bdr spa unit is fabulous with a view of the ocean and walking distance to the town. The hosts are friendly and helpful, the unit well presented and very comfortable and the position excellent.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Joanna L
JWM53, Owner at Motel de la Mer, responded to this review

Many thanks for your review Best wishes John

Phuket, Thailand
Reviewed 4 July 2016

Have stayed here a few times and always good . Linen is always fresh . Always spotlessly clean and the owners are very friendly . This is just a short walk away from the town . Plenty of Restaurants close by . Would go back .

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kim M
JWM53, Owner at Motel de la Mer, responded to this review

Thank you for your friendly review. Best wishes John

Mount Maunganui, New Zealand
Reviewed 29 May 2016

John & Llanys were very accommodating and changed our room with no issues. Room with a view, spa, and bl**dy great big bed, also serviced to a very high standard daily On Marine Parade and near to everything, but just back off the road. Great place and hosts.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank YvonnePapamoa
JWM53, Owner at Motel de la Mer, responded to this review

Thank you for your warm review. Best wishes John

New Zealand
Reviewed 25 April 2016

Great place to stay ,Great location and great views from the 3rd floor and close to shops and beach .And super hosts will stay there again The room came with a spa and had a small kitchen and separate lounge The hosts were a great help with restaurants to and places to visit

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank joandnoel
JWM53, Owner at Motel de la Mer, responded to this review

We look forward to you returning in the future. Best wishes John

Auckland, New Zealand
Reviewed 18 April 2016

upon our arrival(early) they gave us some great recommendations for things to see while in town. very accommodating, had a wonderful stay,would happily recommend to anyone visiting or the surrounding areas.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank psharrow
JWM53, Owner at Motel de la Mer, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind review. We look forward to seeing you agin someday. Best wishes John

Lyttelton, New Zealand
Reviewed 4 April 2016

We arrived at the motel late afternoon and were welcomed by John. After the usual check in formalities John asked if we would like any suggestions for dinner that evening. We hadn't anything booked for two of the three nights we were in Napier and welcomed his suggestions. We were not disappointed. John gave us a choice of milk options...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ChrizBee59
JWM53, Owner at Motel de la Mer, responded to this review

Thank you for fair and friendly review. Best wishes John

64 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (40)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (12)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
2:13
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (17)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (24)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (6)
14/05/2017 15/05/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Napier hotels
0.2 mi away
The Nautilus
The Nautilus
#6 of 47 in Napier
565 reviews
0.0 mi away
Quality Inn Napier Travel
1.5 mi away
The Crown Hotel Napier
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Scenic Hotel Te Pania
Scenic Hotel Te Pania
#9 of 47 in Napier
760 reviews
0.1 mi away
Beach Front Motel Napier
0.1 mi away
Bella Vista Motel
Bella Vista Motel
#33 of 47 in Napier
111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Spa
Show More
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Motel de la Mer staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Motel de la Mer staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Higher floors have a great view of the ocean”
PeterLeggett, 6 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Upstairs, you have a view of the sea. Just ask for a view and John will oblige.”
0651951, 27 Mar 2017 | Read review
“There was wheelchair access to some of the rooms”
KateFife_Scotland, 13 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Choose an upstairs room”
AnonymousMalaga, 23 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Best place; Nice Location:”
, 11 Jan 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Hotels.com
US$103* /night
View Deal
TripAdvisorUS$103
Booking.comUS$106
PricelineUS$106
View all 10 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates