We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Morepork Riverside Lodge

Travellers' Choice award winner
GreenLeadersGold level
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Morepork Riverside Lodge
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel_streamline","template":"ibex_photo_carousel_streamline__widget","dust":{},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel_streamline","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

223 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 205: English reviews
essex
Reviewed 6 days ago NEWvia mobile

We spent 3 nights in this fabulous b&b. Paul and Barbara went above and beyond to make our stay perfect. From the moment we arrived, to the moment we left, the achieved the perfect balance of professionalism and friendliness. We will be recommending them to all our friends, and if we ever went to the Bay of Islands again there...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank heyjudeEssex
MoreporkRL, Owner at Morepork Riverside Lodge, responded to this review

Hi J&N We'd love to meet your friends! If any of them do decide to make the trip down-under, do get them to email us directly so we know that they're your 'mates'. Thanks for writing such a nice review, and so promptly. Safe Travels, Barb & Paul

Califon
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Our family of stayed with Paul and Barbara for two nights. From the moment we arrived they went out of their way to take of us. From helping us plan activities to sharing their lovely home and property. The rooms are incredibly clean and have everything you could ever need for your stay. They provide beach towels, blankets, cooler bags...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank keepsmilingjs
MoreporkRL, Owner at Morepork Riverside Lodge, responded to this review

Hi J,P,J, B Thanks for your neat review. We try to set our rooms up with everything we'd like when travelling - hence the beach towels, blankets, cooler, etc They're not things you take when travelling internationally, but they are things that are really handy to have. Thanks also for the email letting us know that P was OK after...

Reviewed 1 week ago

Paul and Barb make you feel right at home, their property is beautiful. Make sure to take a short walk around the trail and enjoy the views. Our room was very clean and the home is very well maintained. If you plan to visit the Bay of Islands this is the place to stay.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Wayne C
MoreporkRL, Owner at Morepork Riverside Lodge, responded to this review

Hi W&K Thanks so much for taking the time to review us. I think making people feel 'at home' is a default-setting with most Kiwis! So we're sure you had some great times during your stay in New Zealand. Hope it wasn't too cold when you got home. Cheers, Barb & Paul

Brisbane, Australia
Reviewed 1 week ago

Thank you so very much Barb and Paul for your fantastic hospitality. It made the perfect start to our first holiday to NZ. Your lodge and surrounding grounds are beautiful, peaceful and just the perfect place to sit back and relax after a big day out and about. The hard work and enthusiasm that you put into this is clearly...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank lee19612017
MoreporkRL, Owner at Morepork Riverside Lodge, responded to this review

Hi L&G So glad we helped to get your New Zealand holiday off to a good start.... and we're sure that the rest of your trip was equally good! It was great hearing about your interesting job and Paul always enjoys swapping "Tales of the South Pacific". Maybe see you again? Cheers, Barb & Paul

Auckland, New Zealand
Reviewed 1 week ago

We had a wonderful stay at the Morepork Riverside Lodge. After an incredibly warm and friendly welcome, Paul and Barb did their utmost to help us settle in and then advise and help us book trips and activities for our stay in Paihia - in no time we were completely organised, and all that was left to do was relax....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank zaseg140
MoreporkRL, Owner at Morepork Riverside Lodge, responded to this review

Hi S,A & V Thanks heaps for the neat review. It was great having you 'Kiwis + One' here! We enjoy helping people to organise their time so they get the most out of their time in The Bay. We hope V enjoyed his time in our little country and that he had a good trip home. Cheers, Barb &...

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Dear Paul and Barb, We had a wonderfull stay! At first we were a little disappointed about the location (not in the centre of Paihia) but we would not have missed it! The weather, scenery, homemade lamb and wine were superb. You are both such nice people and add a little extra to what you normally expect from a B&B....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Eefke van den O
MoreporkRL, Owner at Morepork Riverside Lodge, responded to this review

Hi T&E wow - thanks for taking the time to write your review before you left NZ! We hope your last day (in Auckland) was a really happy one. Yes, we are 8.5km out of town, but we like it because it's a nice quiet retreat away from the hussle and bussle. Say "Hi" to your lovely little country -...

Espoo, Finland
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Very friendly welcoming: cold drinks at the balcony, hosts we're helping with our activity reservations and giving further advice what to do on free time. They really cared about our stay in the area. The room was clean and practical. Lovely New Years celebration, complementary drinks and food. Best breakfast in NZ.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ItalianFan_12
MoreporkRL, Owner at Morepork Riverside Lodge, responded to this review

Hi T&P Thanks so much for the great review and we're glad you liked our breakfasts.... after all, we are a "Bed and Breakfast" so surely that's what we must get right! Yes, we do care that all our guests have a good time and we hope that the advice we give about our area helps them to get the...

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Its is a very EXCELLENT place to stay in Paihia. Paul and Barb are very friendly and carefully with everyone. Additionally, the food (Breakfast) is simply delicious. I recommend!! Few minutes from Haruru Falls, Kerikeri, Paihia, etc.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Carlos D
MoreporkRL, Owner at Morepork Riverside Lodge, responded to this review

Hi C&A agradece pela grande revisão - hope we got that right!! We felt very privileged to be part of your double-celebration. All the best with you bid to stay here in our beautiful country... please do let us know how you get on. Cheers, Barb & Paul

Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

Quite simply a perfect B&B experience. Beautiful grounds, fabulous breakfast and charming, knowledgeable hosts. Couldn't recommend any more highly Particular thanks for the memorable tour of the grounds, and opportunity to meet the Alpacas! Many thanks!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sam B
MoreporkRL, Owner at Morepork Riverside Lodge, responded to this review

Hi S&J Thanks for the great review. We are very lucky to have such a nice property and we really enjoy showing people around. We think it gives our International guests a good introduction to New Zealand and the Kiwi lifestyle. The Alpacas say 'Hi'... as do the chickens who are sulking at not being mentioned Haha! Cheers, Barb &...

Nijmegen, The Netherlands
Reviewed 15 December 2016

We had a great welcome, lots of tips and helpfull with all our bookings. Despite a big electricity problem in the whole area on our arrival day we had a cosy loveley diner at Morepork Riverside lodge! The room was perfect and the view even better. My daughter loved the special Paul's pancake in the morning

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 111schipper
MoreporkRL, Owner at Morepork Riverside Lodge, responded to this review

Hi E&E Thanks so much for you nice review! You know.... sometimes when things go wrong (like the WHOLE of the Far North being without power for 14 hours) it's a time to have fun and make the most of the situation..... and also to remember those who have had worse luck than yourselves. We're really glad you liked the...

121 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (82)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
View from Room (14)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (18)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (40)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (39)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (21)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paihia hotels
4.9 mi away
Sea Spray Suites - Heritage Collection
5.3 mi away
Chalet Romantica
Chalet Romantica
#1 of 23 in Paihia
485 reviews
5.1 mi away
Breakwater Motel
Breakwater Motel
#1 of 43 in Paihia
567 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.0 mi away
Allegra House
Allegra House
#3 of 23 in Paihia
295 reviews
1.3 mi away
Appledore Lodge
Appledore Lodge
#4 of 23 in Paihia
215 reviews
4.9 mi away
Decks of Paihia Luxury Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
GreenLeadersGold level
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Welcome to our B&B/Homestay set in 4 acres on the Waitangi River, just out of Paihia Township on the way to Kerikeri. Stroll through gardens & native bush, home to many birds including Moreporks (NZ’s native owl). Tame alpacas, sheep and a goat. All rooms have a king or super king bed, en-suite (one with a large corner bath), TV&DVD, tea & coffee, refrigerator & wireless broadband. Our two river side rooms also have their own deck and a sofa. Puketona room guests have use of a table & chairs on our BBQ deck. Yummy full breakfasts. Gourmet or Light evening meals available. We are "Kiwis" and have traveled extensively throughout NZ and the Pacific. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Morepork Riverside Lodge

Address: 846 Puketona Rd. | Bay of Islands, Northland, Paihia, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Bay of Islands > Paihia
Price Range: £81 - £116 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Morepork Riverside Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda and Travelocity so you can book your Morepork Riverside Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Morepork Riverside Lodge Paihia, Bay Of Islands, New Zealand
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Morepork Riverside Lodge staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“You will have a great view no matter which room you get.”
 of 5 bubbles Q6863IEwaynec, 12 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Choose the rooms with view!”
 of 5 bubbles 662carlosd, 31 Dec 2016 | Read review
“All the rooms are spacious”
 of 5 bubbles X8765GWjohnh, 27 Nov 2016 | Read review
“we have the Riverside room, private deck overlooking big garden and river, very peaceful”
 of 5 bubbles gefhaz, 27 Nov 2016 | Read review
“The riverview room has access to the beautifully landscaped back yard where you can sit and enjoy the view.”
 of 5 bubbles 32pamd, 19 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay