We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Saltwater Lodge

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Saltwater Lodge
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

85 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 76: English reviews
Christchurch, New Zealand
Reviewed 3 days ago NEWvia mobile

Such a beautiful Lodge with excellent staff! From check in to check out everything was wonderful! The manager Rohit was very friendly and accomodating. The room was very clean and the beds were very comfortable. Overall we had a very pleasant and enjoyable stay at Saltwater Lodge. We will be back!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Desmond M
lenka_rohit, Manager at Saltwater Lodge, responded to this review

We would like to thank you for reviewing your stay at our lodge. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay and that you was satisfied with service and facilities. It is great to know that you would choose us again for your stay in Paihia. We looking forward to your return. Kind regards Lenka & Rohit

Adelaide, Australia
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Didn't expect this from a backpackers.Rooms were clean, & spacious in both family accomodation & share accomodation (with in room lockers in share rooms. Amazing idea!!!!! ) Ensuite in family room was large & clean & share bathrooms were clean & nice.Staff were friendly & helpful.Great to have an on-site laundry with a line with pegs as well as a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank dreamsaremadeofthis
lenka_rohit, Manager at Saltwater Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at our lodge. We would like to thank you for kind words and we couldn't be more thrilled that your stay exceed your expectations. Your satisfaction is important to us. We wish you safe travels. Kind regards Lenka & Rohit

Reviewed 16 January 2017

The hostel itself was very nice. Everything was lovely and tidy, and there were nice clean kitchen facilities provided. The staff were all friendly as well. My cousin and I didn't realise, however, that the hostel was located close to so many bars (which may have just been our fault for not doing enough research). It was a very social...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Katie R
lenka_rohit, Manager at Saltwater Lodge, responded to this review

Hello Katie R, Thank you so much for writing this review and mentioning our facilities & service. We unfortunately are close to a few bars and we are sure some of the guests appriciate that, but if you have morning plans it can be an issue. However we have ear plugs available at reception for our guests to avoid discomfort....

Cumbria
Reviewed 29 December 2016 via mobile

Me & a group of friends had booked this backpackers for Christmas week as it was close to the beach & had a positive right up. I loved my stay. All dorms/rooms are ensuite & open up onto a open air communal seating area which runs the full length of the property. There is a large lounge area with table...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank sunseeker846
lenka_rohit, Manager at Saltwater Lodge, responded to this review

Dear sunseeker846, It means a great deal to us read about your positive stay experience. Thank you for the details you liked, especially those that highlighted your stay and compliment our service making sure you have a comfortable stay. We wish you all the best for the New Year. Kind regards Lenka & Rohit

Belfast
Reviewed 27 November 2016 via mobile

I booked this hostel because of the reviews and they were not wrong! On arrival I had a lovely greeting from Lenka - having just come from a crap hostel in Auckland this made me feel right at ease! The rooms are so spacious, clean and built for backpackers! I was in a 6 bed and there was loads of...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Expert123
lenka_rohit, Manager at Saltwater Lodge, responded to this review

Hello, Thank you so much for this AWESOME review of our Lodge and service performance. We appreciate your detailed insides about your experience and we couldn't be happier that your stay was enjoyable. We wish you safe and pleasant travels. Warm Regards, Lenka & Rohit

Christchurch, New Zealand
Reviewed 7 November 2016

Stayed here for 2 nights in October with a group of 25 and was very impressed :) great rooms (6 bunks) and a shower that was clean and tidy. Loved the group lounge/kitchen area and staff were friendly. Would definitely stay here again!!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Skye T
lenka_rohit, Manager at Saltwater Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your review. Our aim is to provide memorable experience and great service to our guests. Based on your review, we are on the right path. Once again, we thank you for your feedback. Kind regards Lenka & Rohit.

Christchurch, New Zealand
Reviewed 23 October 2016

2 bunk bed room with ensuite, shared kitchen facilities. Stayed for 2 nights and staff were very helpful and friendly. Located approx 10 min walk from main township. Lovely balcony area to sit outside room on. Spacious rooms and very clean :)

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 46Rissy
lenka_rohit, Manager at Saltwater Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us recently and sharing your experience. Guest feedback is very important to us. We like to see our service, to be exceptional and warm for our guests. Once again, thank you. Kind regards Lenka & Rohit

Aylesbury, United Kingdom
Reviewed 9 October 2016

With some trepidation (I am a bit precious and don't usually stay in hostels..last time was 6 years ago. But the financial implications of being on holiday for over a month meant I needed cheap accommodation) I booked a two night stay at Saltwater lodge. My partner was attending a conference in Auckland so I made the trip to Paihia...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Laura N
lenka_rohit, Manager at Saltwater Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind and flattering review about your stay. We are honored to be your set standard in hostel accommodation. We could't be happier to hear that our guests enjoyed their stay and would be happy to return if opportunity arise. We wish you safe and pleasant travels around New Zealand. Kind regards Lenka & Rohit

Reviewed 19 September 2016 via mobile

Very nice, superclean hostel. All the plates and cups in the kitchen are new. The common area has lots of couches to hang out. The rooms are spacious. There were not that many backpackers there but it is low season at the moment. The staff (Lenka and her husband) was very helpful and had some great tips for us.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Pez2468
lenka_rohit, Manager at Saltwater Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Pez2468, Wow- what a great review for us to read. You compliments have been highly appreciated and we hope they helps others to choose their stay in Paihia. We are thrilled to learn that you have enjoyed our facilities and service. We wish you safe travels around New Zealand. Kind regards Lenka & Rohit.

Malaysia
Reviewed 18 August 2016

Stayed here for 3 nights and it has been a great stay! Not only the place is super affordable, the staff are super friendly and super helpful too. The room is super spacious, super clean, and the bed is super comfy. Everything in Paihia is within walking distance. If I ever come back to Paihia again, I wouldn't hesitate to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank KelefehMan
lenka_rohit, Manager at Saltwater Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for amazing feedback. We are pleased you enjoyed yourself while staying with us, we are glad you was satisfied with customer service. We would be happy to welcome you again on your next visit. Kind regards Lenka & Rohit

32 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (16)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (7)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (16)
Viewed
Other (16)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paihia hotels
0.0 mi away
Anchorage Motel
Anchorage Motel
#4 of 44 in Paihia
420 reviews
0.1 mi away
Scenic Hotel Bay of Islands
0.4 mi away
Kingsgate Hotel Autolodge Paihia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Sea Spray Suites - Heritage Collection
0.4 mi away
Haka Lodge Paihia
Haka Lodge Paihia
#3 of 28 in Paihia
171 reviews
0.1 mi away
YHA Bay of Islands Paihia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry

Additional Information about Saltwater Lodge

Address: 14 Kings Road, Paihia 0200, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Bay of Islands > Paihia
Price Range: £31 - £82 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Saltwater Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Expedia, Travelocity and HostelWorld so you can book your Saltwater Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Saltwater Lodge Paihia, Bay Of Islands, New Zealand
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Saltwater Lodge staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Book early”
  • Spacious Double Room
 of 5 bubbles KelefehMan, 18 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Choose the 2nd level, the rooms are larger!”
 of 5 bubbles Kiwicaty, 26 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Room 9 is the furtherest away from the road and bars, and also the communal lounge which can get noisy too.”
 of 5 bubbles Teagle, 10 Aug 2015 | Read review
“Chose a dorm with only four beds, it will be more quiet !”
 of 5 bubbles annb674, 2 Jul 2013 | Read review
“We had a double room with ensuite and it had TV and coffee making facilities and small fridge. Our room was on the second floor and we had a view of distant mountains across the bay. Had a table and chairs outside door on the balcony for sitting if we desired. Second floor is best as it is away from kitchen and this can get noisy at certain times of the day. .”
 of 5 bubbles Alexis935, 31 Mar 2013 | Read review
5 of 5