We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Breakwater Motel

Show Prices
#1 of 44 Hotels in Paihia
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Breakwater Motel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

592 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Breakwater Motel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 582: English reviews
Christchurch, New Zealand
Reviewed 15 February 2017

We stayed for 6 nights and enjoyed every moment. The view from our upper level waterfront room was amazing. The motel was clean, well equipped; the owners were friendly and helpful with a good knowledge of Northland it was also situated in the perfect location. I really would like to go back.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank GlynGolfer
OwnerBW1, Owner at Breakwater Motel, responded to this review

Hi GlynGolfer Many thanks for your wonderful review and happy to know that you enjoyed your stay. Kind Regards Ken and Lyn

Fort Collins, CO
Reviewed 31 January 2017 via mobile

We enjoyed 5 pleasant days using a comfortable, clean & well-equipped room at the Breakwater Motel. Our upper level waterfront room had a nice view of the bay, but also a bit of road noise during the day and early evening. AC kept the room comfortable. The property is well located for walking to dinner and the harbor dock. Designated...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JGrahamK
OwnerBW1, Owner at Breakwater Motel, responded to this review

Hi JGraham K Many thanks for taking the time to share your experience at our motel. Kind Regards Ken and Lyn

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 25 January 2017 via mobile

A lovely little motel in a great location, with friendly owners who clearly take pride in their business. Clean, modern and a decent size compared to other places I've stayed in NZ. Would highly recommend.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mightyslither
OwnerBW1, Owner at Breakwater Motel, responded to this review

Hi mightyslither Sincere thanks for your wonderful review and recommendation. Kind Regards Ken and Lyn

Reviewed 23 January 2017 via mobile

Almost perfect. Great location & fabulous view from room 5. Lovely big suite, with excellent bathroom and other facilities e.g. TV. Free tea and coffee. Only marked down one star due to poor wifi reception in room. Nothing a few signal boosters strategically placed around the property couldn't fix. Ironically it stopped me from checking in and raving about the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Robert L
OwnerBW1, Owner at Breakwater Motel, responded to this review

Hi Robert L We certainly appreciate your lovely review and your feedback. Pity you didn't mention you had a problem with the wifi whilst you were here. We have a multitude of boosters around the property and had this been brought to our attention we could have had it rectified very quickly. Kind Regards Ken and Lyn

Marlow, United Kingdom
Reviewed 22 January 2017

We stayed in room 25 which has the most fabulous vista across the Bay! It lies back off the road and the bedroom is situated at the back so nice & quiet at night. See photos from lounge. Very well equipped, fresh & clean and the staff are amazing! They give you plenty of maps & advice on what to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank CrystalRose54
OwnerBW1, Owner at Breakwater Motel, responded to this review

Hi CrystalRose54 Thank you so much for your fantastic review of the Upper Seaview Suite. Hopefully we can welcome you back in the near future. Kind Regards Ken and Lyn

Auckland Region, New Zealand
Reviewed 18 January 2017

We were checked in by a lovely Lady Lyn, she was really helpful in tips and hints on places to visit in Paihia and surrounding places, she booked a restaurant for us and could not have been more helpful. We got assigned 2 rooms, 20 and 19, both were immaculately clean and modern. We all loved staying here and would...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank groomfamily
OwnerBW1, Owner at Breakwater Motel, responded to this review

Hi groomfamily What a pleasure to host your family and thank you so much for your kind comments. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay. Kind Regards Ken and Lyn

Taylors Lakes
Reviewed 13 January 2017

Very nice & clean & a spacious room, it had all the amenities you need. Really close walk to the centre of town & all the bars & restaurants. The laundry facilities are a bonus. Would definitely stay again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lisabeth C
OwnerBW1, Owner at Breakwater Motel, responded to this review

Hi Lisabeth C Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us and recommendation. Kind Regards Ken and Lyn

Reviewed 10 January 2017 via mobile

A great location and beautifully run motel. The rooms are wonderful and are equipped with everything we needed. we had an amazing view! Be sure to try out the Thai and Indian restaurant a stone's throw away!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sarena K
OwnerBW1, Owner at Breakwater Motel, responded to this review

Hi Sarena K Thanks for your fabulous review and glad that you enjoyed your stay. Kind Regards Ken and Lyn

Reviewed 9 January 2017 via mobile

We arrived to find a well appointed room with separate bedroom. Gorgeous view of the sea and within easy walking distance of the ferry and shops. The owners were lovely and very helpful. The room cost was a little bit expensive, but still reasonable considering the unit was of a high quality and it's a very popular holiday destination.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Michelle W
OwnerBW1, Owner at Breakwater Motel, responded to this review

Hi Michelle W Many thanks for your great review and for emphasizing the high quality of our units. Kind Regards Ken and Lyn

Auckland Region, New Zealand
Reviewed 7 January 2017

Nice, spacious room with comfortable bed, full kitchen and barbecue. The people who run it are really nice - Lynn asked if I was doing any tours and phoned the tour operator for me to confirm the pickup time.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank kiwimusume
OwnerBW1, Owner at Breakwater Motel, responded to this review

Hi kiwimusume We appreciate your lovely review and it is only a pleasure to assist our guests to ensure they have a stressfree memorable stay. Kind Regards Lyn

165 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (129)
Viewed
View from Room (36)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (10)
Viewed
Room/Suite (22)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (54)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (36)
Viewed
Room/Suite (21)
Viewed
View from Room (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paihia hotels
0.2 mi away
Sea Spray Suites - Heritage Collection
0.6 mi away
Anchorage Motel
Anchorage Motel
#3 of 44 in Paihia
432 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Waterfront Suites - Heritage Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Kingsgate Hotel Autolodge Paihia
0.5 mi away
Edgewater Palms Apartments
0.6 mi away
Scenic Hotel Bay of Islands
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Beachfront
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Suites
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Microwave
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Laundry Service
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Luxury Waterfront Accommodation on Central Paihia Waterfront that is only a three minute flat walk to cafes, restaurants, shops and Paihia Wharf where tours depart from.Spectacular interrupted ocean views from Waterfront Suites, partial sea views from Seaview Suites. Sky Guest Select 70 channels - Free WiFi.Paihia is the perfect base to explore the Bay of Islands and up to Cape Reinga. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Breakwater Motel

Address: 1 Bayview Road | Bay of Islands, Paihia 0200, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Bay of Islands > Paihia
Price Range: £77 - £182 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Breakwater Motel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Breakwater Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Breakwater Motel Paihia, Bay Of Islands, New Zealand
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Paihia
#1 Luxury Hotel in Paihia
#2 Romantic Hotel in Paihia
#3 Business Hotel in Paihia
#5 Family Hotel in Paihia
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Breakwater Motel staff and other travellers.
7 questions
Ask a question
Canterbury Region, New Zealand

See all questions (7)

Questions? Get answers from Breakwater Motel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Ask for one with a balcony and sea view.”
 of 5 bubbles Charthouse25, 19 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Be sure to request a room with sea views”
 of 5 bubbles ChristineD784, 15 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Ask for a top floor unit with views of the water.”
 of 5 bubbles JuneWF, 14 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Room 8! I have not seen any of the other rooms but this one could not be beat!”
 of 5 bubbles dontcallmeillcallyou, 9 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Get a room with a view to the water.”
 of 5 bubbles globetrotter6, 5 Mar 2017 | Read review
5 of 5