We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

VR Rotorua Lake Resort

Show Prices
#25 of 93 Hotels in Rotorua
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
VR Rotorua Lake Resort
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

358 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for VR Rotorua Lake Resort
See the most recent reviews
Showing 347: English reviews
Auckland, New Zealand
Reviewed 28 May 2016

We enjoyed dinner at the restaurant with some friends. The pork ribs and 'coq au vin' we delicious. Our steak and fish dishes were also nice. This is probably the nicest restaurant in the Lake Rotoiti area (and with lovely views of the lake to match). Rolando and his staff were also excellent (and with a good sense of humour).

 Report
Helpful?
Thank PaulMark1048
vivek s, General Manager at VR Rotorua Lake Resort, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, Thank you so much for your praise of my F&B manager and staff members in the Restaurant. All our team actively read Trip Advisor and Guest Feedback and it is much appreciated that you have taken the time to write good things about a particular member. Feedback really is a great driver in ensuring we as a...

Cooma, Australia
Reviewed 28 May 2016

Only found by chance. Staff very friendly, units first class,best value so far in our trip. Have decided to stay another night.Great view of lake from our room. Sure the exterior needs some work but everything else is great

 Report
Helpful?
Thank andybibb
vivek s, General Manager at VR Rotorua Lake Resort, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for your review. Our property is certainly unique, that is what we are most proud of. We take immense pleasure in being able to serve our guests every day and enjoy what we do. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. Regards, Vivek

Auckland, New Zealand
Reviewed 27 May 2016

Me and my partner have spent two wonderful and relaxing nights there. Luckily, we've got one of their suites and it was quiet, clean and comfortable. The staff was very friendly as well. We are planning to return there sometime.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Czifi
vivek s, General Manager at VR Rotorua Lake Resort, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, We are very glad that you discovered us on Trip Advisor and enjoyed your stay. We look forward to welcoming you again soon. Regards, Vivek

Oakland, CA
Reviewed 26 May 2016

I loved this place! After walking around the very commercialized Rotrua town, I'm so glad my New Zealand friend chose Rotorua Lake resort, about ten minutes from town. In town you get lots of cookie-cutter type places; Rotorua lake Resort is unique and lovely. Staff: everyone from front desk at all shifts, to housekeeping, were pleasant, helpful, welcoming. It's the...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank calinurse
vivek s, General Manager at VR Rotorua Lake Resort, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, Thank you so much for your review including your kind comments on my team. We strive to provide an environment that is as comfortable and welcoming as possible so you truly do feel like the resort is ‘a home away from home’. I am so glad that the team achieved this for you for your stay. We...

Reviewed 20 May 2016

Have just spent a week at VR Rotorua Lake Resort as part of our timeshare adventures. Efficient check in and very friendly. Our unit was lovely, views couldn't be faulted, facilities comfortable and very clean. Our meal at the restaurant was extremely nice. Found all the staff cheeful, helpful and knowledgeable about the area. Enjoyed our week very much.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Robyn C
vivek s, General Manager at VR Rotorua Lake Resort, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, It is great to hear that you had a first class stay with us! Thank you for taking the time to review our Resort! We hope you will come back and visit us soon! Regards, Vivek

Reviewed 17 May 2016 via mobile

We enjoyed a wonderful relaxing week in lovely comfortable and clean surroundings. Our unit had a view of Lake Rotoiti and resort marina. Manager and staff were friendly and welcoming. Handy to Rotorua, Hamilton, Tauranga and Taupo. We spent a pleasant day in Whakatane. We will be back.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Yvonne S
vivek s, General Manager at VR Rotorua Lake Resort, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, We are very glad that you discovered us on Trip Advisor and enjoyed your stay. We look forward to welcoming you again soon. Regards, Vivek

Canberra, Australia
Reviewed 27 April 2016

We splashed out a bit when choosing to stay at this "resort" but were sorely disappointed. The setting is lovely, the grounds beaut, and the view from the room stunning, but the hotel itself is really lacking in maintenance. There was that old mildewy smell around hallways etc. In the room, the taps leaked and were missing the H and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Roaming_Nicster
vivek s, General Manager at VR Rotorua Lake Resort, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, I thank you for taking the time to share the experience during your last stay. We pride ourselves in offering a high level of service. I am very disappointed that we were not able to meet your expectations during your stay. We would very much like the opportunity to discuss the points you have raised further, therefore...

Gold Coast City
Reviewed 25 April 2016

On the shores of Lake Rotoiti, at Mourea, only about 15 minutes drive from downtown Rotorua, the resort is located in a tranquil setting with beautiful views. The hotel has world class facilities and all levels of accommodation are stylish and well appointed. Throughout our seven night stay in the timeshare section of the resort all the staff were friendly...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Will T
vivek s, General Manager at VR Rotorua Lake Resort, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, It is great to hear that you had a first class stay with us! Thank you for taking the time to review our Resort! We hope you will come back and visit us soon! Regards, Vivek

Queenstown, New Zealand
Reviewed 14 April 2016

The hotel itself located by a beautiful lake in Rotorua which made my stay quite peaceful and naturalistic. Loved the room and I had what I expected in my room, absolutely worth for the price I have paid. Awesome recreational facilities, especially loved the pool and Jacuzzi which are well maintained suiting to the weather conditions. The breakfast was really...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank johnR2192PR
vivek s, General Manager at VR Rotorua Lake Resort, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. We are very glad to hear that you had a very positive experience! We pride ourselves on our friendly and efficient staff, so it is wonderful to hear that they assisted in making your stay even more enjoyable. Please stay in touch with us and we look...

Hobart, Australia
Reviewed 11 April 2016 via mobile

We stayed 2 nights as part of our honeymoon. Its a bit cheeky calling this place Lake Rotorua as its not actually in the township but we knew this before we stayed. Like other reviewers have said the resort is a little lacking in maintence, although our room was clean and bed was comfy, good spa. It would have been...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jess J
vivek s, General Manager at VR Rotorua Lake Resort, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for your feedback. I appreciate your kind comments about our staff. Your concern in regards to pool facilities has been noted and forwarded to maintenance team to rectify. Take care and I hope to welcome you back in the near future. Regards, Vivek

155 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (109)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (31)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
View from Room (7)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (59)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (46)
Viewed
Room/Suite (12)
Viewed
View from Room (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (20)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rotorua hotels
7.4 mi away
Lake Rotorua Hotel
Lake Rotorua Hotel
#48 of 93 in Rotorua
226 reviews
7.2 mi away
Novotel Rotorua Lakeside
8.3 mi away
Silver Fern Rotorua - Accommodation and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Rotorua
Holiday Inn Rotorua
#21 of 93 in Rotorua
772 reviews
7.6 mi away
Quest Rotorua Central
Quest Rotorua Central
#1 of 93 in Rotorua
659 reviews
5.1 mi away
Wai Ora Lakeside Spa Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Room Service
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Tennis Court
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Suites
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Laundry Service
  • Conference Facilities
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Banquet Room
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Located in the exclusive suburb of Okawa Bay, Mourea on the beautiful shores of Lake Rotoiti is a unique & classy hotel - The VR Rotorua Lake Resort.Just 15 minutes drive from central Rotorua, the VR Rotorua Lake Resort offers lodge style influenced accommodation options, designed to make a visit one of affordable luxury, combining high quality details with pleasure & fun. ... more   less 

Additional Information about VR Rotorua Lake Resort

Address: 366 State Highway 33 | Mourea, Rotorua 3704, New Zealand (Formerly Amora Lake Resort)
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Price Range: £69 - £188 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — VR Rotorua Lake Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 44
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and Travelocity so you can book your VR Rotorua Lake Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Rotorua
#11 Spa Hotel in Rotorua
#16 Family Hotel in Rotorua
#21 Luxury Hotel in Rotorua
#24 Romantic Hotel in Rotorua
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from VR Rotorua Lake Resort staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from VR Rotorua Lake Resort staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“better to choose second floor. great view will raise from there.”
 of 5 bubbles Dimas_ValinG10, 15 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Good room, not worth the money.”
 of 5 bubbles KF280215, 28 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Facing the lake front, awesome”
 of 5 bubbles Pretzel50, 9 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Not sure if possible unless New cleaning staff emloyed”
 of 5 bubbles WYorkshiretraveller, 29 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Upper floor with a Lake View”
 of 5 bubbles crh079, 25 Sep 2016 | Read review
5 of 5