We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Sudima Hotel Lake Rotorua

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Sudima Hotel Lake Rotorua
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,401 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 1,303: English reviews
Start your review of Sudima Hotel Lake Rotorua
 Click to rate
Auckland
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

This hotel is located on the lake edge just along from the Polynesia Spa. The views are lovely if limited. It should be a good hotel, with good amenities and restaurant - going on the Auckland one of the same chain and the prices it charges. Sadly it isn't. The staff on the reception desk and wait-staff in the restaurant...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Dee C
Phoenix, Arizona
Reviewed 3 days ago NEWvia mobile

The Sudima is badly in need of renovation. It is a little dumpy and very noisy, our room being up against the main walkway and, apparently, delivery route. The early morning disruptions were not appreciated! The air conditioning was difficult to set and maintain, so warm-weather guests, beware! Free wi-if is extremely limited. Parking is indeed more than sufficient, and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JARPHX
Newcastle, Australia
Reviewed 3 days ago NEWvia mobile

We arrived last minute and we received a warm welcoming and had a great apartment. We all enjoyed happy hour at the bar lounge with very attentive and fun bar staff.. the staff were happy to recommend places to eat.. and the Polynesian spas a must.. price was right and atmosphere welcoming, very happy to recommend and stay again in...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Stephbluey
Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

My wife and I spent two nights here on our Distant Journeys Highlights of New Zealand and Australia tour. Ours was a large room with two large double beds in the modern annexe. The room had all the usual amenities including an iron and ironing board and large flatscreen TV (although reception was not great!). There was enough wardrobe space...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Peter L
Toronto, Canada
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Our room was a superior room with a queen bed in the main room and two twin beds in a separate room so would have been good for a family. There was plenty of room to store your luggage/clothes and finally a bathroom with a bath tub and space to put your toiletries! Our room was very clean and one...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank pcanders
Monza, Italy
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Staying at theSudima Lake Rotorua Hotel l has been a real pleasure. We got a huge and comfortable ensuite double room with 2 king-size beds. We also had the possibility to test some free samples of excellent spa products (we found them in the bathroom). The hotel is not in the very city centre, but it is well located on...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank BurgerQueen78
AtaloDeLaRocha, General Manager at Sudima Hotel Lake Rotorua, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thanks for taking the time to write such a nice review, I am really excited to read that you had a good time staying with us and that our hospitality met your expectations, I hope we can welcome you back at some stage in the future. Kind regards Atalo de la Rocha / Hotel Manager

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Awful, reminded me of university halls of residence. Tired in desperate need of up grade and decoration. Curtains torn bathroom dirty, fridge old with black mould on the seal. Bed clean linen clean, air conditioner did not work. Would not go back.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Hellfire28
AtaloDeLaRocha, General Manager at Sudima Hotel Lake Rotorua, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thanks for your feedback, I am sorry that our property reminded you those university halls, we are trying our best to upgrade our facilities and most of our superior rooms have gone through the process which will still continue this year, I have addressed some of the issues you mention to our team as ripped net curtains and...

Cincinnati, Ohio
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

My wife and I came here for vacation and stayed 2 nights. Advertisement says its lake view hotel, which it is... however truth is hotel is next to body of water called sulfur flats. Constant rotten smell. Beware ...,

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sam O
AtaloDeLaRocha, General Manager at Sudima Hotel Lake Rotorua, responded to this review

Dear Sam Thanks for taking the time to write your review, I am sorry to read that the smell typical of Rotorua (not only our hotel) wasn't a good experience for you and your wife, Sulphur point (flats) is one of the many interesting sites that Rotorua offers to their visitors as the geothermal activity is quite noticeable and a...

Ipswich, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

This hotel was clean and comfortable,though our room was a bit dark and cramped due to two double beds in the room. Great for families but not couples. The bar area was big and airy but one of the settees was torn. It was a big breakfast area, breakfast was ok. The staff was very helpful. This hotel also had...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kim B
AtaloDeLaRocha, General Manager at Sudima Hotel Lake Rotorua, responded to this review

Dear Kim Thanks for your feedback and review, we are totally replacing the couch you mention in a couple of weeks, we are just waiting for the new ones to arrive, thanks for your kind comments in regards to the rest of our facilities and our staff. I hope we can welcome you back at some stage in the near...

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Having stayed in Sudima hotels in the past I had high expectations of the Sudima Rotorua Unfortunately I was very disappointed. The building had the look of 1970s University accomodation and the rooms are very tired. For example our room had ripped net curtains with a large hole in them. The bathroom was showing its age. All in all the...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Broardie
AtaloDeLaRocha, General Manager at Sudima Hotel Lake Rotorua, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thanks for your feedback, I am sorry that our property has disappointed you, I totally understand your comments as by no means we can compete with our other Sudima Hotels which are new or recently refurbished, we are trying our best to upgrade our facilities and most of our superior rooms have gone through the process which will...

321 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (292)
Viewed
Room/Suite (42)
Viewed
View from Room (18)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (10)
Viewed
Dining (16)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (61)
Viewed
Bathroom (18)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (9)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (5)
Viewed
Other (113)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (29)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (14)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rotorua hotels
0.6 mi away
Novotel Rotorua Lakeside
0.1 mi away
Millennium Hotel Rotorua
1.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Rotorua
Holiday Inn Rotorua
#18 of 93 in Rotorua
750 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Ibis Rotorua
Ibis Rotorua
#26 of 93 in Rotorua
1,069 reviews
1.0 mi away
Silver Fern Rotorua - Accommodation and Spa
1.4 mi away
Lake Rotorua Hotel
Lake Rotorua Hotel
#47 of 93 in Rotorua
224 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Rotorua is one of New Zealand’s most exciting destinations - with fascinating history, rich Maori culture, and an enormous selection of attractions to experience. While visiting Rotorua, your premier accommodation choice is Sudima Lake Rotorua. Sudima Lake Rotorua is the largest hotel in Rotorua, and is set right on the shores of beautiful Lake Rotorua. The hotel is also adjacent to the world famous Polynesian Spa complex, Rotorua Museum and Government Garden, and just a short stroll from the Rotorua Convention Centre, the Energy Event Centre and Rotorua’s vibrant city centre. Sudima Hotel Lake Rotorua offers 250 guest rooms in a range of accommodation options, many with superb views across Lake Rotorua. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Sudima Hotel Lake Rotorua

Address: 1000 Eruera Street, Rotorua 3010, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Price Range: £66 - £136 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sudima Hotel Lake Rotorua 4*
Number of rooms: 250
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TravelClick, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Sudima Hotel Lake Rotorua reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Hotel Style:
#13 Spa Hotel in Rotorua
#26 Luxury Hotel in Rotorua
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Sudima Hotel Lake Rotorua staff and other travellers.
6 questions
Ask a question
Clearwater, Florida
Mont Tremblant, Canada
6 months ago
Gold Coast Australia
over a year ago

See all questions (6)

Questions? Get answers from Sudima Hotel Lake Rotorua staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Nowhere would be quiet, take ear plugs.”
 of 5 bubbles deec648, 25 Feb 2017 | Read review
“If needed, mention need of elevator access when booking.”
 of 5 bubbles pcanders, 22 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Visit Tutanekai St. for dinner and visit the redwoods in the evening with the lights shining upon them”
 of 5 bubbles 630bass, 15 Feb 2017 | Read review
“We were in 300 room block which had air con.”
 of 5 bubbles Pupstar05, 8 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Don't book near the entrance if you value quiet nights.”
 of 5 bubbles alatoa, 7 Jan 2017 | Read review
5 of 5