We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Novotel Rotorua Lakeside

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Novotel Rotorua Lakeside
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

2,296 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 2,157: English reviews
Reviewed today NEWvia mobile

We visited the place with our friends and received amazing hospitality by the restaurant staff was too good . Since i eat vegetarian we had carried maggie packets which the restaurant staff prepared for us . Special thanks to Callum for amazing service he provided without any expectations . I look forward to visit again .

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mrunalis2016
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

We stayed at this hotel for 4 days and were very happy initially but later we were served notice for cooking food in the rooms. Being Pure Vegetarian and Jain, it was difficult for us to get food there,hence we were cooking, plus we had a 5 year old kid with us.The best part of the hotel is its pool...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Pragati2712
Taupo District, New Zealand
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Novotel, contrary to that which was written, I have stayed there on three other occasions and appreciated the ambience of every stay. However that was ten years previous it was good then and it is good now. Only variable perhaps breakfast was not quite as enjoyable as it was on other occasions ,

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
 Report
Helpful?
Thank G5331SWaudreym
Edward J, General Manager at Novotel Rotorua Lakeside, responded to this review

Dear G5331SWaudreym, Thank you for your amazing 5 star review! It was a pleasure to welcome you to our hotel. Thank you also for the feedback in relation to the breakfast. I have shared your comments with the team and we will put a higher focus on this area. We hope to see you back again soon!

Falls Church, Virginia
Reviewed 4 days ago NEWvia mobile

My husband and I and another couple stayed at the Novotel for 2 nights beginning January 13th. We found the staff to be very efficient and helpful. Our rooms were clean and fairly roomy with comfortable bedding. We had a view of the lake which is in the distance. The breakfast was good.....wide selection. Many restaurants within easy walking distance....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Leslie R
Edward J, General Manager at Novotel Rotorua Lakeside, responded to this review

Dear Leslie R, Thank you for the great review of our hotel! We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again very soon.

New York, United States
Reviewed 1 week ago

Our room was clean and had views of the lake. It had air conditioning that worked well. Our wifi worked well, too. Some aspects seemed old: the bath tub looked a bit old and the air vent cover fell. But overall, fine. The location turned out to be really good....especially if you like to have wine with dinner and don't...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Mary Jane C
Edward J, General Manager at Novotel Rotorua Lakeside, responded to this review

Dear Mary Jane C, Thank you for your feedback and positive rating. I am so glad to see that you enjoyed your stay with us and found the staff and facilities to your liking. We hope to welcome you back to our hotel very soon!

St Helens, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed for two nights as part of a tour. The bedroom was very spacious and comfortable with lovely views of the lake. The hotel was in a great central location. We didn't eat in the restaurant. There was a huge variety of restaurants and bars just across from the hotel. The buffet breakfast was excellent. The free wifi was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank James B
Edward J, General Manager at Novotel Rotorua Lakeside, responded to this review

Dear James B, Thank you for your kind review. We are glad to hear you enjoyed your visit to our hotel. It was great to read all your positive comments! We hope to see you back again soon.

Vancouver, Canada
Reviewed 1 week ago

The hotel was good, nothing outstanding but was comfortable, clean, spacious. Was very disappointed to find that there was no wifi and a time limit on the WiFi available in the lobby. If you signed up with their membership you can connect up to a few devices. The location by the lake was nice for an evening walk. During Christmas...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank F S
Edward J, General Manager at Novotel Rotorua Lakeside, responded to this review

Dear F S, Thank you for your feedback and positive rating, I am glad to hear you enjoyed your visit. Thank you also for the feedback in relation to the wifi, we will most certainly review this. We look forward to hosting you again!

Numansdorp, The Netherlands
Reviewed 1 week ago

As a freqent traveller to Accor worldwide, mostly Sofitel, I know a lot about these hotels. Mostly I am very happy but this hotel was extremely bad especially the bar-service, also the breakfast was poor. I never come back and the guests go to friendly bars very near this location

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
 Report
Helpful?
Thank 84ernstl
Edward J, General Manager at Novotel Rotorua Lakeside, responded to this review

Dear 84ernstl, Thank you for your comments. Our apologies for letting you down with the service in the bar. I have shared your comments with the team and we will put a higher focus on this area. We appreciate your sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in...

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Just checked in into the hotel and even after asking 3 times. I have to carry all 5 pieces of our luggage by myself to the reception and then to the room. Not at all helpful staff stayed in other novotel properties but very disappointed with this one.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Akhil J
Edward J, General Manager at Novotel Rotorua Lakeside, responded to this review

Dear Akhil J, Thank you for taking the time to comment on your stay with us. I was disappointed to read your comments regarding the staff, and I will address this with the team directly - we pride ourselves on excellent customer service, and I do apologies if you felt that we did not deliver on this occasion. I do...

New Plymouth, New Zealand
Reviewed 1 week ago

We have stayed at alot of hotels in the ACCOR range and some are great some are poor. they are always modern and tidy yes...however for what you get a min of $175 a night without breakfast etc in this country, and even in the less desirable towns, is just ridiculous. front desk service needs work!! we have le club...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Frank and Tina ... B
Edward J, General Manager at Novotel Rotorua Lakeside, responded to this review

Dear Frank and Tina ... B, Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Novotel Rotorua Lakeside. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies. At Novotel, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very...

470 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (423)
Viewed
View from Room (27)
Viewed
Dining (13)
Viewed
Room/Suite (106)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (17)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (59)
Viewed
Bathroom (39)
Viewed
2:53
Videos (2)
Viewed
Other (160)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (47)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (16)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (4)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Other (11)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rotorua hotels
0.4 mi away
Quest Rotorua Central
Quest Rotorua Central
#1 of 93 in Rotorua
621 reviews
2.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Rotorua
Holiday Inn Rotorua
#19 of 93 in Rotorua
716 reviews
0.5 mi away
Millennium Hotel Rotorua
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Silver Fern Rotorua - Accommodation and Spa
0.1 mi away
Ibis Rotorua
Ibis Rotorua
#26 of 93 in Rotorua
1,053 reviews
0.6 mi away
Sudima Hotel Lake Rotorua
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
GreenPartner Learn More
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Novotel Rotorua Lakeside is ideally situated near the shores of lake Rotorua and withing meters of the CBD and restaurant sector.. The hotel has 199 modern, spacious accommodation rooms, some with stunning lake views, including 11 suites and the prestigious Royal suite. All bedrooms have either a king or two double beds, en-suite with shower over bath, mini bars and safes. Guests also have access to our fully equipped gym, indoor heated pool and geothermal plunge pools. Atlas cafe and restaurant is open all year round, serving guests and visitors from the extensive buffet and ala-carte dining. Our Hotel bar Clarke's is the perfect place to relax and enjoy a drink fireside or catch up with friends over a shared platter on our outdoor courtyard. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Novotel Rotorua Lakeside

Address: Lake End Tutanekai Street, Rotorua 3215, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Price Range: £101 - £195 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Novotel Rotorua Lakeside 4.5*
Number of rooms: 199
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, ACCOR, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Novotel Rotorua Lakeside reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Rotorua Lakeside Hotel Rotorua
Accor Rotorua Lakeside
Rotorua Novotel
Hotel Style:
#15 Luxury Hotel in Rotorua
#15 Business Hotel in Rotorua
#25 Family Hotel in Rotorua
#33 Romantic Hotel in Rotorua
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Novotel Rotorua Lakeside staff and other travellers.
8 questions
Ask a question
Adelaide, South Australia, Australia
Phoenix, Arizona
2 months ago
Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand
11 months ago
Tauranga, New Zealand
over a year ago

See all questions (8)

Questions? Get answers from Novotel Rotorua Lakeside staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Corner Rooms were large with lakeside view..”
 of 5 bubbles Pragati2712, 16 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Ask for a room with a lake view.”
 of 5 bubbles 239kathleen, 1 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Lakeview nice”
 of 5 bubbles CVLKCO, 26 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Lake view rooms are nicer”
 of 5 bubbles chaudharani, 26 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Ask for a Lake View room.”
 of 5 bubbles 255678Dan, 20 Dec 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay