We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Treetops Lodge & Estate

Travellers' Choice award winner
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Treetops Lodge & Estate
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

174 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 166: English reviews
Start your review of Treetops Lodge & Estate
 Click to rate
Montreal, Quebec
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We just loved our stay at this lodge. Our suite - Sunset- was an oasis of calm and elegance.The main lodge has such interesting furnishings and decor. We were warmly welcomed by our very gracious host, Harry. Our dinners were delicious and I very much appreciated how flexible the chef was in preparing an alternative to the main dish that...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank montrealtravellors
Chris C, General Manager at Treetops Lodge & Estate, responded to this review

Dear Sir or Madam, We would like to thank you for writing a comment about your recent stay at the TreeTops Lodge Rotorua. We are delighted to read that you had a wonderful stay in our "oasis of calm and elegance". Thank you for highlighting some members of our Team and the flexibility of our Chef. It was our pleasure...

Siesta Key, Florida
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

To me this place is more or less a waste. The location to Rotorua is ok, but that is just as easy to reach from other Lodges. To me stay at Huka lodge and skip this place. The staff seemed rather clueless and unexcited about helping guests. Food was ok, but there really are not great views, and there is...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank mdbasile
GM_TreetopsLodge, General Manager at Treetops Lodge & Estate, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review Treetops. We take guest satisfaction seriously, so it has taken a few days to research staff in attendance over your stay, but also to contact your travel agent directly to understand feedback they may have received in regards to the points you have made in your review of Treetops. Additionally, your offsite...

Woody Creek, Colorado
Reviewed 4 February 2017 via mobile

This is a very nice hotel lodge that is booked at the high end. It is located on a beautiful 2500 acre estate that is teaming with wildlife. We were taken on wildlife tours, were able to mountain bike and even went fly fishing on their own private river. The food was good and the kitchen staff was very friendly...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank Fidel D
GM_TreetopsLodge, Public Relations Manager at Treetops Lodge & Estate, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, and pleased to hear your actual experience of Treetops Lodge was most enjoyable. Yes we do offer hunting at the lodge, however we would NEVER have hunters and lodge guests out on the estate at the same time. In New Zealand, as with many countries in the world that have an abundance of introduced (not...

Reviewed 21 January 2017 via mobile

Booked this retreat as a romantic getaway. Food and wine great. Room average. Surrounds fantastic. Internet beyond poor. Service friendly. L Booked horse riding: No safety assessment. No questions on previous experience. No information about nature of the ride. Girth/Saddle were not fixed properly. Saddle just gave way and slipped on a bend and fell on my shoulder and broke...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank Reza N
GM_TreetopsLodge, General Manager at Treetops Lodge & Estate, responded to this review

First and foremost we are very sorry that the accident occurred. We appreciate how painful the injury to your shoulder must have been for you and that the recovery has been difficult to manage. We take any accident at our lodge seriously. We have delayed replying to your review while we interviewed our Treetops team and Melissa who was leading...

westport, con
Reviewed 15 January 2017

We stayed at Treetops for 2 nights on a big north/south journey up and down New Zealand. This lodge is a bit off the beaten track about 20 minutes from Rotorua, but the drive (much over gravel roads) is worth it. The lodge is clean and luxurious. And, the staff is forthcoming, eager and totally dedicated to making the hotel...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank westportsailors
GM_TreetopsLodge, Public Relations Manager at Treetops Lodge & Estate, responded to this review

Thank you so much for such a wonderful review, so appreciate your kind words and will share it with the team. Just on the note of internet service - we are currently amidst the undertaking of improving this. Unfortunately it has been out of our control, but with recent advances we are able to now offer a much more extensive...

Stockholm County, Sweden
Reviewed 13 January 2017 via mobile

Just terrific!!!! We loved it and thanks to the friendly staff they made this stay just unforgettable! And a special thanks to Dave Goodman that really made this experience excellent!! He took us out in the nature and let us experience that this estate is more than can be described! To be able to fish in the secluded ponds, to...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Ankan2015
GM_TreetopsLodge, Public Relations Manager at Treetops Lodge & Estate, responded to this review

Yes Dave our estate manager is a wonderful guide, and really knows the estate - the animals, fauna and flora - he is so knowledgable. So pleased you got out and did some fly-fishing, personally I believe this is the absolute BEST activity at Treetops but I am biased! - Girls who LOVE fly-fishing! Regards, Karine Thomas

Reviewed 12 January 2017 via mobile

Henry, Denis and John were excellent hosts. Treetops is ideal for those who want to change down a gear. Everything is looked after with quiet competence. Our five course dinner was exquisitely prepared and presented and left us full - but not uncomfortable. Lovely breakfast. Obviously it isnt cheap but worth every penny. Would give more marks if i could!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Hugo P
GM_TreetopsLodge, Public Relations Manager at Treetops Lodge & Estate, responded to this review

Thank you for the wonderful review Hugo, it is most appreciated! I have passed on your comments to the team on during your stay. Kind regards, Karine Thomas

Reviewed 7 January 2017

Perfect Getaway for a couple. Location is well suited for relaxing. The road to the treetops is long and dirty, yet the final destination compensates for it all. The service is beyond perfection and place is really comfortable and cosy.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Chaitanya M
GM_TreetopsLodge, Public Relations Manager at Treetops Lodge & Estate, responded to this review

Thank you for your review Chaitanya, it is appreciated and your kind words "that the service was perfect". I will pass this onto our team. With regards to the entrance road. Yes the entrance road is what we call in NZ an 'unsealed road', of which near 80% of roads in New Zealand are unsealed - especially in more remote...

Reviewed 25 December 2016

the location is ideal for a real rest. cut from the outside world. peaceful place with breathtaking views. The villa was well equipped. We enjoyed the pre dinner cocktail and the opportunity to mingle with other guests. we had three times dinner and every time the food was delicious. I enjoyed the wine pairing made by Harrie, a real connoisseur...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Denis G
GM_TreetopsLodge, Owner at Treetops Lodge & Estate, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, and Ill pass onto the team, especially Harrie your complements. And next time, ensure you make time to Fly Fish! We have exceptional guides and some 'off the beaten path' locations, we can guarantee no one has fished for at least 30 days! - John Sax

Sydney
Reviewed 27 November 2016 via mobile

My husband and I spent 2 nights at Treetops. Our villa was beautifully appointed. They offer complimentary soft drinks and water. We had beautiful canapés and drinks pre dinner and then the dining area was layed out in an elegant setting. They asked in advance if we had any dietary needs and they fulfilled all of our requests without having...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank jjj79

86 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (78)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (11)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (16)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
Other (40)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (8)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Other (7)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rotorua hotels
13.7 mi away
Solitaire Lodge
Solitaire Lodge
#25 of 93 in Rotorua
132 reviews
9.0 mi away
Peppers on the Point - Lake Rotorua
12.4 mi away
Hamurana Lodge
Hamurana Lodge
#15 of 93 in Rotorua
392 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.1 mi away
Silver Fern Rotorua - Accommodation and Spa
7.5 mi away
Quest Rotorua Central
Quest Rotorua Central
#1 of 93 in Rotorua
660 reviews
7.8 mi away
Novotel Rotorua Lakeside
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Breakfast included
  • Room Service
Show More
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Treetops Lodge & Estate staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Palm Harbor, Florida

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Treetops Lodge & Estate staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“the valley view villas are amazing. For families, rooms in the main building wing are ideal”
 of 5 bubbles DenisG680, 25 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Get a room in the main lodge.”
 of 5 bubbles Combatfisher, 12 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Ask for Daydream. Spacious suite with fireplace, separate sitting area, large bathroom, and well stocked minibar.”
 of 5 bubbles cgreg2016, 30 Jun 2016 | Read review
“All villas are lovely; some have an immediate bush view, others a panoramic bush view.”
 of 5 bubbles kiwiana7902014, 11 May 2016 | Read review
“The villas are the best, and ask for one closer to the main lodge with a better view”
 of 5 bubbles Adriana497, 9 Feb 2016 | Read review
5 of 5