We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Four Canoes Hotel

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Four Canoes Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

132 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Four Canoes Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 110: English reviews
Hastings, New Zealand
Reviewed 26 June 2016

Cheap but communal fridge was not safe - guests regularly took others milk, yoghurt etc. Felt bad but had to ask for Light bulbs needed replacing, no toilet paper and lots of cobwebs. Hot Pools were cold and wifi was intermittent (password sometimes lasted ten minutes, sometimes more...) TV room - locked at 9pm? not sure why. Good selection of...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank SLASHTong
KaranJhand, Assistant Manager at Four Canoes Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your feedback and firstly I do sincerely apologize for the all the inconveniences you have experienced whilst staying with us. In terms of the Fridge, it is a communal Fridge where by all in house guests have access to store their belongings in. With other guests helping themselves with other people’s belongings is unacceptable but...

Reviewed 22 June 2016

At the weekends, i visited with my friends, for get-to-together at Four Canoes Motel to enjoy. No doubt the motel was not so big but it provided all facilities like swimming pool, spa, thermal rooms and good food. The price was affordable.We enjoyed all the services very well.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ramanpreet K
KaranJhand, Assistant Manager at Four Canoes Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Four Canoes really appreciate your review. We are glad to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to your next visit again with us and we can ensure you that your future stay would be as excellent as your first. Kind Regards, Karan Jhand

Reviewed 21 June 2016

Overall it was a nice stay, it suited our needs as a place to stay but not much more. The wifi didn't always work and our dinner was basic and flavourless. The hot pools was about lucke water. The staff were very helpful though and friendly.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jordan H
KaranJhand, Assistant Manager at Four Canoes Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your feedback. We apologize about our slow WiFi however we do have Fiber WiFi connection installation happening this week. In terms of the Dinner we provided it was a Basic Budget Menu that your group booked. A small suggestion in the future is to request for the 2 Course Dinner Option as oppose to the...

La Verne, California
Reviewed 18 June 2016

In my mind, a hostel has to be simple, but meet a minimum requirements. The hostel was not clean, the bathroom is minimal, the staff was not rude but almost. They have a strange WIFI policy where you get connected only in the lobby for up to 4 hours by using a code they provide. The hot tub was not...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Ismael1973
KaranJhand, Assistant Manager at Four Canoes Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, I like to apologize for inconvenience that you had to face during your stay, I thank you for your feedback on our property. We would be considering your point and we will work on it. However, please do give us another try, we hope your stay with us in future will be pleasant. Thank you Karan Singh

Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewed 12 June 2016

The reception staff wasn't friendly, straight after check in we had no toilet paper in the bathroom. I'm 5ft6 and the shower was too low for me (had to bend over to wash my hair). Bathroom wasn't clean. Bedsheets weren't clean either, we found hair, stain and even blood on it. No wifi in rooms. No elevator, so we had...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank JojoBeans123
KaranJhand, Assistant Manager at Four Canoes Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your honest feedback, this is most appreciated. I do apologize for the inconveniences you experienced during your stay and I will be rectifying these comments to all our staff. We would love to accommodate you again in the future to show you that we are really quite a great place to stay. Kind Regards, Karan...

Reviewed 12 May 2016 via mobile

Very affordable place to stay. The room was big enough and clean Nice view and approachable staffs most especially in front office. I really recommend this place most especially for a big groups. They will enjoy all the facilities inside the hostel. Thumbs up! Cheers!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank kathleencY5806TL
KaranJhand, Assistant Manager at Four Canoes Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank You for your lovely feedback and praising our service. Its great to hear that you had a memorable stay with us. We would be grateful to get another chance to welcome you again and to prove our high standard of hospitality. Kind Regards, Karan Singh

kokoko
Reviewed 1 May 2016

This was a very cheap and basic room - close to city. It slept five people for under $100 per night. As a one night stopover it was satisfactory. I would recommend to sports and school groups especially. Was disappointed though that the hot pool was out of order - which from other reviews I've read seems to be the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank kokoko
KaranJhand, Assistant Manager at Four Canoes Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thanks for your feedback. It is always great to hear that the rates and room are really satisfactory and sufficed all needs. In terms of our signs we now have changed our signs to Four Canoes. We do apologies for the inconvenience you have faced due to the pool. We would love to have the opportunity to host...

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 2 April 2016 via mobile

After a cheap place to stay for 2 nights with the family .... found this place via trivago Great stuff. It is a hostel, but has family rooms 1 bedroom - queen bed and 3 singles, shower and toilet I paid AUS $135. All up for the 2 nights The place is a bit tired... but clean and good quality,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Grunta_aus
KaranJhand, Assistant Manager at Four Canoes Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thanks for your positive review. We really appreciate your honest feedback on our property. In terms of your stay we are pleased you enjoyed your room and the place was comfortable and tidy for you. We are pleased to advise that we are brightening up the complex with more greenery and gardens. We hope to see you in...

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 25 March 2016

Amazing and clean kitchen, amazing and clean rooms! I love this place! I ended up having a 6 bed dorm to myself, which will probably never happen again! But the rooms are super spacious. 15 min walk to the centre and where the buses drop you off, 5 min walk to countdown/ maccas/ Burger King. Wifi is okay if you...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MortIsCool
KaranJhand, Assistant Manager at Four Canoes Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for a positive feedback. Our team work hard everyday to meet the guest expectation and we are pleased to hear that you had a memorable stay with us. We wish you well and look forward to welcome you again on your next trip to Rotorua. Kind Regards, Karan Singh

Reviewed 23 March 2016 via mobile

Got too low price, had to book... Accommodation was backpackers standard with cranky metallic bunks. Spa pool temporary out of use. Couldn't get free WiFi to connect even. It's a good 15 min walk downtown and the bars. Even if name suggests it, no bar on site. Will look for other alternative if I come back!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Irene Lisette C
KaranJhand, Assistant Manager at Four Canoes Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your feedback on our property. Please accept my sincere apologies for the inconvenience you have faced during your stay. Our spa pool was out of order but we do have another mineral hot pool available. In regards to WiFi, now we have free Fibre internet available in all rooms. We wish you well and hope...

53 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (44)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (8)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Other (29)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (9)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rotorua hotels
0.3 mi away
Six on Union
Six on Union
#51 of 93 in Rotorua
117 reviews
1.5 mi away
Lake Rotorua Hotel
Lake Rotorua Hotel
#47 of 93 in Rotorua
227 reviews
0.4 mi away
Brylin Motel
Brylin Motel
#49 of 93 in Rotorua
101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
RotoVegas Motel of Rotorua
0.5 mi away
Crash Palace
Crash Palace
#3 of 57 in Rotorua
355 reviews
0.5 mi away
Rose Court Motel
Rose Court Motel
#58 of 93 in Rotorua
77 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair access
Things to do
  • Pool
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Banquet Room
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Recently refurbished the Four Canoes Hotel is now a 3 Star Qualmark rated Motel in central Rotorua. Rooms offer free unlimited WIFI, Free Tea/Coffee in the rooms, all rooms are ensuite with Shower and toilet. Two outdoor heated pools, and 1 Thermal Mineral Water Pool free to or guests to enjoy. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Four Canoes Hotel

Address: 273 Fenton Street, Rotorua 3010, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Price Range: £47 - £86 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Four Canoes Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 55
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Orbitz, Agoda and HostelWorld so you can book your Four Canoes Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
4 Canoes Hotel
Four Canoes Rotorua
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Four Canoes Hotel staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Four Canoes Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Avoid the disappointment”
 of 5 bubbles 314gede, 6 Nov 2016 | Read review
“A variation of rooms from doubles and family rooms to bunk rooms with 4 and more beds.”
 of 5 bubbles OldKiwiFlyer, 25 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Most rooms a bit dated”
 of 5 bubbles SLASHTong, 26 Jun 2016 | Read review
“Make sure to ask about doscounts to the Maori Cultural Experiences!”
 of 5 bubbles NatOOSh_12, 19 Apr 2015 | Read review
“i liked having a ground floor room as it was close to my car which was easy for me as a manager, and my team were in rooms next me as well. Real easy for me to look after them.”
 of 5 bubbles JaxG23, 8 Mar 2015 | Read review
5 of 5