We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

RotoVegas Motel of Rotorua

TripAdvisorUS$76
View Deal
#13 of 93 Hotels in Rotorua
Certificate of Excellence
05/06/2017 06/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
US$76*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
View Map
Add a photo
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

680 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for RotoVegas Motel of Rotorua
See the most recent reviews
Wellington, New Zealand
Reviewed 14 July 2015

We stayed 4 nights with our extended family in the Toko St house part of the motel. It was great. Lots of room,very cosy warm ( there was a huge frost outside so this was important!!) and the private spa pool was the icing on the cake. The location was good for shops ( both supermarket and retail therapy!) The...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Carole L
Waikato Region, New Zealand
Reviewed 8 July 2015

Hubby & I really enjoyed our stay at RotoVegas Motel on our recent double birthday celebration road trip. It was clean & comfortable & we were able to have a cooked breakfast (due to the hotplates), which some of the other motels we stayed in did not have. We will 'spread the word' & definitely return for another stay in...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kay B
RotoVegasMotel, Front Office Manager at RotoVegas Motel of Rotorua, responded to this review

Kia Ora Kay, We are so pleased to hear your stay with us was amazing and we could help you creating a nice getaway for your birthdays. We'd be stoked if you could let your friends and family know how much you enjoyed your stay with us. A positive word of mouth can do so much more than every add...

NZ
Reviewed 6 July 2015

Easy booking. Friendly and helpful as we requested an early arrival. Loved the hot swimming pool and got to sample it before checking out the next morning. Well located near supermarkets. Wasn't asked if we wanted a Retro room.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank NzToads
RotoVegasMotel, Front Office Manager at RotoVegas Motel of Rotorua, responded to this review

Kia Ora NzToads, Thank you so much for writing a few words about your recent stay with us at RotoVegas Motel. Yes, our direct booking service is easy and convenient - just call under 0800 249 249 and we always make sure our guests get the best rate possible. If the room is ready prior 2 pm, we welcome our...

Wollongong, Australia
Reviewed 6 July 2015

Well this motel i must say is very good, id even say it has out performed many hotels i have stayed at around the world. The location is great as it is on one of the main roads into town and only a 5 minute walk into the CBD. Noise was pretty much nil, the beds were good including the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank AussieAceCo
RotoVegasMotel, Manager at RotoVegas Motel of Rotorua, responded to this review

Hi Brendan Thank you for taking time to make a review its great when we can spread the gospel about our property. We are constantly looking to improve our facilities and and amenities and trying to exceed hotels but still offer a family and mountain bike friendly property. Our location is great for a base with a super market straight...

Brisbane
Reviewed 3 July 2015 via mobile

Funky rooms with hot tub! Close to town center, countdown down across the road. Seems like a small family run business, very friendly staff! Told me I'd be back on checkout, and I was after getting an email about lost property! Very impressed with the service as I have left things behind in hotels before and they have never been...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 88sarah
RotoVegasMotel, Front Office Manager at RotoVegas Motel of Rotorua, responded to this review

Kia Ora Sarah, You are so right: our rooms are funky and some of them do have their own private hot tubs, which is a great way of keeping warm in winter. We always make sure that items, which were accidentally left behind get back to our guests and try to contact guests as early as we can, so they...

Reviewed 30 June 2015 via mobile

The two owners/ managers of this motel are lovely. Very helpful with tourist advice and good DVDs to borrow :) the motel rooms themselves are quite basic. They do have bed, bathroom and kitchen facilities which is all you need but the furnishings and quality of finishings do look old/ not very well done. Otherwise it has a help yourself...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lizzie W
RotoVegasMotel, Manager at RotoVegas Motel of Rotorua, responded to this review

Hi Lizzie Thank you for taking the time to make review. Im glad you enjoyed our great customer service, free dvd selection and helpful staff. Glad you noticed out funky and retro decor we have tried to be a little different from the chain property's and atmosphere free property's but rest assured everything is new and just looks retro. Great...

Hastings, Hawke's Bay, New Zealand
Reviewed 28 June 2015

This place is just too awesome. We had a group of 28 people, and we had booked 4 studio rooms for our couples, a one bedroom unit for our 5 single guys(which only 3 turned up) and the Rotovegas house which slept 17 of us. The house is well laid out. It could fit our whole group in during our...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank MLE1973
RotoVegasMotel, Manager at RotoVegas Motel of Rotorua, responded to this review

Good morning MLE1973 All I can say is thank you for the honest and accurate review. I couldn't have said it better myself are you looking for a marketing sales job? you'll struggle to get a property like our Rotovegas house its perfect for large groups we have just renovated our Rotovegas apartment for smaller family groups as well. Thanks...

Australia
Reviewed 18 June 2015

The Motel and staff really made our holiday one to remember. Absolutely my best Motel experience ever. Even in wintertime the heated pool was awesome and a highlight of the motel, along with the free wifi, great little park for the kids, very friendly and informative staff. I could find no fault at all and would gladly recommend the Rotovegas...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Michael E
RotoVegasMotel, Manager at RotoVegas Motel of Rotorua, responded to this review

Hi Michael, Thanks for the glowing review. great to see you took advantage of our resort like facilities. We recently put in the play ground for the family's and take advantage of the geo-thermal energy and keep our out door pool nice and warm in the winter months. Hopefully you were able to take advantage of the supermarket across the...

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 8 June 2015 via mobile

Myself and my partner were backpacking through New Zealand last year when we unfortunately encountered a nightmare situation. After hours of driving to our pre-booked accommodation, we realised it was not fit for purpose (no heating, no wifi as promised, dirty bedsheets and a cockroach infestation!) It was about 10.30 pm at night when I called Rotovegas as a last...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank KRowley21
RotoVegasMotel, Manager at RotoVegas Motel of Rotorua, responded to this review

Dear KRowley21 Thanks for your review we are super glad you had a great time here in New Zealand and we were a part of that. We love it when people enjoy the Rotovegas experience that they stay longer to enjoy the local attractions and our property. I hope you took advantage of the discount vouchers available at reception and...

Alaska
Reviewed 5 June 2015

Nice clean property in Rotorua. Helpful staff, lots of great local insight, just ask. Near everything - would absolutely stay here again. Near stores, central business district and cultural interests and convenient to drive to most anything else.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank David B
RotoVegasMotel, Manager at RotoVegas Motel of Rotorua, responded to this review

Kia ora David Thanks for taking the time to review our property. I'm glad you took use of our local knowledge we love to show off and talk up our town. With so many things to do a lot of people need a bit of guidance to make the most of their time in town. We also have loads of...

116 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (83)
Viewed
Room/Suite (23)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (5)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (3)
Viewed
Other (37)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (33)
Viewed
Room/Suite (12)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (5)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
Other (1)
05/06/2017 06/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rotorua hotels
0.6 mi away
Silver Fern Rotorua - Accommodation and Spa
0.4 mi away
Quest Rotorua Central
Quest Rotorua Central
#1 of 93 in Rotorua
683 reviews
0.4 mi away
Emerald Spa Motor Inn
Emerald Spa Motor Inn
#16 of 93 in Rotorua
383 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Arista of Rotorua
Arista of Rotorua
#3 of 93 in Rotorua
850 reviews
1.3 mi away
Cleveland Thermal Motel
Cleveland Thermal Motel
#12 of 93 in Rotorua
553 reviews
0.5 mi away
Arista Capri Motel
Arista Capri Motel
#6 of 93 in Rotorua
515 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Microwave
Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Breakfast Available
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
RotoVegas Motel of Rotorua is centrally located on Fenton Street within walking distance to Restaurants, Shops and Tourist Attractions. RotoVegas Motel of Rotorua has a heated swimming pool, private spa pool units, sauna and ample off-street parking for campervans and large vehicles. Our affordable quality accommodation suits most budgets as there is a range of 1-bedroom and 2-bedroom units that can sleep 4-6 persons to smaller Studio units that sleep 2-3 persons (majority with Private Spas). ... more   less 

Additional Information about RotoVegas Motel of Rotorua

Address: 249 Fenton Street, Rotorua 3010, New Zealand (Formerly Heywoods Motel)
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Price Range: £63 - £103 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — RotoVegas Motel of Rotorua 4*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your RotoVegas Motel of Rotorua reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Rotorua
#6 Family Hotel in Rotorua
#11 Luxury Hotel in Rotorua
#13 Romantic Hotel in Rotorua
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from RotoVegas Motel of Rotorua staff and other travellers.
5 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (5)

Questions? Get answers from RotoVegas Motel of Rotorua staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“All units we experienced (4) were well appointed, tastefully decorated very comfortable”
HelenGarrod, 1 May 2017 | Read review
“Get a downstairs room with a hot tub!”
832melissae, 14 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Stay away if you can.Only got some wifi after 2 days. The reception staff have all the excuses why there is no wifi.”
davee15, 16 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Ask for a room away from the main road”
839sallyb, 27 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Think some larger units had a better outlook, we had nowhere to sit right outside our room.”
lizhewlett, 27 Feb 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
TripAdvisor
US$76* /night
View Deal
Hotels.com
Booking.com
Priceline
View all 11 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates