We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Nicara Lakeside Lodge

Show Prices
GreenLeadersSilver level
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Nicara Lakeside Lodge
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

117 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 110: English reviews
Start your review of Nicara Lakeside Lodge
 Click to rate
Leatherhead, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 days ago NEWvia mobile

Nicara Lakeside Lodge is perfectly situated in a peaceful lakeside location. It combines every modern convenience with a tasteful art collection by local, national and international artists to enhance the beauty of the Lodge. The hosts Mike and Heather are both attentive and sensitive to the needs of individual clients. We could not have wished for a better welcome for...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lydia J
Sarola, Owner at Nicara Lakeside Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for your great review of our lodge. The 2 days were full of humour. We very much enjoyed the evening where your trout had centre place. :)

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 days ago NEWvia mobile

We stayed here on the recommendation of our travel agent in England. Our hosts, Michael and Heather Johnson, where wonderfully friendly and engaging and the facilities were first rate. The beds were comfortable, the bathroom facilities were excellent, and the breakfast first class. Highly recommended.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Francis M
Sarola, Owner at Nicara Lakeside Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you Francis, It was a fun stay for us as well. Loved the musical entertainment and being part of your family. Come again.

Birmingham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We were not expecting a house when we pulled up to the property and to be honest a little put off. However, Mike and Heather are a delightful couple who welcomed us into their beautiful home with a glass of Pinot Noir and a gorgeous view over the lake. The property is large with a generous sized bedroom (3 available)...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jim N
Sarola, Owner at Nicara Lakeside Lodge, responded to this review

Hi Jim, we would be delighted to have you back. I could tell from your reaction when you arrived that you were not expecting a B&B :) Glad you enjoyed your stay though. Actually, while a car is easier, it is not necessary as the local bus service goes by every half hour during the day. Many attractions attractions pick...

Shoeburyness
Reviewed 20 December 2016

This is not a bed and breakfast as you know it, it's an executive home with charming knowledgable owners who care about your stay with them. The Lodge has an amazing view across the lake and is situated in a quite and secure street. Highly recommended.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank martyne150
Sarola, Owner at Nicara Lakeside Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your comments. Delighted we were able to sit outside - one of those rare windless evenings in November.

Reviewed 12 December 2016 via mobile

I am a picky person and I was incredibly impressed with this B&B. From the exquisite room and home to the delicious food to the amazing hospitality, I loved staying here. Heather and Mike were so hospitable that I felt like it was home. Even when I returned, they'd day, "welcome home!" I was the only one staying and they...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ChauffeurMom
Sarola, Owner at Nicara Lakeside Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for this great review. You were fun to have staying with us. We love your enthusiasm and adventurous spirit. Through just talking with locals you were invited into places seen and experienced by very few. Delighted you are having a great holiday.

Reviewed 1 December 2016 via mobile

A close relative of ours asked us to look into Nicara lodge and we did. What seems like a simple lodge is actually a hidden luxurious getaway. To start with, we received a wonderful & warm reception by Heather & Mike, who took care of us round the clock. The food was organic and was homegrown & plucked from their...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Arjun U
Sarola, Owner at Nicara Lakeside Lodge, responded to this review

Arjun we are so delighted you both enjoyed your stay with us. We had some interesting discussions, even on that 'to be avoided' topic of politics. Look forward to your next visit. Heather

Woodside, California
Reviewed 27 November 2016

We followed the guidance of our NZ based travel agent to spend 2 nights at Nicara while visiting Rotorua. BIG mistake on our part. We reviewed their web site and it appeared like a place we'd really enjoy. What our travel agent failed to tell us (and what's not on their website), is Nicara Lakeside Lodge is deep in a...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Kholorz
Sun Valley-Ketchum, Idaho
Reviewed 29 April 2016

We stayed in the lakeside suite with Lake Rotorua just outside our room. The owners were very knowledgeable of the area and gave us many suggestions for side trips and restaurants. The breakfast was exquisite as well as a cocktail hour with great wine and appetizers.. You do need your own car to stay here as there are no services...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sandra F
Sarola, Owner at Nicara Lakeside Lodge, responded to this review

Hi Sandra, thank you for your review. I think your trip to New Zealand is now over, but you can enjoy your springtime back home. Thank you for staying with us.

Boston, Massachusetts
Reviewed 27 March 2016

Beautiful property but it could not be enjoyed because of the overbearing nature of the hosts who criticized any ideas for your time in Rotorua area unless they suggested it. Rather than enjoy the deck and grounds we found ourselves hiding in the room while there to avoid them. People so particular should not open their home to strangers and...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Patty P
Sarola, Owner at Nicara Lakeside Lodge, responded to this review

Patty, I am sorry you felt that way. In 12 years of operating our lodge we have not had a similar comment. Perhaps self contained accommodation would have suited your group more than hosted accommodation. We were impressed with the amount of research you had done on our region, and told you so, hence your comment seems unusual. However, I...

Mexico
Reviewed 20 March 2016

Heather and Mike are awsome we really enjoy our stay! We recommend this lodge to any one! They make us feel at home, great service and food and great tour advisors! We hope to come back soon and stay here again!

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank tonofer77
Sarola, Owner at Nicara Lakeside Lodge, responded to this review

I am glad you both enjoyed your stay at Nicara Lodge; we certainly enjoyed your company and your enjoyment at what you experienced in our region. You mentioned you hope to be back again - I hope so too.

40 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (25)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (6)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Other (5)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (15)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rotorua hotels
3.1 mi away
Peppers on the Point - Lake Rotorua
1.8 mi away
Hamurana Lodge
Hamurana Lodge
#14 of 93 in Rotorua
388 reviews
5.3 mi away
Quest Rotorua Central
Quest Rotorua Central
#1 of 93 in Rotorua
641 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
Novotel Rotorua Lakeside
10.6 mi away
Treetops Lodge
Treetops Lodge
#44 of 93 in Rotorua
172 reviews
1.7 mi away
Doolan's Country Retreat
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
GreenLeadersSilver level
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Luxury Bed & Breakfast on shores of Lake Rotorua. Enjoy a relaxed spacious environment, close to many tourist attractions, free of sulphur smells. Great breakfasts, great hosts. Make this your home while in Rotorua. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Nicara Lakeside Lodge

Address: 30 Ranginui Street, Rotorua 3010, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Price Range: £271 - £304 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Nicara Lakeside Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Nicara Lakeside Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Nicara Lakeside Lodge staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“All amenities are included and then some. The room was very well outfitted.”
 of 5 bubbles sandraf89, 28 Apr 2016 | Read review
“All rooms are excellent as is the Lodge and the wood carvings”
 of 5 bubbles nickcX2047DZ, 11 Mar 2016 | Read review
“Room overlooking Lake Rotorua was amazing!”
 of 5 bubbles WillandCate, 26 Mar 2015 | Read review
“N/A The little cottage on the lake. Just perfect”
 of 5 bubbles schoolies1970, 16 Mar 2015 | Read review
“We stayed in the Scotch Poacher room at the front of the lodge overlooking the lake. It was gorgeous and you could lie in bed in the morning and gaze across the lake the only sound was the occassion honk of a goose. (Not sure if geese squark, honk or quack but it sounded good anyway!)”
 of 5 bubbles 610Margaretd, 10 Mar 2015 | Read review
5 of 5