We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

Nicara Lakeside Lodge

Show Prices
GreenLeadersSilver level
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Nicara Lakeside Lodge
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

113 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 106: English reviews
Reviewed 6 days ago NEWvia mobile

A close relative of ours asked us to look into Nicara lodge and we did. What seems like a simple lodge is actually a hidden luxurious getaway. To start with, we received a wonderful & warm reception by Heather & Mike, who took care of us round the clock. The food was organic and was homegrown & plucked from their...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Arjun U
Sarola, Owner at Nicara Lakeside Lodge, responded to this review

Arjun we are so delighted you both enjoyed your stay with us. We had some interesting discussions, even on that 'to be avoided' topic of politics. Look forward to your next visit. Heather

Woodside, California
Reviewed 1 week ago

We followed the guidance of our NZ based travel agent to spend 2 nights at Nicara while visiting Rotorua. BIG mistake on our part. We reviewed their web site and it appeared like a place we'd really enjoy. What our travel agent failed to tell us (and what's not on their website), is Nicara Lakeside Lodge is deep in a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kholorz
Sun Valley-Ketchum, Idaho
Reviewed 29 April 2016

We stayed in the lakeside suite with Lake Rotorua just outside our room. The owners were very knowledgeable of the area and gave us many suggestions for side trips and restaurants. The breakfast was exquisite as well as a cocktail hour with great wine and appetizers.. You do need your own car to stay here as there are no services...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sandra F
Sarola, Owner at Nicara Lakeside Lodge, responded to this review

Hi Sandra, thank you for your review. I think your trip to New Zealand is now over, but you can enjoy your springtime back home. Thank you for staying with us.

Boston, Massachusetts
Reviewed 27 March 2016

Beautiful property but it could not be enjoyed because of the overbearing nature of the hosts who criticized any ideas for your time in Rotorua area unless they suggested it. Rather than enjoy the deck and grounds we found ourselves hiding in the room while there to avoid them. People so particular should not open their home to strangers and...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Patty P
Sarola, Owner at Nicara Lakeside Lodge, responded to this review

Patty, I am sorry you felt that way. In 12 years of operating our lodge we have not had a similar comment. Perhaps self contained accommodation would have suited your group more than hosted accommodation. We were impressed with the amount of research you had done on our region, and told you so, hence your comment seems unusual. However, I...

Mexico
Reviewed 20 March 2016

Heather and Mike are awsome we really enjoy our stay! We recommend this lodge to any one! They make us feel at home, great service and food and great tour advisors! We hope to come back soon and stay here again!

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank tonofer77
Sarola, Owner at Nicara Lakeside Lodge, responded to this review

I am glad you both enjoyed your stay at Nicara Lodge; we certainly enjoyed your company and your enjoyment at what you experienced in our region. You mentioned you hope to be back again - I hope so too.

Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Reviewed 11 March 2016

Heather and Mike own and run Nicara Lodge in style and with care and attention. When we arrived in the late afternoon Mike announced that wine would be available from 5 and so it was. We were made to feel welcome throughout our stay and Heather took our photograph, gave us a copy and sent it to us by email....

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Nick C
Sarola, Owner at Nicara Lakeside Lodge, responded to this review

Hi Nick & Nicole, thank you for your review. Loved your reference to 'Penny Lane' :) except we don't have our photos on display. Guess you will be starting to enjoy your spring flowers now, while our gardens are nearing the end of their summer life. Thanks for staying with us.

Round Rock, Texas
Reviewed 3 March 2016

We stayed here for two nights and were quite impressed with this luxurious lodge. Each afternoon Heather fixes scrumptious appetizers and Mike pours delicious New Zealand wine and chat with their guests. They are a wealth of information about the Rotorua area and New Zealand. Each morning Heather cooked an amazing breakfast that included homemade muesli and yogurt, not to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank AnglophileAnnie
Sarola, Owner at Nicara Lakeside Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for your positive and encouraging comments. Evening drinks with our guests are our favourite time of the day, hearing what you have experienced in our Rotorua region. Did you enjoy trout fishing anywhere else in New Zealand? Mike has actually been out himself this week and caught a couple :)

North Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 December 2015

A fantastic but far too brief stay with Mike and Heather in their beautiful home by the lake. Brilliant advice, excellent service with the most friendly of hosts. Happy days. Thank you both for the highlight of our trip.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank daverD1684CT
Sarola, Owner at Nicara Lakeside Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you Dave for your encouraging review. Do delighted you enjoyed your stay as we certainly enjoyed your company. Best wishes for your expanding family.

Kuwait
Reviewed 9 October 2015 via mobile

We spent 3 nights at this wonderful lodge. The view from our room was spectacular! The room is extremely comfortable for our stay in Rotorua. Mike and Heather were very friendly hosts with incredible knowledge on the area. They assist us with quickly planning our day when our plans got cancelled. Nothing was ever too much! We enjoyed the conversations...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Alfa_f86
Sarola, Owner at Nicara Lakeside Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments. We too enjoyed your company and enthusiasm. Best wishes for your future.

Los Altos, California
Reviewed 5 July 2015

My partner and I stayed at Nicara Lodge for a couple nights back in February. We were passing through Rotorua not really knowing the area and picked this spot mostly for convenience of travel plans. Rotorua itself is not a destination that we'd go back to, but it was nice enough and had easy access to a couple interesting sights....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Paul M
Sarola, Owner at Nicara Lakeside Lodge, responded to this review

Hi Paul, thank you for your review. Following your comments while with us, we changed our wifi so guests should not have to request more data vouchers, thus making it easier.

41 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (25)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (6)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Other (5)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (16)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rotorua hotels
3.1 mi away
Peppers on the Point - Lake Rotorua
1.8 mi away
Hamurana Lodge
Hamurana Lodge
#12 of 93 in Rotorua
380 reviews
6.3 mi away
Silver Fern Rotorua - Accommodation and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
Quest Rotorua Central
Quest Rotorua Central
#1 of 93 in Rotorua
594 reviews
3.2 mi away
Black Swan Lakeside Boutique Hotel
1.7 mi away
Doolan's Country Retreat
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
GreenLeadersSilver level
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Luxury Bed & Breakfast on shores of Lake Rotorua. Enjoy a relaxed spacious environment, close to many tourist attractions, free of sulphur smells. Great breakfasts, great hosts. Make this your home while in Rotorua. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Nicara Lakeside Lodge

Address: 30 Ranginui Street, Rotorua 3010, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Price Range: £245 - £290 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Nicara Lakeside Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Nicara Lakeside Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Nicara Lakeside Lodge staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“All amenities are included and then some. The room was very well outfitted.”
 of 5 bubbles sandraf89, 28 Apr 2016 | Read review
“All rooms are excellent as is the Lodge and the wood carvings”
 of 5 bubbles nickcX2047DZ, 11 Mar 2016 | Read review
“Room overlooking Lake Rotorua was amazing!”
 of 5 bubbles WillandCate, 26 Mar 2015 | Read review
“N/A The little cottage on the lake. Just perfect”
 of 5 bubbles schoolies1970, 16 Mar 2015 | Read review
“We stayed in the Scotch Poacher room at the front of the lodge overlooking the lake. It was gorgeous and you could lie in bed in the morning and gaze across the lake the only sound was the occassion honk of a goose. (Not sure if geese squark, honk or quack but it sounded good anyway!)”
 of 5 bubbles 610Margaretd, 10 Mar 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay