We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

16 Northgate Motor Lodge

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
16 Northgate Motor Lodge
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

166 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 159: English reviews
Start your review of 16 Northgate Motor Lodge
 Click to rate
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Really clean and comfortable - we were very happy with our stay. Parking was a little tight but we had no problem finding a space. Great location - and good helpful information in the folder provided.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Christine H
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Good sized rooms with all you need. Decor is nice. They have obviously given this place a face lift and it is very comfortable because of it. No fly screens which is problematic for me because every bug loves to bite me but there is an air conditioner to keep us cool so no big drama. Friendly staff. Needed to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Gabrielle B
Paul W, Owner at 16 Northgate Motor Lodge, responded to this review

Hello and thankyou for your review. We are really pleased that you noticed the efforts we have made over several years to continue to keep the units fresh and comfortable. We are very sorry about the dishes, we will remind our staff to be a bit more diligent. We hope to see you again, feel free to book directly with...

Nelson-Tasman Region, New Zealand
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Easy walking distance to town, with comfortable, clean and well fitted out rooms. The kitchenette had a hotplate and microwave so we could cook the night we did not feel like going out. Friendly, helpful staff/owners

 Report
Helpful?
Thank LiamNZ1
Paul W, Owner at 16 Northgate Motor Lodge, responded to this review

Hello and thankyou for reviewing your stay with us. We are pleased that you found the unit had what you needed to have a comfortable stay. Please do book directly with the owners if you are coming to New Plymouth again.

Reviewed 10 January 2017

Appreciated a reasonably stocked kitchenette - toaster, coffee plunger, microwave, hotplate and a few pans. Enough to get by (and not have to eat out all the time). Ample parking. Other thing to be aware of is that this motel is a little way out of the main centre - though it's an easy 15-20 minutes walk in (and quite...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Leigh V
Paul W, Owner at 16 Northgate Motor Lodge, responded to this review

Hello and thankyou for your review. It is great that the motel provided what you needed. Yes, we are located about 15 minutes walking from town, but it is so quiet and lovely here with an outdoor garden/BBQ area which some motels don't have these days. And near to the foreshore walkway and other interesting walkways. We hope to see...

Reviewed 10 January 2017 via mobile

Pleasant stay for hubby and I over 2 nights. Room was clean and desk staff polite and helpful. Spa facility was fantastic! Will definitely be my accommodation of choice when we bring our family to New Plymouth next month.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank shonyi
Paul W, Owner at 16 Northgate Motor Lodge, responded to this review

Hello and thankyou for your most positive review. We look forward to seeing you again, feel free to call or email us directly for your bookings so that we can book the best room types for your stay. We enjoy dealing with returning guests on a more personal level. We are really pleased that you enjoyed the spa pool too....

Brno, Jihomoravsky Kraj, Czech Republic
Reviewed 9 January 2017 via mobile

We stayed here for one night. Very nice hotel, spacious rooms, close to the city center and the coastal walkway. You can park in front of your room, outdoor spa available for guests. you can also order a breakfast to be delivered to your room next day...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jeannieee
Paul W, Owner at 16 Northgate Motor Lodge, responded to this review

Hello and thankyou for taking the time to review your stay with us. We are pleased that you had a positive stay and found what you required from our motel. We hope to see you again in the future.

Auckland, New Zealand
Reviewed 7 January 2017

Well we turned up early - would have been happy to return later if it was really a problem. However the lady seemed rather grumpy... asked where we could find a good coffee nearby? Response I don't drink coffee. Asked if there was anywhere outside of New Plymouth where petrol was cheaper - bearing in mind gas was nearly 30...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank christopher1146
Paul W, Owner at 16 Northgate Motor Lodge, responded to this review

Hello and thankyou for your review and commenting on the unit being clean, comfortable and the sheets being of a very good quality as this is what we provide as a motel. I may have seemed irritated at the end of the lengthy checkin as you did unfortunately arrive complaining about the lack of parking around the art gallery... sorry...

Reviewed 5 January 2017 via mobile

Great motel. Very clean and reasonably modern. Units are well equipped. Units have kitchenettes with microwave, crockery, cutlery, nice glassware and plunger with complimentary coffee. Bathroom has shampoo, however no hair-dryer. Good location. Friendly service.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Melissa K
Paul W, Owner at 16 Northgate Motor Lodge, responded to this review

Hello and thankyou for your most welcome review. We are really pleased that you enjoyed your stay. We will definitely check that room has a hairdryer, perhaps it was in the back of the drawer in the desk. We do hope you choose to visit New Plymouth again.

Reviewed 3 January 2017 via mobile

We stayed at the motel for the Pouakai crossing. The owners are very friendly, the rooms are comfortable with everything you need, beds are comfortable. Spa is lovely. It's a short walk to a delicious buffet - Marbles Buffet. And a short walk to restaurants, supermarket etc. New Plymouth and Taranaki is a beautiful region to visit.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kim A
Paul W, Owner at 16 Northgate Motor Lodge, responded to this review

Hello and thankyou for your most positive review. We are really pleased that you had a stay with everything you needed. The motel is in a great location. We are pleased that you chose us as your accommodation while doing the Pouakai crossing! We hope you return to the region again.

Auckland, New Zealand
Reviewed 2 January 2017

Quite close to the CBD, beach and supermarkets. Quite and cozy. Barbecue and spa pool were clean and good to use. No complains whatsoever! We also booked the bikes for a ride around the city fro free.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MatheusBeresford
Paul W, Owner at 16 Northgate Motor Lodge, responded to this review

Well it looks as though you had a great stay while in New Plymouth. We are so pleased that the motel offered what you were needing. Please come and stay again. Thankyou for your positive review.

20 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (7)
Viewed
Other (7)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (13)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Plymouth hotels
1.0 mi away
King and Queen Hotel Suites
King and Queen Hotel Suites
#1 of 30 in New Plymouth
274 reviews
0.5 mi away
The State Hotel
The State Hotel
#3 of 30 in New Plymouth
120 reviews
0.1 mi away
Novotel New Plymouth Hobson
Novotel New Plymouth Hobson
#2 of 30 in New Plymouth
167 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
The Waterfront
The Waterfront
#6 of 30 in New Plymouth
217 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Devon Hotel & Conference Center
0.2 mi away
Quality Hotel Plymouth International
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
MY SKY HDi (50+ channels, recordable decoders) now in our Super King Studios! Or book a Queen Studio with GUEST SELECT, you be in control of what you'd like to watch!! 23 comfortable non-smoking serviced studio units. Fully equipped with cooking facilities allowing guests to be fully self contained. FREE wireless broadband internet and the use of a business centre. Quiet heat pumps/air conditioners in all studios adds to a comfortable stay throughout the year. Te Henui & Coastal walkway access on our doorstep. Enjoy Pukekura Park, the Bowl of Brooklands and the local beaches all within walking distance. Private and relaxing garden and BBQ area. Complimentary use of bikes, DVD players and a selection of DVDs. Park right outside of your room for easy access and security. Walking distance to supermarkets, takeaway outlets and restaurants. ... more   less 

Additional Information about 16 Northgate Motor Lodge

Address: 16-18 Northgate, New Plymouth 4312, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Taranaki Region > New Plymouth
Price Range: £69 - £83 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — 16 Northgate Motor Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your 16 Northgate Motor Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in New Plymouth
#7 Luxury Hotel in New Plymouth
#12 Business Hotel in New Plymouth
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from 16 Northgate Motor Lodge staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“We were in a queen suite - at the back - so no road noise.”
 of 5 bubbles 28leighv, 10 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Back units probably quieter”
 of 5 bubbles christopher1146, 7 Jan 2017 | Read review
“The 3-bedroom house is great for groups.”
 of 5 bubbles Dhux64, 5 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Second Floor studio”
 of 5 bubbles heath531, 21 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Choose down stairs if you have a lot of luggage”
 of 5 bubbles mizmae2, 29 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5