We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Bell Lodge Motel & Backpackers Hostel

Save
Share
Overview
39 Bell Street, Tauranga 3110 New Zealand See on map
AMENITIES
Free Parking
Family Rooms
Kitchenette
Free Wifi
Breakfast included
Pool
Restaurant
{"containerClass":null,"containerAttributes":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null}
Reviews (45)
Filter reviews
42 results
Traveller rating
15
3
1
8
15
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
15
3
1
8
15
See what travellers are saying:
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 5 of 42 reviews
Reviewed 3 April 2018 via mobile

The place was dirty. They have no dorm rooms for woman traveling alone. The flys are all over the kitchen and the deck was falling apart. The owners did nothing about the people doing drugs and being really loud, partying until midnight even though they...More

Thank Mel-a-muffen
Reviewed 20 February 2018

Booked a room for one night at $130 p/night. I have pictures of cockroach legs, pubic hair, blood stains, faecal stains on bedding. Completely discoloured brown toilet cistern and uncleaned bathroom. A purely disgusting place, avoid at all cost!!More

Thank DaneM247
Response from sheree123758, Owner at Bell Lodge Motel & Backpackers HostelResponded 6 March 2018

Just to put this review into perspective. The toilet cistern has been replaced and so has the tiles we got an expert in the day before and the outcome was not that they were dirty it was a chemical reaction from using organic cleaning sprays...More

Reviewed 4 June 2017

We went to the Bell Lodge to find work as kiwi pickers. The stay at the hostel was okay and if you work, you will get a discount on your rooms. After several rainy days we decided to leave one day earlier and thought that...More

Thank maxib942
Response from Bell-LodgeNZ, Owner at Bell Lodge Motel & Backpackers HostelResponded 6 June 2017

Thanks for your review, while you were with us you were enjoyable company. I was away at the time attending a funeral and my partner was looking after the hostel. He did explain this to me but I did not realise he was rude to...More

Reviewed 8 May 2017

Lady running the place was very rude. We offered her $50 to drop us at the concert in the Bell Lodge van we were going to as our taxi did not show up. She did so but then refused to do it the next day...More

Thank GenevieveC469
Response from sheree123758, Owner at Bell Lodge Motel & Backpackers HostelResponded 10 May 2017

Firstly it is not our responsibility to take you to a concert so $50 was a payment that you would have had to pay as there were 7 or 8 of you even though only 4 of you were staying here at Bell Lodge. The...More

Reviewed 28 March 2017

sheree and rick the owners of this hostel have been nothing but amazing, if you need a job or need a hand with your car they are always there to help you, i have overall stayed at this hostel 7 months out of 16 months...More

Thank rebekahmacinnes
View more reviews
About
Description
Sheree & Rick, welcome you to Bell Lodge, a purpose built motel and backpackers. Situated in a quiet area 4km from the city. You have the choice of motel units, double or twin en-suite rooms or dorm rooms for 4-8 More persons with free car parking. All units and rooms open onto covered decks. We can help you organize local activities such as dolphin swimming, surf lessons, sky diving and more. Come and join us at Bell Lodge in the sunny Bay of Plenty. Less
Hotel Amenities
HOTEL FEATURES
Free Parking
Pool
Room Service
Restaurant
Breakfast included
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Room types
Kitchenette, Family Rooms
Room types
Kitchenette, Family Rooms
Number of rooms
16
Price range
US$21 - US$100 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Location
New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Tauranga
Room types
Kitchenette, Family Rooms
Number of rooms
16
Price range
US$21 - US$100 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Location
New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Tauranga
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 58 nearby hotels
Summit Motor Lodge
376 reviews
.28 miles away
Comfort Inn Academy
187 reviews
1.01 miles away
850 Cameron Motel
264 reviews
1.02 miles away
ASURE Macy's Motor Inn
247 reviews
1.11 miles away
Nearby RestaurantsSee all 443 nearby restaurants
Quantum Vis Eatery
89 reviews
.98 miles away
Wild Earth Organics
23 reviews
.98 miles away
The Burnt Fig
28 reviews
.75 miles away
The Whipped Baker
8 reviews
.76 miles away
Nearby AttractionsSee all 180 nearby attractions
Waikareao Estuary
87 reviews
.53 miles away
The Historic Village
83 reviews
.76 miles away
Amazing Day Tours
371 reviews
.75 miles away
Fernland Spa
214 reviews
.95 miles away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from Bell Lodge Motel & Backpackers Hostel staff and past guests.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Submit
Posting guidelines
Room Tips
"ask for dorm with own bathroom"
rebekahmacinnes
28 Mar 2017
Read review
"Get a room closest to car park, they are quieter. Even if traveling alone, make a friend and share one of..."
DyerCE
28 Jun 2014
Read review
"all the rooms close to the common are are very bad, you cant get sleep because of all the noise coming from..."
josel376
5 May 2014
Read review
"Any room is good"
PaivaS_13
9 Apr 2013
Read review
Show More 
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing