We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

Ohtel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Ohtel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

365 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 348: English reviews
1 review
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

I was lucky enough to have been gifted a nights stay at the beautiful boutique Hotel for a special occasion. Situated perfectly at the beginning of Oriental Parade made it easy to take a short walk to enjoy Wellington's night life. The antique mixed with a modern touch décor made the room very comfortable and was a key point of... More 

Helpful?
Thank Letitia S
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We loved this place. Boutique hotel right on the waterfront so very easy to walk everywhere. Loved the mid- century decor, great breakfast & very friendly staff. Very comfortable bed, lovely bathroom including bathtub. Highly recommend

Helpful?
Thank Linda B
Navarre, FL, United States
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

In spite of a very nice location in a good walking city, this hotel was the biggest accommodation disappointments of our trip to New Zealand. The rooms are small and over crowded with what our receptionist called the owner's "antique furniture" (mid-seventies Ikea). There is very little on street parking. You can have your car valet- parked somewhere off site... More 

Helpful?
Thank Linda S
Alan_from_Ohtel, Founder at Ohtel, responded to this review

Hi Linda, I'm disappointed to hear your thought your 36 sqm/387 sqft Deluxe Room was too small. If you had raised it with us, we could have checked the availability of one our 45sqm/484 sqft Suites and moved you across. Most guests enjoy the aesthetic of original mid-century (50's and 60's) pieces over mass-produced modern Ikea furniture which doesn't feature... More 

2 reviews
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Me and a few mates stayed here one night - and in one of our suites we got a hot-tub! That was a great night! The bathrooms could use more privacy - but if you sing a little tune the sounds don't bother ya. The hostess was gracious, the lobby cafe was inviting and the rooms are very comfortable and... More 

Helpful?
Thank Karen G
Alan_from_Ohtel, Founder at Ohtel, responded to this review

Hey Karen, Good to have you guys stay - glad you got some use out of that Hot-Tub ! See you again soon I hope ! Alan More 

Auckland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This is a small hotel, it's quiet, in a fantastic location, and the staff were helpful and friendly. The room was spacious and clean with really great decor. We were in the hotel for the big earthquake on November 14th 2016 and we felt really safe - the building felt solid and as if it could cope with the rocking... More 

Helpful?
Thank Kiwi_Mo_Auckland
Alan_from_Ohtel, Founder at Ohtel, responded to this review

Hi Mo, Sorry you had to experience the rocking and rolling - really pleased with the way those in-house responded when I called them individually just after midnight to check on their well-being. As you say, not the slightest bit of damage to Ohtel - generally the prevailing situation throughout the town. Decades of planning and designing for events like... More 

Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
39 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

My husband and I were visiting Wellington for the long weekend, and we wanted a place we could explore Wellington from. Most of the major hotel chains are located in the "business" side of Wellington, and boy were we glad we went with Ohtel instead! The area Ohtel is at is the "fun" bits of the city for the weekend;... More 

Helpful?
Thank PamRamali
Alan_from_Ohtel, Founder at Ohtel, responded to this review

Hi Pam, I think as you say - 'East-side' is the place to be.. close to the national museum, 'Te Papa' Oriental Bay beach and waterfront promenade, plus most of the top restaurants and abrsare just a couple of blocks away in the Courtenay/Cuba entertainment precinct. Thanks so much for your positive feedback - it means a lot to the... More 

New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

What a unique and wonderful place. The decor is amazing, all the facilities are superb, and the food was delicious. Would definitely recommend to anyone, both locals and visitors! The mid-century styling really sets this hotel apart from anywhere else I've ever stayed, and the service was impeccable.

Helpful?
Thank paulanz
Alan_from_Ohtel, Founder at Ohtel, responded to this review

Paula ! What a glowing review - thanks so much ! Alan More 

Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
37 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We stayed at Ohtel on the recommendation of a friend who lives in Wellington. With a very few tweaks, Ohtel could be 5-star. However, when we stayed, the room we had (a very nice room at the back corner overlooking the house next door) suffered from dirty carpet, which was in need of a thorough clean. Additionally, I think the... More 

Helpful?
Thank trib22
Alan_from_Ohtel, Founder at Ohtel, responded to this review

Hi Trib, Thanks for your review. We have replaced 7 of the 10 rooms' carpet this year, just 3 to go - so I'm guessing you were in one of those rooms that still remain... Apologies for that, there are a few stubborn marks that we can't budge pending the re-lay. There should be at a minimum of at least... More 

Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Visited for two nights in October. Rooms are spacious and comfortable but we were in room 2 which had very little natural light. It did, however, have the best mini bar in the world! Lovely bathroom but divided from bedroom by only a curtain so not terribly private! Very close to museum and waterfront Lovely staff and great breakfasts (... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Fran G
Alan_from_Ohtel, Founder at Ohtel, responded to this review

Hi Fran, Thanks for taking the time to place feedback on our place - glad you enjoyed the mini bar and location. Hope to see you again soon, may I suggest you request an upgrade to a front-facing room for just $19 on your next stay ! Alan More 

Palmerston North, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 October 2016

Great room , unique decor , lovely people and perfect breakfast It is a small boutique hotel but a lot is packed in ! Good location near waterfront , easy walk to city shops , museum and marina areas The personal friendly service is a nice memory

Helpful?
1 Thank greg713
Alan_from_Ohtel, Founder at Ohtel, responded to this review

Hi Greg, Pleased you had a pleasant stay - thanks for the poistive feedback, much appreciated ! Alan More 

84 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (61)
Viewed
Room/Suite (28)
Viewed
Bathroom (10)
Viewed
View from Room (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
1:54
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (13)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (23)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Other (11)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wellington hotels
0.2 mi away
Museum Art Hotel Wellington
0.3 mi away
At Home Wellington
At Home Wellington
#1 of 46 in Wellington
644 reviews
1.1 mi away
Bolton Hotel Wellington
Bolton Hotel Wellington
#3 of 46 in Wellington
1,253 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
InterContinental Wellington
0.1 mi away
Copthorne Hotel Wellington Oriental Bay
0.4 mi away
Amora Hotel Wellington
Amora Hotel Wellington
#9 of 46 in Wellington
1,099 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair access
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Smoking rooms available
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Room Service
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Ohtel's exclusive seaside location provides stunning views over Waitangi Park, Te Papa and the Inner harbour. Run by the owner and a select group of friendly, unpretentious staff, Ohtel provides convenience and luxury with an eco-friendly conscience. Experience contemporary New Zealand design, coupled with original "mid-century" furnishings throughout the lobby and ten spacious suites. Enjoy regionally sourced, gourmet food and beverages in room, or in our intimate lobby. Ohtel, sophisticated urban chic. Free Wi-Fi & local calls, King-sized beds, 55+ Sky channels, air-con, solar hot water... ... more   less 

Additional Information about Ohtel

Address: 66 oriental Parade | Oriental Bay, Wellington 6011, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Greater Wellington > Wellington
Price Range: £147 - £284 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Ohtel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Ohtel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ohtel Hotel Wellington
Design Hotel Wellington
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Wellington
#3 Romantic Hotel in Wellington
#11 Luxury Hotel in Wellington
#15 Family Hotel in Wellington
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Ohtel staff and other travellers.
5 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (5)

Questions? Get answers from Ohtel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Get a Hot-Tub!”
 of 5 bubbles , 16 Nov 2016 | Read review
“The rooms facing the street are amazing - great views of a bustling city, the sea, and Te Papa, the iconic national museum.”
 of 5 bubbles paulanz, 12 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Get one that faces the front!”
 of 5 bubbles JJLuvsHotels, 29 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Rooms at the front of the building have wonderful sunshine and view to the park, the harbour.”
 of 5 bubbles Sjal68, 9 Aug 2016 | Read review
“All rooms are great from what I could see.”
 of 5 bubbles j9herathome, 7 Jun 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay