We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Amora Hotel Wellington

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Amora Hotel Wellington
View Map
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}}}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,153 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 1,123: English reviews
Start your review of Amora Hotel Wellington
 Click to rate
London,
Reviewed yesterday NEWvia mobile

Very nice hotel. Large very comfortable room and great bathroom. Both well equipped. Excellent reception staff. We arrived before check in time and they looked after baggage etc while we went sightseeing. Minor disappointment that after carefully marking baggage by room at reception the person who delivered it in our absence got it entirely wrong! But it spoiled nothing really....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank davidsw11
Nerja, Spain
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

This hotel is a good base for the attractions of Wellington. Some rooms have harbour view. Very dramatic. Breakfast had a good variety and had friendly service. The New Zealand museum is just over the road.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Joan A
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed for two nights coming from South Island and on our way to explore North Island. It was the perfect place, quite centrally located. You could walk to many of the attractions and center was few steps away. Breakfast was good.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank AwanOmer
AmoraHotelWellington, General Manager at Amora Hotel Wellington, responded to this review

Dear AwanOmer, I am delighted to read your feedback in relation to your recent experience here at the Amora Hotel Wellington! It is a pleasure to receive such consistently good feedback from our guests which shows that we are on the right track with our product and service standards. Thank you for your kind comments; we do hope to welcome...

cairns
Reviewed 1 week ago

Great place to stay. Rooms clean and great view out to the city. Even with a little earthquake damage, it was still great. Will stay here again. Staff were polite. The bar upstairs was awesome for its bar snacks. 10/10

 Report
Helpful?
Thank chris_cairns
AmoraHotelWellington, General Manager at Amora Hotel Wellington, responded to this review

Dear chris_cairns, It is a pleasure to read that you enjoyed your recent experience here at the Amora Hotel Wellington! Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback, which I will share with my team. We do hope to see you back again soon. Kind regards, Liam Craughwell, General Manager

Lake District UK
Reviewed 1 week ago

The hotel staff are very friendly and a credit to the manager We asked for and got a second suitcase rack immediately.Impressed by the free self laundry good views fluffy robes and towels and a wonderful meal in the restaurant one of the best hotels on our tour of NZ.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank graney
AmoraHotelWellington, General Manager at Amora Hotel Wellington, responded to this review

Dear graney, Thanks so much for some fantastic feedback of your stay, highlighting the service of our staff and your dining experience in our Grill Restaurant. Our team will be very encouraged by your kind comments which are very much appreciated. We look forward to welcoming you back when you are next in Wellington. Kind regards, Liam Craughwell, General Manager

Faversham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

Room with harbour view was clean and spacious. The windows have a dark tint, making it look cold and dark when you looked out - we had to open the window to see what the temperature was and the wind howled in!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jan B
AmoraHotelWellington, General Manager at Amora Hotel Wellington, responded to this review

Dear Jan B, Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback of your experience. It is much appreciated and we hope to welcome you back again soon. Kind regards, Liam Craughwell, General Manager

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We had the opportunity to stay there for 2 nights, it was a great location easy walk to restaurants, bars and TePapa. We were upgraded to a club room that had excellent views to the water. The room was large and spotless...I think you could have eaten off the floor. The breakfast was great with a good variety of food...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank PETER H
AmoraHotelWellington, General Manager at Amora Hotel Wellington, responded to this review

Dear PETER H, It is a pleasure to read your feedback highlighting the cleanliness of your room, your breakfast experience, and our ideal location in the heart of the cbd. Thank you for posting a review of your experience, and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Amora Hotel Wellington in the near future. Kind regards, Liam Craughwell,...

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Room very spacious and well presented with all the amenities you would expect. Shower could do with having the mould removed is my only complaint. Staff very friendly and helpful. A nice hotel in a good location.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Wandiemoo
AmoraHotelWellington, General Manager at Amora Hotel Wellington, responded to this review

Dear Wandiemoo, I am pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay and very much appreciate your feedback. I will address the shower issue with our Housekeeping team and we will monitor this; thank you for bringing it to our attention. We do hope to welcome you back at some time in the future. Kind regards, Liam Craughwell, General Manager

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Luxury Hotel - we were upgraded on arrival - with lovely views over the harbour. Rooms were very comfortable and a good size. Walking to see the key Wellington sights was easy (and we were only there for an afternoon and evening so this was important) and the museum and botancial gardens (via cable car) are a must.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Caroline20013
AmoraHotelWellington, General Manager at Amora Hotel Wellington, responded to this review

Dear Caroline20013, I am delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay and you found the location of the hotel to be ideal for your visit to Wellington. We do hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future. Kind regards, Liam Craughwell, General Manager

Godalming, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We had a lovely room overlooking the harbour. The weather, when we arrived, was horrendous, with driving rain and gale force winds, so sightseeing was abandoned until the next day. The location was great, as we could walk to the waterfront, the museum and numerous bars and restaurants. It was also useful to have a self-service laundry service, with a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kfrancis
AmoraHotelWellington, General Manager at Amora Hotel Wellington, responded to this review

Dear Kfrancis, Thank you for providing a fantastic review of your recent experience, highlighting your dining experience, the cleanliness of your room, and the service of our staff. I am sorry Wellington couldn't provide you with a better day for your arrival, but I hope you managed to enjoy your visit. We hope to see you back again on your...

232 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (222)
Viewed
View from Room (22)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (18)
Viewed
Room/Suite (51)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (28)
Viewed
Other (96)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (10)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wellington hotels
0.4 mi away
InterContinental Wellington
0.2 mi away
QT Museum Wellington
QT Museum Wellington
#8 of 46 in Wellington
1,489 reviews
0.1 mi away
At Home Wellington
At Home Wellington
#1 of 46 in Wellington
679 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Copthorne Hotel Wellington Oriental Bay
0.7 mi away
Rydges Wellington
Rydges Wellington
#6 of 46 in Wellington
1,719 reviews
0.8 mi away
Bolton Hotel Wellington
Bolton Hotel Wellington
#3 of 46 in Wellington
1,316 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Paid Wifi
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
This fabulous, downtown hotel completed a total accommodation makeover in 2011 redefining superior comfort and luxury with contemporary style in the Capital City.Nearly all the rooms command unobstructed views of Wellington Harbour and/or the city and we’re located right in the arts and entertainment precinct.The hotels rooms are spacious with 192 Deluxe, Club & Club Suites, featuring all the niceties you would expect from a leading international hotel.Our Club Rooms are located on the top floor and assure stunning harbour views, superior in room amenities and access to the exclusive Club Lounge for complimentary refreshments and gourmet breakfast. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Amora Hotel Wellington

Address: 170 Wakefield Street, Wellington 6011, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Greater Wellington > Wellington
Price Range: £107 - £286 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Amora Hotel Wellington 4.5*
Number of rooms: 192
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets and TravelClick so you can book your Amora Hotel Wellington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Duxton Hotel Wellington
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Wellington
#9 Romantic Hotel in Wellington
#11 Business Hotel in Wellington
#12 Family Hotel in Wellington
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Amora Hotel Wellington staff and other travellers.
13 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (13)

Questions? Get answers from Amora Hotel Wellington staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Noise from air-cons on ground outside but it did not disturb our sleep”
 of 5 bubbles 148janb, 15 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Ask for a high room with a harbour view”
 of 5 bubbles Caroline20013, 13 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Try and get a room overlooking the harbour and the higher up the better the view”
 of 5 bubbles Kfrancis, 12 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Rooms above the 5th floor are quieter (Wellington is quiet though late at night) and also affords a better view out over the Harbour.”
  • Early morning view from 8th floor room out over Wellington Harbour
 of 5 bubbles 477KeithC, 11 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Recommend requesting a room away from the elevators.”
 of 5 bubbles Melbourne000, 6 Feb 2017 | Read review
5 of 5