We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

Richmond Guest House

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Richmond Guest House
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

303 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 283: English reviews
1 review
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We had 3 nights booked and were happy to go there. Then the earthquake hit in November 16. It affected Wellington so we tried to cancel. Was told buildings damaged, power out etc. Booking agent contacted owner and he flatly refused to refund our money. It's not as though we changed our minds for the sake of it. It was... More 

Helpful?
Thank Ed L
johno116, Owner at Richmond Guest House, responded to this review

Ed' your bookings were cancelled by you with Expedia , so it is impossible for me to profit in any way from your bookings i am sure that Expedia will refund your full amount as we have an agreement that we wouldn't profit from the many cancellations that i received due to the Earthquake So Ed' it sure pays to... More 

Castle Hill, Australia
Level Contributor
39 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Slightly dated decor, and defiantly not high end accommodation but for the price is ok for an overnight stopover. The fan in the bathroom needs a good clean, the level of dust and grime on it its not been touched in months, if at all this year. The room could do with one less piece of furniture in it, no... More 

Helpful?
Thank steve b
johno116, Owner at Richmond Guest House, responded to this review

Hi Steve , Well i replied to your other reviews so i guess i should reply to this to', I see by your other reviews that you are quote a Luxury Traveler and have stayed in some beautiful hotels around the world , Question'' so then why do you pay $72 bed and breakfast for a night and stay at... More 

Travellers are raving about these Wellington hotels

Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
32 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 October 2016

I booked a twin bed room for two nights for my brother (who was visiting from UK0 and myself. On arrival at about 8.00pm we had the look of "What are you doing here" from the owner. He had double booked our room. He told us that he had sent me an email telling me he had made a mistake,... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank OrewaBrian
johno116, Manager at Richmond Guest House, responded to this review

Hi Brian ,well firstly i must explain what i do when folk make a booking''as you did i mail them back explaining the cost of the room and tell them that if they want to make a booking to send me a deposit , folk send mail every day and folk make phone inquires every day , but an actual... More 

Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2016

My partner and I just stayed here for one night. Lovely room, super comfy bed, decent size, and nicely heated. Total bonus to have some evening sunshine pour in and illuminate the lovely colours. Towels and soap provided. The breakfast was simple (cereals, toasts, spreads etc) but just what we wanted, and needed. The best thing was the lovely host... More 

Helpful?
Thank 620venusv
New Plymouth City, Taranaki, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 October 2016

We love staying at Richmond Guest House .. we found our host John very helpful, friendly, and a great sense of humour !! Why go anywhere else when we have 'Home Away from Home' .. very reasonably priced .. superb breakfast .. every cereal too acomodate every persons palette ..ranging from Weight Watchers.. Gluten Free .. High Fibre .. brown/white... More 

Helpful?
Thank Raewyn L
Dunedin
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2016

I am very confused. This is the first time that I have had a strange experience after making choices based on Trip Advisor reviews. The room was basic but fine. The breakfast basic but fine, with a great range of muesli to choose from. The location is great if you want to walk in to Te Papa etc. But we... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Carolyne47
Level Contributor
35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 October 2016

From the welcome by John, our host, through to the farewells we have found this accommodation to be great. I stayed with my mother in one of the twin rooms. The room was spacious, clean and warm. John was a fountain of information with good local insight into attractions and travel. The guest house was full while we were there... More 

Helpful?
Thank Juliet L
Victoria, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2016

This place will be a place that you will remember for the rest of your life once you live here (in terms of the most terrible place you will ever stay). Firstly, i've never wrote a review for hotels or motels in my life before. But this time i think i really have to. I have been to 10 different... More 

Helpful?
3 Thank xpress3000
johno116, Owner at Richmond Guest House, responded to this review

Yes my friend as you walked through my doorway i did mention to you that the Richmond as advertised have a policy of no one under 17 staying and i also mentioned that the property was 100% non smoking as any non smoker could smell you several metres away and you were holding your 16 month old baby Both these... More 

1 review
Reviewed 24 July 2016

Had a great stay with friendly & funny host who was always happy to help with a great sense of humour. Room was clean & cosy for the freezing Wellington nights. Only thing I can say was that this was my first time in a B&B and the bed in my room was a bit soft compared to what I'm... More 

Helpful?
Thank Ranjeeta S
Waiheke Island, New Zealand
2 reviews
Reviewed 9 July 2016

What can I say that no one else has already said, I will definitely like to stay again. All I can do is repeat all of the nice things you can read on the previous reviews. The night before I stayed at another chain hotel, and while that was nice, it was missing something, that Richmond B&B did not lack.... More 

Helpful?
Thank Deicidal

57 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (33)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (8)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (24)
Viewed
Room/Suite (16)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (6)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wellington hotels
0.3 mi away
The Cambridge Hotel
The Cambridge Hotel
#15 of 46 in Wellington
596 reviews
0.8 mi away
Trinity Hotel
Trinity Hotel
#27 of 46 in Wellington
443 reviews
1.0 mi away
Travelodge Hotel Wellington
Travelodge Hotel Wellington
#13 of 46 in Wellington
2,280 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
ibis Wellington
ibis Wellington
#17 of 46 in Wellington
1,940 reviews
1.5 mi away
Bolton Hotel Wellington
Bolton Hotel Wellington
#3 of 46 in Wellington
1,250 reviews
0.5 mi away
Museum Art Hotel Wellington
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Kitchenette
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Richmond Guest House is a lovely twelve room 19th century villa less than 1 km from Courtenay Place and the city. The Richmond has recently been refurbished and has still got many of it's original features including beautiful plaster ceilings and with all rooms having there own ensuite bathrooms plus hairdryers and radio alarms, and have the local paper delivered daily. We have a communal kitchen where guests can prepare their own meals (breakfast is provided) with a connecting dining room with complimentary tea, coffee and hot chocolate is always available. There is also a guest's computer with free internet and we also have free wifi throughout the building. Plus we have a a TV lounge and free laundry use is available. We are a 100% non-smoking site and not suitable for children. Check in time is from 10am until 10pm no check ins' after 10pm will be accepted We are on the shuttle bus route and within a 10 minute drive to the Airport, Rail, Bus, and Interisland Ferry depot. Your home away from home. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Richmond Guest House

Address: 116 Brougham Street, Wellington 6011, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Greater Wellington > Wellington
Price Range: £47 - £62 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Richmond Guest House 2.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Richmond Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Richmond Guest House Hotel Wellington
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Richmond Guest House staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Richmond Guest House staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Stay out of the basement”
 of 5 bubbles stevebR2291HA, 9 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Rooms towards the back of the building are closer to the kitchen/dining room so may be woken up early-ish although we didn't mind.”
 of 5 bubbles 620venusv, 15 Oct 2016 | Read review
“rooms away from room are quiter”
 of 5 bubbles , 24 Jul 2016 | Read review
“I did not choose the room, but i was totally surprised by the room I got. Feels like I am at home.”
 of 5 bubbles Deicidal, 9 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Great new Studio: sleeps 4, large flat screen, fridge, kettle, fresh carpet + beautiful new bathroom. Beautiful!”
 of 5 bubbles alexandremL8768UY, 19 May 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay