We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Nomads Capital Hostel Wellington

Save
Traveller (30)
Room & Suite (17)
Dining (3)
You may also like:
See all
Nearby Hotels
Overview
  • Excellent21%
  • Very good37%
  • Average22%
  • Poor13%
  • Terrible7%
Travellers talk about
“bar next door”(43 reviews)
“free dinner”(33 reviews)
“free pancakes”(20 reviews)
AMENITIES
Wifi
Non-Smoking Hotel
Bar/Lounge
Multilingual Staff
Wheelchair access
Laundry Service
Self-Serve Laundry
5 Star Hotel
All hotel details
You may also like:
See all
Nearby Hotels
{"containerClass":null,"containerAttributes":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null}
Reviews (426)
Filter reviews
379 results
Traveller rating
84
126
85
55
29
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
84
126
85
55
29
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbar next doorfree dinnerfree pancakesfree tea and coffeeprivate room with ensuitepancake mixown bathroomcommunal areaslocation is greatmiddle of townenjoyed my staycouple of nightsstaff were friendly and helpfullaundry facilitiescentral locationte papasouth island
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 5 of 379 reviews
Reviewed 1 week ago

Just to stay a night if you have to be in Wellington to go elsewhere . It's a very impersonal hostel, more like a hotel with rooms used as dorms. People is not interested about talking with others. I had a very bad experience with...More

Thank EMonle
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Booked two nights through their website on day of arrival. Paid for two nights upon arrival. After spending an hour in the hostel, realizing that there is literally no social aspect, no alcohol alllowed meaning one of the best ways to actually talk to and...More

1  Thank Ed B
Response from NomadsCapital118, Manager at Nomads Capital Hostel WellingtonResponded 1 week ago

Hi, thank you for taking the time to write us a review and we are glad to hear you enjoyed our free breakfast and dinner. Due to New Zealand's licencing laws we are unable to have guests in house drinking alcohol, however we do have...More

Reviewed 21 April 2018

This is a dry hostel, we found out upon arrival, after two days of wine tourism- NOT IDEAL. I can respect they have had problems in the past, but with a private room for three nights, I was totally annoyed as New Zealand is quite...More

Thank Tor W
Response from NomadsCapital118, Manager at Nomads Capital Hostel WellingtonResponded 1 week ago

Hi, thank you for taking the time to write us a review. Due to New Zealand's licencing laws we are unable to have guests in house drinking alcohol. We do however have our hostel bar located next door which offers great food and beverage deals...More

Reviewed 11 April 2018 via mobile

Ok so first night here was good, it’s a decent enough location, rooms average. However I have an early flight tomorrow. It is now 1am and it is impossible to sleep due to the ridiculous noise coming from the bar downstairs. Seriously. I have ear...More

Thank Monica W
Response from NomadsCapital118, Manager at Nomads Capital Hostel WellingtonResponded 1 week ago

Hi, thank you for taking the time to write us a review and we are glad you enjoyed our rooms and location. We apologise for the noise from the bar next door and we do work alongside them so if brought to receptions attention, we...More

Reviewed 25 March 2018

I stayed in this hostel for three nights as part of my G Adventures tour. I felt it was in a good location and it was clean and comfortable. My negative points are that you had to pay for wifi and the connection was terrible,...More

Thank Karen B
Response from NomadsCapital118, Manager at Nomads Capital Hostel WellingtonResponded 3 April 2018

Hi, Thank you for taking the time to write us a review, Being apart of a tour guests have set rooms your more than welcome to upgrade to private rooms if that was a better suit for next time! Our Wifi is $4 for 24...More

View more reviews
Most Booked Properties in Wellington
See allSee all
About
Amenities
Top amenities
Bar/Lounge
Hotel Amenities
Laundry Service
Multilingual Staff
Self-Serve Laundry
Things to do
Bar/Lounge
Details
Price range
US$16 - US$80 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms
Details
Price range
US$16 - US$80 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms
Add Photo Photos
Traveller (30)
Room & Suite (17)
Dining (3)
Pool & Beach (1)
Family and Play Areas (1)
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
G2101BTthomasl
2 November 2017|
Answer
Response from travelinabit | Reviewed this property |
There is nearby parking in parking buildings but its quite expensive per hour. I parked on my previous visit along the waterfront about 20-25 minutes walk away from Nomads. I just kept driving round the waterfront until... More
0
Votes
Carmen W
26 October 2014|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from NomadsCapital118 | Property representative |
Hi Carmen Thanks very much for getting in touch. The female dorms are situated on the first floor but we would be happy to try to put you in one that is furthest from the bar. Alternatively we have mixed 4 bed dorms with... More
0
Votes
fantomai
26 September 2014|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from NomadsCapital118 | Property representative |
Hi there, sorry for the delay in coming back to you. Check in is anytime from 2pm and check out is 10am. If you arrive earlier that 2pm you are more than welcome to store your luggage free of charge, help yourself to tea and... More
0
Votes
Room Tips
"Decent prices if your budget travelling."
Read review
"Stay somewhere else"
Read review
"The 8-bed dorm I stayed in was very unpleasant due to lack of airflow. I don't know about the other rooms."
Read review
"Top floor gets very hot"
Read review
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing