We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Maruia Hot Springs

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Maruia Hot Springs
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel"},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

249 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 238: English reviews
New Zealand
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

I then read the reviews here and comments - Stop making excuses and get your staff doing what they should be doing ! As for the cafe being busy hardly had anyone in there when we were there - Have run cafes and catering for years. Making old style food in your own kitchen is not hard and economical -...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank flier2
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

I looked at trying to book online. Nothing available. I tried to call the number on Friday 6th Jan.to see if they had a cancelation. I rang the place 18 times and all I got was an answer service.( No-one called me back) We then booked Hanmer Springs, Thank god for that. We called in for coffee on our way...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Peter T
MaruiaHotSprings, Managing Director at Maruia Hot Springs, responded to this review

Peter, the upgrade plans you saw are of the upgrade works completed, NOT proposed and the completed works include: • New mountain view sauna (heated sustainably from our own hydro power station) • New pure mountain water (chemical free) 2.5m deep cold plunge pool (most probably the deepest in the southern hemisphere) • New enlarged and redeveloped outdoor natural (chemical...

Australia
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Hard to know here to begin. Some of the recent reviews are not reflective of the reality. ROOMS They are not as bad as the rest of the place. Clean, with kind of recent carpet and so on, I have stayed in worse. SPACE The springs are a great location next to the mountains and the stream. Its a bit...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank anecessaryevil
MaruiaHotSprings, Managing Director at Maruia Hot Springs, responded to this review

Thanks for your review. You raise many good points and as the onsite new owners we are committed to injecting millions to transform this once tired resort into something special. As you noted it is a "big job" and simply will take time to get the staffing, food and buildings upgrades in place to meet most peoples expectations. We are...

Reigate, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

After a two+ hours drive from Christchurch with two tired and fractious young children, and in urgent need of a drink, snack and toilet stop, we thought we'd found what we wanted. We installed ourselves in their very comfortable armchairs, with the baby and infant playing happily on the carpet with the toys which were thoughtfully provided, placed our order...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Robin S
MaruiaHotSprings, Managing Director at Maruia Hot Springs, responded to this review

I have spoken to all staff involved including one staff member being a co-owner and we apologies for the honest chain of mistakes that resulted in your frustration. Kim my partner and co-owner personally apologised to you and was the one that delivered your order to the wrong table as she thought this was your table as you were playing...

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

Booked a bathe and dine (lunch) package as a special surprise for the family. At $60 per person I wasn't expecting a private spa but the tired reception area, the smelly change rooms and the general disarray of the property made the experience a total waste of money. Lunch was a choice of a hot dish (mediocre toasted sandwiches) and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank africanabroard
MaruiaHotSprings, Managing Director at Maruia Hot Springs, responded to this review

Apologies again for the broken chair incident, that you did not receive your robes and that our normally extensive selection of cafe food was limited due to increased customer demand resulting from the recent Earthquakes. Brand new 4-5 star changing rooms will open in a few weeks time to complement the already upgraded bathing offering that includes the features listed...

Whangarei, New Zealand
Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

Friendly hosts who have recently taken over this resort so some units are lovely and others still old and worn but comfortable all the same. Hot pools are a good temperature but the outdoor showers need to be better fitted!! Plunge pool great. The indoor Japanese style pool and showers are also undergoing modernisation but good to sit in the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tazmina C
MaruiaHotSprings, Managing Director at Maruia Hot Springs, responded to this review

Thanks for your comments and your review reflects how 99% of our customers enjoy this incredible and magical property and its staff. There is no hiding of the fact we started with a tired property that requires significant renovations to become a World Class award winning hot springs resort. But as you noted we do keep it clean and provide...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

We stopped here for coffee and lunch on the way to and from Christchurch and while it looked nice from the outside we found inside was general cleanliness was poor. While the staff were pleasant we experienced them to be disorganised, on our first visit our food took 40 mins to arrive and the second visit, it never arrived and...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Andrew P
MaruiaHotSprings, Managing Director at Maruia Hot Springs, responded to this review

Our staff and I agree that its a shame you received this experience, but at the same time we as the new owners have architectural designs already drawn for a cafe upgrade that addresses the issues you highlighted in your review. To put your comment into prospective following the resent earthquakes that significantly increased traffic numbers on our road, during...

Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We were misled by information on the website about the price of entry to pools- note that the price for one person has recently risen from $25 to $40. The pools are quiet, peaceful, and we enjoyed the Japanese theme and watching the mist slowly coming through the valley while we sat outside in the pools- quite the opposite atmosphere...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Monster2015
MaruiaHotSprings, Managing Director at Maruia Hot Springs, responded to this review

Great that you enjoyed the calmer bathing experience in nature that our entire team has worked so hard to get up and running for Christmas. Our new product offering is incredible and combined with pristine location in the middle of an untouched (pristine primary forest/native bush) National Scenic Reserve is not comparable to another offering in New Zealand or most...

Christchurch, New Zealand
Reviewed 1 week ago

We were so disappointed with our stay. The place was so unclean. The Japanese bath house looked like it hadnt been cleaned for weeks and we were too queasy to even go in the pool. The decor is so outdated and generally unclean. Chair covers in communual areas looked very dirty. Unkempt unwashed looking staff. Our waiter had a surly...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank annciciani
MaruiaHotSprings, Managing Director at Maruia Hot Springs, responded to this review

You raise some interesting points of which some result from a lack of understanding or consideration of what to expect to bathe in natural (chemical free) mineral springs waters and the benefits of their associated medicinal minerals. It is also possible that due to the increased patronage we are experiencing as a result of the resent earthquakes, our team did...

Blenheim, New Zealand
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Maruia Resort has a lot of potential. We stayed there as two couples and enjoyed our time in the pools and in the Japanese room with the awesome massage chair. The outdoor pools and indoor bathhouse were the highlight. The Garden rooms are dull but the Japanese rooms are stylish and cosy with plenty of 'feng shui' I guess you...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Kylie A
MaruiaHotSprings, Managing Director at Maruia Hot Springs, responded to this review

Thanks for your feedback and myself and the re-development team will review all your points in details. I can assure you that the redevelopment will attempt to merge the best points from the historical Japanese experience into the best pure New Zealand hot springs experience possible going forward. Thanks again for sharing you experience.

106 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (106)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (23)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (11)
Viewed
Dining (13)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Other (55)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these South Island hotels
0.0 mi away
Timara Lodge
Timara Lodge
#42 of 57 in Marlborough Region
19 reviews
50.9 mi away
Lake Brunner Lodge
Lake Brunner Lodge
#516 of 1,006 in South Island
20 reviews
326.2 mi away
Catlins Kiwi Holiday Park at McLean Falls
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
352.5 mi away
Lands End Boutique Hotel
352.1 mi away
Bluff Ocean Vista Accommodation
117.0 mi away
Raetihi Lodge
Raetihi Lodge
#8 of 82 in Marlborough Region
155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Hot Tub
  • Spa
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Paid Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Concierge
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Maruia Hot Springs is located on the Lewis Pass in a National Park where you can enjoy picturesque mountain views and look out to the flowing waters of the Maruia River while bathing in our 100% Natural mineral hot pools. Our pools are completely natural (no chemicals used), enjoy bathing in hot water sourced directly from our bore, our water has a high mineral content, which is considered to have healing properties especially for skin conditions and joint and muscle pain. We have 3 outdoor hot pools, and an indoor bath house that are open 7 days a week from 8am-9pm. We also have a private bathing pavilion available by booking, or in our package deals. Come and enjoy a serene and quiet bathing experience away from crowds and cell phones. Our Cafe is open 7 days a week so if you are driving past grab a coffee and enjoy a foot bath amongst the wildlife and beautiful views from our deck. Perfect for bird lovers! The restaurant open 7 days a week and offers a fresh new Kiwiana menu and a classic breakfast menu that includes poached eggs with homemade Hollandaise sauce. Visit our website to book and come and enjoy a unique experience in the tranquillity of the mountains. As new owners we are passionate about working towards making Maruia Hot Springs into a World Class resort and a pure New Zealand experience. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Maruia Hot Springs

Address: State Highway 7 Lewis pass, 7895, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island
Price Range: £89 - £115 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Maruia Hot Springs reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maruia Springs Thermal Resort Ltd Hotel South Island
Maruia Springs Thermal Hotel Ltd
Maruia Hot Springs New Zealand/South Island
Hotel Style:
#59 Spa Hotel in South Island
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Maruia Hot Springs staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Maruia Hot Springs staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“did not stay but the rooms look old from the outside.”
 of 5 bubbles petertA9978WC, 15 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Mountain view rooms have wonderful views..The food is delicious, stay for a meal here !”
 of 5 bubbles Beattles, 11 Dec 2016 | Read review
“It might be much worse than you expect”
 of 5 bubbles , 6 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Get a first floor room to avoid noise from above!”
 of 5 bubbles br0nniet, 22 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Lovely quiet location”
 of 5 bubbles J46JKbrendas, 29 Jul 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay