We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

YHA Christchurch Rolleston House

Save
Share
Traveller (6)
Room & Suite (12)
Dining (3)
Overview
5 Worcester Street, Christchurch 8011 New Zealand See on map
AMENITIES
Paid Wifi
Free Parking
Non-Smoking Hotel
Airport Transportation
Golf course
Laundry Service
Self-Serve Laundry
3.5 Star accommodation
Reviews (112)
Filter reviews
82 results
Traveller rating
21
37
16
5
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
21
37
16
5
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscanterbury museumheritage buildingbotanical gardensfree wifiprivate double roomarts centrelarge kitchennice place to staycathedral squarekitchen facilitieslounge areawithin walking distanceperfect locationhostelinterchangesoaplinens
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 5 of 82 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I phoned to make my reservation and found the staff to be rude and not helpful. I would be arriving after reception hours and requested the access code to the front door, the staff told me all that information would be sent in a confirmation...More

Thank Tarzo87
Response from YHANewZealand, Manager at YHA Christchurch Rolleston HouseResponded 3 weeks ago

Kia Ora Tarzo87, Firstly allow me to apologise about any inconvenience we may have had on your travels and that you didn't enjoy your time with us. We always provide the late arrival procedures via email as it is safer. This provides all the information...More

Reviewed 27 July 2018

I had a warm friendly check in with Bonnie that set the scene for my stay. The outlook is right onto the arts centre which is just lovely when lit up in the night. The kitchen one of the best I have experienced in a...More

Thank Jules068
Reviewed 27 July 2018

Tidy rooms, clean kitchen and bathrooms, staff very helpful and location ideal in the center of Christchurch. The only thing would be the internet, only 2GB free, but it was a good stay anyway. Only 15 minutes walk from the bus interchange

Thank bcadgrt
Reviewed 6 July 2018 via mobile

I stayed at the YHA Rolleston and had a very enjoyable experience. The hostel was superbly located, right near the Cantebury Museum, Arts Centre and Botanic Gardens. This made it a great base to get around town - and everything was within walking distance. The...More

Thank notwaltermitty
Reviewed 29 June 2018 via mobile

I stayed two nights in a 8 share dorm. The dorm was big enough and mattress good too but linens are very thin and old. The kitchen and lounge are nice. Bathroom facilities are the main issue. They are downstairs and all the rooms and...More

Thank Ingridgig
View more reviews
About
Description
YHA Christchurch, Rolleston House is centrally located opposite the Christchurch Arts Centre with its colourful weekend art and craft market and along the famous Christchurch tram route. Rolleston House is a ...More gorgeous character home which has been converted into a comfortable hostel offering multi-share, double and twin rooms. Facilities include a TV room, fully-equipped self-catering kitchen, book exchange, 2GB free WiFi per day, and more. The hostel can arrange late night entry for pre-bookings arriving on late flights and buses. Less
Hotel class
Hotel Amenities
HOTEL FEATURES
Free Parking
Airport Transportation
Golf course
Laundry Service
Non-Smoking Hotel
Self-Serve Laundry
Pool
Beachfront
Room Service
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Breakfast included
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms
Hotel class
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms
Number of rooms
13
Price range
US$22 - US$73 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Also Known As
Rolleston House Yha Hotel Christchurch
Location
New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Christchurch
Hotel class
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms
Number of rooms
13
Price range
US$22 - US$73 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Also Known As
Rolleston House Yha Hotel Christchurch
Location
New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Christchurch
Photos
Traveller (6)
Room & Suite (12)
Dining (3)
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 147 hotels in Christchurch
The Classic Villa
290 reviews
.04 miles away
Hotel Montreal
284 reviews
.33 miles away
The George Christchurch
1,552 reviews
.34 miles away
Ibis Christchurch
1,031 reviews
.39 miles away
Nearby RestaurantsSee all 1,161 restaurants in Christchurch
Zen Sushi and Dumplings
179 reviews
.12 miles away
Inati
77 reviews
.25 miles away
Fiddlesticks Restaurant & Bar
1,351 reviews
.14 miles away
Cook'n' With Gas
369 reviews
.06 miles away
Nearby AttractionsSee all 450 attractions in Christchurch
Margaret Mahy Family Playground
809 reviews
.15 miles away
Canterbury Museum
2,325 reviews
.05 miles away
Christchurch i-SITE Visitor Information Centre
295 reviews
.08 miles away
Avon River
514 reviews
.14 miles away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
jakrill47
17 April 2017|
Answer
Response from YHANewZealand | Property representative |
Hello! You can find a full list of all our available room types on the YHA website. Search for the property and date you're looking for; this will show you availability for each room and you can hover over each room type for... More
0
Votes
kpewlau
11 August 2015|
Answer
Response from YHANewZealand | Property representative |
Multi-share dorm rooms are priced per bed, while private rooms are priced per room.
0
Votes
Room Tips
"Breakfast not included. Free wifi"
Read review
"Large mixed dorms are cheapest"
Read review
"Room at top of back stairs gets lots of kitchen odors, but has a good view. Quiet."
Read review
"Price range reflects the cosiness of the rooms"
Read review
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing