We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Ashley Hotel

Traveller (35)
Room & Suite (7)
Business Centre & Event Rooms (2)
About
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
The Ashley Hotel Christchurch is a newly refurbished, 45-room hotel that delivers a charming, relaxed and convenient experience. The Ashley Hotel is located in Riccarton, within walking distance of Hagley Park, shopping malls, dozens of restaurants and cafés, Christchurch Hospital, the train station and plenty of other Christchurch attractions. We offer several different Christchurch hotel room types, perfect whether you are visiting for business, holiday or as part of a group. For your convenience, The Ashley Hotel also has disabled facilities. Whatever your reason for visiting Christchurch, enjoy it in comfort and style at The Ashley Hotel Christchurch.
Read more
Property amenities
Free Parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Dry Cleaning
Golf course
Meeting Rooms
Non-Smoking Hotel
Self-Serve Laundry
Room features
Microwave
Non-Smoking Rooms
Refrigerator in room
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Mid-range
Centrally Located
HOTEL CLASS
Reviews & more
210Reviews
42Photos
1Q+A
52Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 16
  • 68
  • 81
  • 33
  • 12
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More languages
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
This was a nice, clean, small motel room for an affordable price. Bedroom has modern touches, bathroom not so much but nothing to complain about! A bit of a suburban feeling location but we were able to walk everywhere - to get dinner, groceries, to the park and city centre.
Read more
This hotel is economically priced, conveniently located, has free parking, and free limited WiFi. The room was small but clean however the bathroom was a little timeworn. I didn't get the bed that I had requested (got queen plus twin instead of king) but the arrangement worked
Read more
Clean and tidy room and staff very welcoming and helpful. Rooms are available both upstairs and downstairs. From what my colleagues indicated, the rooms are progressively being updated as some rooms quite different from others. Breakfast is available in the dining room for
Read more
Our first rooms was not very clean, coffee rings in cups, tops of beds had something white in numerous place along with someone else's hair, shower door has not had a good clean in quite some time also has hair on it and in shower, the list goes on.... Moved rooms bedroom was
Read more
Response from Jacob W, Guest Relations Manager at The Ashley Hotel
Responded 5 Jun 2018
Hi Beckswelsh, Thanks for taking the time to give your feedback. We are sorry to hear that our room did not meet your expectations, especially since we take such pride in the cleanliness of our hotel rooms. We have brought these issues to the attention of our housekeeping team and will strive to eliminate these mistakes moving forward.
Read more
I would not recommend this hotel to anyone. Originally from U.K I stayed here as I was performing in Christchurch. Dreadfully rude reception staff who Don’t care about you at all. Didn’t have a credit card so they made me walk to a atm in the rain tired after my flight to get a
Read more
Response from Jacob W, Guest Relations Manager at The Ashley Hotel
Responded 30 May 2018
Dear Veronica B, Although we don't ever enjoy receiving reviews like this, we do appreciate your time and feedback. I hope that you will accept our sincerest apology. Our company takes pride in treating our guests with the utmost respect and our reception staff are trained accordingly. Although our deposit policy can be inconvenient at times, our company wide policy is consistent with industry norms. In regards to our location, most guests enjoy our centrally located hotel near Hagley Park.
Read more
Previous
Album Categories
All photosTravellerRoom & SuiteBusiness Centre & Event Rooms
The damage and mould behind the door
View of room through the glass wall and sliding door
PreviousNext
12
walking distance to cathedral square please?
Dear Swanseagirl56, Thank you for your enquiry. The walking distance to the cathedral square from The Ashley Hotel Christchurch is 3km which runs through the beautiful hagley park. Kind regards, Jacob Williams Assistant Manager
1 vote
"Avoid rooms on first floor if you have heavy luggage as there are no lifts"
"Get a room on the upper level."
"Not a place with good views anywhere that we could see."
"No elevators so if you are elderly or have a heap of luggage get a room on the ground floor."
"If possible ask for first floor not ground floor, better vista but all rooms have comfortable beds."
PreviousNext
12345611
PRICE RANGE
US$74 - US$124 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
New ZealandSouth IslandCanterbury RegionChristchurch
NUMBER OF ROOMS
45
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing