We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Ashford Motor Lodge

Traveller (15)
Room & Suite (11)
Pool & Beach (6)
Certificate of Excellence

About

Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Certificate of Excellence
Property amenities
Pool
Free Parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Babysitting
Golf course
Laundry Service
Non-Smoking Hotel
Outdoor pool
Public Wifi
Self-Serve Laundry
Tennis Court
Wheelchair access
Show more
Room features
Kitchenette
Microwave
Non-Smoking Rooms
Refrigerator in room
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Family
Centrally Located
HOTEL CLASS
163Reviews
31Photos
3Q+A
40Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 66
  • 78
  • 13
  • 4
  • 2
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More languages
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
We were booked in for two nights but only stayed one even though we had paid for it. We were given the studio unit which seemed a poorly constructed room above the garage. The hall that took you into the toilet shower and hand basin was very narrow!! This bathroom certainly
Read more
Response from Ashfordmotorlodge, Manager at Ashford Motor Lodge
Responded 5 days ago
Dear julphil, I am very sorry to read this review especially given I had asked specifically if there was a reason for you leaving early and you advised there were no issues and you needed to travel to Nelson due to the fires? Had you mentioned any issues, we would have been more than happy to of assisted you. Please note this room is due for refurbishment in the coming months. Regards, Shelley
Read more
Stopped here for 2 months while working in Christchurch. Conveniently located within easy reach of many pubs & restaurants. I would recommend this motel for singles, couples and families and tourist alike.
Read more
Response from Ashfordmotorlodge, Manager at Ashford Motor Lodge
Responded 1 week ago
Thanks Michael! Appreciate you taking the time to review Ashford Motor Lodge. So pleased you enjoyed your time here even though you were away from your family. We look forward to seeing you again sometime in the future. All the best, Shelley
Read more
We stayed at the Ashford Motor Lodge in the suburb of Merivale for 2-nights in late-Jan (NZ$110). The lodge was located along a motel strip on Papanui Road, just across from the NE corner of N Hagley Park & its botanic gardens. As such, it was close to the Merivale shopping
Read more
Response from Ashfordmotorlodge, Manager at Ashford Motor Lodge
Responded 3 weeks ago
Dear ndser, Thank you for your review and pleased overall you enjoyed your stay. Just a note - the room you stayed in (Studio Room) is our smallest of our 28 rooms and priced as such. We are looking into renovating these rooms this year as to maximise the space better. Our other rooms are generally commented on to be very large. Our location is well positioned between Merivale, Hagley Park and the CBD. Great you were able to enjoy the many eateries within easy walking distance. Kind Regards, Shelley
Read more
I recently won a nights stay at the beautiful Ashford Motor Lodge. This was a fantastic night. We were greeted with a cheerful welcome at reception. The room was inviting and comfortable. I headed straight for the bath which is such a treat, for me, as it was a huge spa bath.
Read more
Response from Ashfordmotorlodge, Manager at Ashford Motor Lodge
Responded 9 Dec 2018
Dear Marinaabernethy, Thank you so much for the 5 star review! Pleased you enjoyed your night in our one bedroom suite and made the most of the spa bath. Hope the Scared Scriptless event was a success as well! Kind Regards, Shelley
Read more
We had a two bedroom ground floor unit. Brand new bathroom was lovely. Fully equipped kitchenette with full oven. Three tvs. Laundry close by. Parking at your door. Fairly quiet considering it’s on a fairly busy road. Free wifi. Staff nice and helpful. Walking distance to lovely
Read more
Response from Ashfordmotorlodge, Manager at Ashford Motor Lodge
Responded 5 Nov 2018
Dear sawteygirl59, Thank you so much for your great review and pleased to hear you enjoyed so many aspects of your stay! The newly renovated bathrooms are lovely, so thank you again for taking the time to write to us. Kind Regards, Shelley
Read more
Previous
Album Categories
All photosTravellerRoom & SuitePool & BeachDining
Photo provided by managementAshford Motor Lodge
Photo provided by managementAshford Motor Lodge
Photo provided by managementAshford Motor Lodge
Photo provided by managementAshford Motor Lodge
2 Bedroom Apartment - BathRoom
PreviousNext
123
Neville is right. There are only 2 buses from the airport. Make sure you get the one that goes via Fendalton. The bus will go into the city alongside the park and then turn right into Victoria St. Ring the bell to get off once the park (on your right) finishes. The bus will the. Turn right into Victoria St and there you get off. The walk to Ashford from there is quite short - 5 minutes. As you get off the bus, turn left and walk straight down Papanui Rd. You’ll pass a Shell Service station. Go a bit further. Ashford is on the same side S the Shell. Good luck
1 vote
Show all answers
$60 nz
0 votes
aprox $30
0 votes
Show all answers
"Room 17 was amazing - providing you can do stairs"
"Ask for Free WiFi without limits, as you are paying premium already."
"Rooms at the back away from main room would be quieter."
"Excellent accessibility, park right outside no steps."
"Ground floor rooms more conveninet"
PreviousNext
1234568
PRICE RANGE
US$70 - US$131 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
New ZealandSouth IslandCanterbury RegionChristchurch
NUMBER OF ROOMS
21
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing