We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

The Garden Hotel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
The Garden Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

56 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 55: English reviews
Otaki, New Zealand
Reviewed 1 week ago

Came to Christchurch for an aunt turning 90. Stayed at the Garden Hotel and also had the function there at the restaurant. We wanted clean, comfortable and convenient and that's what we got. The staff were faultless at reception and in the restaurant / bar - cafe. A memorable weekend. Thank you.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ross M
Garden H, Reception at The Garden Hotel, responded to this review

Good Afternoon Ross, Thank you for taking the time to write and share your review on your recent stay with us. On behalf of the entire team I would like to thank you for your lovely feedback. It is our aim to please and we are thrilled to hear on this special occasion we achieved this for you. Its great...

Oxford, New Zealand
Reviewed 1 November 2016

I had no issue with the cleanliness of our room. It was spotless, though the paintwork is very shabby and chipped. The kitchen is old-fashioned and not user friendly. The bedroom/sitting area was a good size and seating was comfortable, though the bed was very soft (hubby and I do prefer a hard bed). The bathroom facilities are tired. The...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank kezziekat
Garden H, Reception at The Garden Hotel, responded to this review

Good Morning Kezziekat, Thank you for taking the time to post and share your review on your recent stay with us. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed a comfortable stay and that you found the room to be clean and tidy as well as the service provided. We appreciate all feedback and thank you for your comments pointing out...

Newmarket, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 19 October 2016 via mobile

The hotel was booked 3 months in advance but on arrival the room was not available. However it was quickly sorted and I found myself ensconced in a two bedroom unit. It was clean and the beds were very comfortable. Kitchen facilities are limited but sufficient. It's in need of some tax bug I'm guessing the empty hooks in the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jan C
Garden H, Reservations at The Garden Hotel, responded to this review

Good Afternoon Jan C, Thank you for sharing feedback on your recent stay with us at The Garden Hotel. We understand there was a slight confusion when booking -with the difference in Room types not being what you had originally thought was booked. We were happy to make alternate arrangements to accommodate you and are so pleased once this issue...

Napier, New Zealand
Reviewed 3 October 2016 via mobile

Booked this motel for 4 nights. Every night I was charged a different rate apparently due to occupancy. Only 12 hours free wifi which starts each day from the time you arrived on your first day. Minimal Sky channels. Terrible water pressure in shower. Lock broken on bathroom door. The whole place is out dated. Gap under door causing a...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Deb H
Garden H, Garden Hotel Reception at The Garden Hotel, responded to this review

Good Morning Deb H, Thank you for sharing your review and bringing to our attention the concerns you had during your recent stay with us at The Garden Hotel. First of, may I address the issue you had regarding the "rate change". At the time of booking you were advised of the flexible rates for the dates , you proceeded...

Reviewed 3 September 2016 via mobile

We stayed at the garden hotel for 3 nights. Rooms were more than adequate for a family of 4. Facilities were great including wifi access. Buffet restaurant was great value with plenty of choices for everybody. Service from the very friendly staff was wonderful and i would definately recommend this place for everyone! A special thank you must go out...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank westybear
Garden H, Reception at The Garden Hotel, responded to this review

we very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the garden hotel. it is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. thank you again...

Reviewed 24 August 2016

comfortable, reasonably priced room. Walking distance to Palms Mall and has restaurant and bar onsite. Heaps of other food options located just beside Hotel. Disappointed with the free wifi - it was slow and only 12 hours worth... I left my ipad in the room while we were out so it counted it as being used during that time even...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Melanie A
Garden H, Reservations at The Garden Hotel, responded to this review

Good Evening Melanie A, Thank you for taking the time to post and share your review on your recent stay with us. We are pleased you enjoyed your time spent here. We are sorry to hear you experienced difficulty with the wifi. We would have been happy to assist and provide you with a complimentary access code had we known....

Invercargill, New Zealand
Reviewed 10 August 2016

Very roomy accommodation with some cooking facilities. Restaurant and Bar on same location. Very clean, however room I stayed in still showed signs of the Christchurch Earthquake, cracked floor tiles. Receptionist very helpful and very accommodating. Good value for money. On right side of city for ease of access to airport.

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Darryl H
Garden H, Reservations at The Garden Hotel, responded to this review

Good Morning Darryl H, Thank you for sharing your comments and thoughts regarding your recent accommodation booking with us. We are delighted to hear you experienced a comfortable and enjoyable stay and that our location and value for money was ideal for you. We have noted your mentioning of the cracked tile area. Unfortunately as the earthquakes are still an...

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 3 August 2016

The room is nice and clean, fairly typical. The customer service was exceptional though. The woman at the reception desk recommended places for dinner and breakfast, both of which had excellent food and was a perfect introduction to the city.

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Christine_Jem604
Garden H, Reservations at The Garden Hotel, responded to this review

Good Morning Christine_Jem604, Thank you for sharing with our readers and ourselves your lovely review and positive feedback. We are thrilled you enjoyed your stay with us and it would be our pleasure to welcome you back in the future. We hope too see you again soon ! Kindest Regards, Reservations

Hamilton & Waikato Region, New Zealand
Reviewed 27 July 2016 via mobile

A great base to stay, comfortable, clean and very well located for work plus a weekend of exploring Christchurch. Laundry onsite and great local eating places close by. My room did have a cold draught under the front door but a spare towel rolled up in front fixed that problem 😀

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Diana B
Garden H, Reservations at The Garden Hotel, responded to this review

Good Afternoon Diana, Thank you for sharing your experience on your recent booking with us. We are delighted to read you enjoyed a comfortable stay here at The Garden Hotel , and enjoyed your time here in Christchurch. It would be our pleasure to welcome you again in the future. We hope to see you soon ! Kind Regards, Reservations

Reviewed 28 June 2016 via mobile

The facility waa good enough, clean and tidy. But the staff need to be more kind to the guest. There was no plug of bathtub so called reception (the receptionist was okay). few mins later, one of the staff brought the plug and she did not even say hi and just said, "can i check your bathtub?", put on the...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Huijun K
Garden H, Receptionist at The Garden Hotel, responded to this review

Good Morning Huijun K, Thank you kindly for submitting your feedback on your recent stay with us at The Garden Hotel. We are pleased you enjoyed a comfortable stay and hope your time spent here in Christchurch was a memorable experience. We are sorry to hear on this occasion you felt the customer service you received was not up to...

30 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (29)
Viewed
Dining (10)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Christchurch hotels
2.3 mi away
Colonial Inn Motel
Colonial Inn Motel
#56 of 145 in Christchurch
55 reviews
2.6 mi away
BreakFree on Cashel
BreakFree on Cashel
#28 of 145 in Christchurch
941 reviews
2.3 mi away
Ashford Motor Lodge
Ashford Motor Lodge
#42 of 145 in Christchurch
102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Quest Christchurch
Quest Christchurch
#23 of 145 in Christchurch
314 reviews
2.3 mi away
Hotel Carlton Mill
Hotel Carlton Mill
#81 of 145 in Christchurch
80 reviews
1.6 mi away
Avalon Court Accommodation
Avalon Court Accommodation
#102 of 145 in Christchurch
40 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Smoking rooms available
  • Suites
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Garden Hotel is conveniently situated minutes away from the Palms Shopping Mall. The hotel features 62 hotel/ motel rooms. We have rooms that are suitable for families, tourists, sports groups/ teams, business or corporate travelers that are visiting the "Garden City". Our units are quiet and we have a spacious free car parking available.Our hotel units are fully installed with air conditioning. For wine and dine options, you could choose from the different facilities that we have - Garden Restaurant (Buffet) GBC -Garden Bar & Cafe. We are only 5 minutes drive away from the heart of the city where you can take a stroll along the picturesque Avon River, from which the views of the Southern Alps can be seen. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Garden Hotel

Address: 110 Marshland Road | Shirley, Christchurch 8061, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Christchurch
Price Range: £63 - £110 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Garden Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your The Garden Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Garden Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“All rooms easily accessable. Plenty of room in our 2 brm suite.”
 of 5 bubbles 450RossM, 26 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Ask for one of the rooms in the 2 storey building - they're much nicer.”
 of 5 bubbles , 24 Aug 2016 | Read review
“if arriving after 9.30 pm, or running late, it may pay to give the Hotel a call to update your arrival time. Receptionist accommodating”
 of 5 bubbles 640darrylh, 10 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Stay away from the rooms right near reception - they are dated and old”
 of 5 bubbles NelleNZ, 1 May 2016 | Read review
“All rooms are good, but superior priced rooms are more romantic.”
 of 5 bubbles nevslife, 24 Nov 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay