We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Hotel St Clair

Booking.comUS$143*
View Deal
#24 of 57 Hotels in Dunedin
Certificate of Excellence
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
US$150*
US$143*
Great Deal
US$150*
US$150*
US$143*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Professional photos
Hotel St Clair
View Map
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}}}
Add Photo Write a Review

86 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 78: English reviews
Start your review of Hotel St Clair
 Click to rate
Berkshire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

The Hotel St Clair is in a beautiful location right next to a beach where there were lots of surfers in the late afternoon. We arrived at 1 o'clock on a rainy day and the receptionist was welcoming and we were able to get into the room. Although it didn't have a direct sea view you could see the sea...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sheilambutcher
HotelStClair, Manager at Hotel St Clair, responded to this review

Thank you very much for taking the time to write us such a lovely review. I'm thrilled you enjoyed your stay, and we look forward to your next one :) , Kind Regards Hotel St Clair Team

Orem, Utah
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Nice to have a hotel near the ocean, that caters to a colder climate. Nice touches in the room like a radiator, heated towel bar, heat in bathroom, heated mattress pad, etc. Has a small kitchenette with microwave, fridge, (no stove/burners) and a few kitchen utensils. Spacious rooms, most with balconies. Pleasant staff, and my stay included a buffet breakfast....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank DareAcceptor
HotelStClair, Manager at Hotel St Clair, responded to this review

Thank you very much for taking the time to write us a review! I'm thrilled you enjoyed your stay, and we look forward to your next one :) Kind Regards Hotel St Clair Team

Adelaide, Australia
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We had a room on the 3rd floor. Although not overlooking the ocean it did offer glimpses of the magnificent beach. Our room was spacious and clean. All the the staff we came across we friendly and helpful. Even though this hotel wasn't in the city it was a perfect location with enough eateries nearby to satisfy us.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mike p
HotelStClair, Front Office Manager at Hotel St Clair, responded to this review

Thank you Mike P for taking the time to give us such a lovely review :) We are so pleased that you had a wonderful time with us, we are lucky that even though we are not in the city center, that there are plenty of options for places to eat! Thank you again, and for acknowledging the service you...

Christchurch, New Zealand
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Stayed for one night recently. Hotel is situated right over the road from the beach. Great situation. It was a cold rainy night and morning but can imagine what the view would be like on a sunny day. We had an ocean view room, it was more than a hotel room, really a studio room. Usual tea, coffee making facilities...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kevin5142
HotelStClair, Front Office Manager at Hotel St Clair, responded to this review

Thank you Kevin5142 for your lovely review! It is unfortunate that it was not good weather, as there is so much to see and do in Dunedin, but we are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay regardless. Thank you again, and we hope to welcome you back in the future! Kind regards, Hotel St Clair team

Wellington, New Zealand
Reviewed 14 April 2017

We stayed in one of the larger rooms, with great views up the beach to the surfers braving the windy and cold weather on the night we were there. The room was excellent, nicely decorated, spacious, but with a warm cosy feel. We'd visited Dunedin before, but never stayed out at the beach before, and thoroughly enjoyed it. Parking under...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank LindaNZ
HotelStClair, Front Office Manager at Hotel St Clair, responded to this review

Thank you very much for such a wonderful review! We are so pleased you were able to take advantage of our beach front location. We are fortunately enough to have plenty of restaurants in walking distance also! We apologize the bed was not up to your comfort though, and I will pass this onto management for a way to work...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 30 March 2017

Room was clean and comfortable, bed a bit soft for my liking, very quiet. Small hotel on the promenade at St Clair, Hotel has no breakfast included in rate, but there are several options within walking distance. Surfers started on sunrise and left at sunset, What a view. Take a walk up past the sea water pool to an inlet,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Joethetraveller58
HotelStClair, Front Office Manager at Hotel St Clair, responded to this review

I am so glad you had such a wonderful time! You were incredibly lucky to see the penguins, they can be very difficult to find! We wish you all the best, and we hope to welcome you back sometime in the future. Kind regards, Hotel St Clair Team

Reviewed 29 March 2017

Very nice light and airy room, comfortable bed and lovely bathroom, even supplied a make up removing flannel. Friendly and helpful staff. Good free underground parking which is useful as we found parking out front difficult. Excellent beachside location with plenty of restaurant choices. We really liked the Esplanade restaurant. Can't review the hotel restaurant as we didn't dine there.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Judi M
HotelStClair, Reception at Hotel St Clair, responded to this review

Hi Judi Thank you very much for your kind review. I'm glad to hear you enjoyed your time with us and took advantage of the location! We would gladly welcome you back in the future if you return :) Kind regards Hotel St Clair Team

Atlanta, Georgia
Reviewed 20 March 2017 via mobile

We upgraded to a suite that included a kitchenette, sofa and view of the ocean, although across a public parking lot. The room was very clean and bathroom large. It sits right on the promenade in St. Clair, which is about a 15 minute drive into Dunedin city center. We walked the promenade and beach and enjoyed a couple restaurants...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank advicetaken
HotelStClair, Reception at Hotel St Clair, responded to this review

Hi Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review. I'm glad you have enjoyed your stay with us and we would absolutely welcome you back if you return in the future. Kind regards Hotel St Clair Team

Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Reviewed 16 March 2017

Important thing to remember....Everything closes early...an No 7-11, or kwiki market,not being from New Zealand an known the water is much colder i didn't think i would see people swimming so early in the morning in just a swim suite

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Wylie J M
HotelStClair, Receptionist at Hotel St Clair, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review us! I'm glad you enjoyed your stay. Good luck in your future travels and we would gladly welcome you back in the future if you were to return to Dunedin :) Kind regards

Germany
Reviewed 14 March 2017

Wonderful in perfect location. the rooms are huge. Very warm welcome upon checkin and very helpful staff, large underground parking as well with lifts up to room level. especially the views are fantastic. Actually nothing I could think of to improve, and as it is likeley not to get that hot in Dunedin even without aircondition no problem (at least...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tom S
HotelStClair, Front Office Manager at Hotel St Clair, responded to this review

Thank you for your fantastic review! We are happy to hear that your positive experience with us started right from arrival. You have a very valid point with the air-conditioning. Though it is not usual for Dunedin to reach extremely high temperatures, it is good to have air-conditioning as an option for when we do have those hot days. We...

50 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (33)
Viewed
View from Room (14)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
1:56
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (12)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (17)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (10)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dunedin hotels
3.4 mi away
Bluestone on George
Bluestone on George
#1 of 57 in Dunedin
714 reviews
2.4 mi away
Distinction Dunedin Hotel
7.6 mi away
Larnach Castle Lodge
Larnach Castle Lodge
#7 of 57 in Dunedin
613 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Scenic Hotel Southern Cross
3.1 mi away
Roslyn Apartments
Roslyn Apartments
#8 of 57 in Dunedin
326 reviews
2.7 mi away
Scenic Hotel Dunedin City
Scenic Hotel Dunedin City
#13 of 57 in Dunedin
739 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Beachfront
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Accessible rooms
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Microwave
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Airport Transportation
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Hotel St Clair is perched above St Clair Beach and represents Dunedin's finest beachfront living. Built with the environment in mind, this boutique hotel offers 26 contemporary rooms - each beautifully designed and furnished to complement the stunning South Pacific Ocean that dominates the views. Features include - 50+ Sky Channels - Free Wi-Fi - Free Car parking - Daily room cleaning - In house Restaurant (Pier 24) - Room service - Kitchenette in every room (Luxury ocean view room has 2 cook tops) - Complimentary newspaper delivery on request - Conference room hire ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hotel St Clair

Address: 24 Esplanade | Saint Clair, Dunedin 9012, New Zealand (Formerly St Clair Beach Resort)
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Dunedin
Price Range: £107 - £192 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel St Clair 4*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Hotel St Clair reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St Clair Beach Hotel Dunedin
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Dunedin
#6 Romantic Hotel in Dunedin
#17 Family Hotel in Dunedin
#19 Luxury Hotel in Dunedin
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Hotel St Clair staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Hotel St Clair staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Rooms on 3 sides have at least partial ocean views.”
DareAcceptor, 9 May 2017 | Read review
“All the rooms seem to be great. We had one facing west looking at the hillsides”
mikepL6050XN, 4 May 2017 | Read review
“Ask for an ocean view.”
Kevin5142, 30 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Any room with a sea view.”
  • View from our room
LindaNZ, 13 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Most rooms have a view of the sea, but probably the best is the top floor with a direct view.”
Joethetraveller58, 30 Mar 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Booking.com
US$143* /night
View Deal
Expedia.comUS$150
TripAdvisorUS$143
TravelocityUS$150
View all 11 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates