We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Scenic Hotel Southern Cross

Traveller (124)
Room & Suite (67)
Dining (15)
Certificate of Excellence
About
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Certificate of Excellence
Dunedin’s largest and most prestigious hotel, the Scenic Hotel Southern Cross, enjoys a premium location in the heart of the city. Just a short walk from the Octagon, railway station, theatres, shops, and close to Otago university, it is the perfect location from which to explore Dunedin. Your every comfort is well provided for, with 178 attractive rooms and suites, extensive hotel facilities, and a very high standard of service. As our guest you will enjoy: A choice of room styles, including standard rooms and sumptuously furnished suites up to a four-star-plus standard, with quality room amenities. Superb dining options in our selection of restaurants, cafe and bar. High quality hotel facilities for business and pleasure, including extensive conference and meeting facilities.
Read more
Property amenities
Room Service
Restaurant
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Bar/Lounge
Babysitting
Banquet Room
Breakfast Available
Business Centre with Internet Access
Casino and Gambling
Concierge
Conference Facilities
Dry Cleaning
Laundry Service
Meeting Rooms
Multilingual Staff
Non-Smoking Hotel
Public Wifi
Self-Serve Laundry
Wheelchair access
Show more
Room features
Accessible rooms
Family Rooms
Minibar
Non-Smoking Rooms
Refrigerator in room
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Business
Safe
HOTEL CLASS
889Reviews
142Photos
3Q+A
100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 338
  • 371
  • 139
  • 27
  • 14
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More languages
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
This was one of the quaintest hotel during our stay at Dunedin. Big and well appointed rooms with neat and clean sheets changed Everyday. This hotel is in the heart of the city and has great eateries around it The buffet breakfast was pricey, and would advise guests to step out
Read more
We were staying here for Boxing Day night with another couple. We were given rooms on different floors. We found out later the hotel was sparsely booked so were disappointed we were not given rooms closer together. The room had no air conditioning and it was hot so we had to
Read more
Response from KateW3399, Guest Relations Manager at Scenic Hotel Southern Cross
Responded 1 week ago
Dear Guest, thank you for taking the time to let us know how your recent stay was. We were disappointed to hear that you did not enjoy a pleasant evening as planned and we apologise that you were not accommodated better. We hope that the remainder of your holiday went well and we wish you a safe and happy journey. Kind regards, Kate.
Read more
This is a very nice hotel close to the Octagon, in the heart of Dunedin. We spent one night here in December and enjoyed it. The room was spacious with a street view. The employee at reception were very friendly and helpful. There is ample parking on location. This is a very
Read more
Response from KateW3399, Guest Relations Manager at Scenic Hotel Southern Cross
Responded 1 week ago
Dear Guests, thank you for your great review, we were delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay so much and we hope that you will be able to visit us in Dunedin again sometime. Warm regards, Kate
Read more
We enjoyed our two night stay at the scenic hotel southern cross. The staff was friendly and very helpful with directions and restaurants. Our room was comfortable and well apponted. A nice, quiet stay. The hotel is in convenient walking distance to the Octagon, a main
Read more
Open the window and turn on the desk fan if you are hot. Turn on the hot plate on the wall if you are cold. The hot plate controls are not intuitive. I had to have the staff show me how to operate it. The hotel is situated in a nice area. The halls look like 1960s décor.
Read more
Response from KateW3399, Guest Relations Manager at Scenic Hotel Southern Cross
Responded 1 week ago
Dear Guest, thank you for your feedback, we appreciate your comments and will take these onboard for the future. We hope you enjoyed the remainder of your trip and have a safe journey. Kind regards, Kate
Read more
Previous
Album Categories
All photosTravellerRoom & SuiteDining Business Centre & Event Rooms
comfortable beds
Our bathroom
Our very comfortable room
Our very comfortable room
Our very comfortable room
PreviousNext
12345614
Hi sastravelbydesign, Thanks for your questions, unfortunately we do not have a car rental available at the hotel but we do have a couple of rental places that are just up the block from us which is frequently used. We also don't have a drop service from the airport but we do recommend booking shuttles which are a lot cheaper than a taxi. We like to use Super Shuttle if you would like to make a booking please feel free to visit their website. Many thanks!
0 votes
do you have late check ins, flight only arrives at midnight
By prior arrangement with the hotel
0 votes
Show all answers
Is parking available and is it free?
Hi Richard, Scenic Hotel Southern Cross does offer parking at a fee of $12.00 per day. There is alternative parking available in surrounding areas.
0 votes
Show all answers
"Insist on room with aircon"
"The sixth (top) floor was quiet with no noise issues for our babies"
"get the floors with king doubles as the floors with Twin rooms seem to have family's in them so you can get noise from the kids"
"We did not stay at this hotel but may well do next time round."
"Higher level suites."
PreviousNext
12345620
PRICE RANGE
US$122 - US$237 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
scenic hotel dunedin
LOCATION
New ZealandSouth IslandOtago RegionDunedin
NUMBER OF ROOMS
178
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing