We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Scenic Hotel Dunedin City

Show Prices
#14 of 59 Hotels in Dunedin
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Scenic Hotel Dunedin City
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

664 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 635: English reviews
Columbia
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

The hotel rooms were very comfortable but the best part of the stay was the welcoming front desk. I was greeted with a huge smile and they bent over backwards to make sure everything about my stay would be great from the rooms to the valet service.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank kevinblaes
Worcestershire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

We flew in on the early flight and arrived around 11am knowing we could not check in but we were going to ask if we could leave our luggage. The receptionist, Angela was most apologetic that our room was not ready and readily agreed to us leaving our luggage, offered us a map and also offered several suggestions of where...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 101jans22
adrian c, Manager at Scenic Hotel Dunedin City, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you very much for taking the time to write your review. Once again, apologies that your room was not ready for your arrival but I am glad that we were able to look after you so well. With kind regards Adrian

Mildura, Australia
Reviewed 1 week ago

staff were very pleasant, room was large good views clean rooms only problem was breakfast we had a later breakfast and as items were running out they were not replaced so we did not have a full range of breakfast to choose from A pity because the rest of the hotel was great

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ian M
adrian c, Manager at Scenic Hotel Dunedin City, responded to this review

Dear Ian Thanks very much for your review. I am glad you had such an enjoyable stay and look forward to seeing you again sometime soon. Sorry about the breakfast buffet not being as good as it could - I will take steps to ensure that it continues to look great until our last guest has been through. With kind...

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed two nights here on our recent trip to Dunedin. My initial impression was "this looks so cold, like an office" when I walked in, but this was quickly overridden by the warmth of the welcome extended by the reception staff. Checking in was quickly expedited and our car (it's valet parking only) was parked for us. Staff assisted...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Cathy B
adrian c, Manager at Scenic Hotel Dunedin City, responded to this review

Dear Cathy Thanks for taking the time to write your review and thanks for choosing to stay with us. I am glad our team were able to look after you so well and it is great to hear you enjoyed Dunedin so much - we look forward to seeing you again. With best wishes Adrian

TAURANGA
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Have stayed at a number of Scenic properties throughout New Zealand and have always found that Scenic have always been of a top standard without being excessively expensive. I have never been disappointed with any of my stays.Have always found that facilities are adequate and staff are welcoming. Beds are very comfortable.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Fullergood
adrian c, Manager at Scenic Hotel Dunedin City, responded to this review

Thanks very much for your kind words and it is wonderful to hear that we have been able to look after you well, not just here but around NZ. with kind regards Adrian

Bellevue, Washington
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We checked in late this afternoon and was greeted by lovely Hermina. We told her we had stayed at the Scenic Hotel in Napier and had really enjoyed our stay. She was pleased to hear that and made sure we were well looked after. Our room was on the 6th floor and it was very clean. The tall ceilings and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Bliss62
adrian c, Manager at Scenic Hotel Dunedin City, responded to this review

Thanks very much for your review and I am glad that you had an enjoyable stay and great to hear Hermina was able to look after you so well - I will ensure she gets to hear about your comments. Thanks once again. Adrian

Singapore, Singapore
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Positives: Comfy room/bed, central location, good food, valet parking ($15 p/night). Fantastic staff (Thanks Fiona - left my hard drive behind and she expressed posted to our next destination). Negatives: 2 hotels from the same chain about 300m apart from each other (change the name slightly?). Arrived late after a long drive and finding parking to be told to drive...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Little_Miss_Aero_Eng
adrian c, Manager at Scenic Hotel Dunedin City, responded to this review

Thanks for the great review and I am glad that Fiona was able to look after you so well. The Scenic Hotel Group does have two hotels in Dunedin, the Scenic Hotel Dunedin City and Scenic Hotel Southern Cross - I am sorry if this caused any confusion. With kind regards Adrian

Auckland Region, New Zealand
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Overall a great business hotel with good people, food, beds etc but if its summer be aware there is no air conditioning (except expensive 8th floor) and only one small window you can open. No fans or significant airflow either. It can get stuffy. The rooms on the main road side can also be a bit noisy when you then...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank GaryGeneral
adrian c, Manager at Scenic Hotel Dunedin City, responded to this review

Thanks for taking the time to write your review and thank you for staying with us. We hope to see you again soon. With best woishes Adrian

Reviewed 30 October 2016

Before purchasing their package, be pedantic with the details and request for a printed copy. A few months before our conference, I purchased a Harbour view package from this hotel. The photos showing on the website looked very appealing, images of a balcony with the view and bathtub. Upon arrival, I was surprised with the room given to us. Yes,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Silvino R
adrian c, General Manager at Scenic Hotel Dunedin City, responded to this review

Dear Silvino Thank you for your feedback. I am glad that you ended up having a nice stay at the hotel but am sorry that you had an initial disappointment with the room you were given. The terms of the offer were for one of our superior rooms with a guaranteed Harbour View. Unfortunately, a photograph taken from one of...

Christchurch, New Zealand
Reviewed 27 October 2016 via mobile

Nice hotel with very comfortable bed, very friendly staff, great ocean view from our room, only problem we experienced was the service speed at restaurant, we have had waited for more than half hour for our main course

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Bill W
adrian c, General Manager at Scenic Hotel Dunedin City, responded to this review

Dear Bill Thanks very much for taking the time to write your review. I am glad you enjoyed your stay, your room and the friendly team here at Scenic Hotel Dunedin City. I have taken note of the slow service and will investigate further - thanks for bringing it to my attention and I am sorry that you had to...

113 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (105)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
View from Room (10)
Viewed
Room/Suite (38)
Viewed
Bathroom (17)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (15)
Viewed
Other (23)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (8)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dunedin hotels
0.2 mi away
Scenic Hotel Southern Cross
0.3 mi away
Distinction Dunedin Hotel
0.7 mi away
Bluestone on George
Bluestone on George
#1 of 59 in Dunedin
667 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Pacific Park Suites
Pacific Park Suites
#9 of 59 in Dunedin
250 reviews
6.1 mi away
Larnach Castle Lodge
Larnach Castle Lodge
#6 of 59 in Dunedin
541 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Victoria Hotel Dunedin
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Conference Facilities
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Banquet Room
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The stylish Scenic Hotel Dunedin City features a stunning contemporary award-winning design, with spacious guest rooms, modern facilities and attractive local artworks all in a handy inner-city location. Scenic Hotel Dunedin City is just two blocks from the Octagon in the heart of the city. As our guest you will enjoy: Generously proportioned rooms with plenty of space and light. Quality room amenities and services, including excellent bedding and high speed Internet access. Memorable street-side dining in Princes on Dowling Restaurant - the perfect place to watch the city go by. Or get comfortable beside the fire in our lounge bar. Our great central location in the heart of the city. Ideal for business guests and convenient for visitors wanting to explore the city and local attractions. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Scenic Hotel Dunedin City

Address: 123 Princes Street | cnr Princes & Dowling St, Dunedin 9016, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Dunedin
Price Range: £95 - £151 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Scenic Hotel Dunedin City 4.5*
Number of rooms: 122
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HotelTravel.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Scenic Hotel Dunedin City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Scenic Hotel Dunedin
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Dunedin
#11 Business Hotel in Dunedin
#12 Luxury Hotel in Dunedin
#20 Romantic Hotel in Dunedin
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Scenic Hotel Dunedin City staff and other travellers.
5 questions
Ask a question
Phoenix, Arizona
over a year ago
Emerald, Australia
over a year ago

See all questions (5)

Questions? Get answers from Scenic Hotel Dunedin City staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Street views and water views, some do not have baths, if important then ask.”
 of 5 bubbles 101jans22, 29 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Ask for a room that doesn't face the back of the building, as looking out over a dingy couple of buildings isn't the best experience.”
 of 5 bubbles , 21 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Certainly prefer a room on the harbour side for the view. Rooms are also very quiet with no outside noises.”
 of 5 bubbles Fullergood, 4 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Book rooms on the Dowling street side if possible, and as high as possible.”
 of 5 bubbles GaryGeneral, 1 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Book well in advance and ask what you wish for, ie, walk in shower or one over the bath. View was wonderful on 7th floor.”
  • This is the view we had from the window of our room on the 7th floor
 of 5 bubbles pmnm, 26 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay