We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Wains Hotel Dunedin

Orbitz.comUS$77*
View Deal
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
US$182*
US$77*
Great Deal
US$79*
US$79*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Professional photos
Wains Hotel Dunedin
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

291 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 274: English reviews
Start your review of Wains Hotel Dunedin
 Click to rate
Boston, Massachusetts
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We stayed 3 nights at The Wains Hotel. The rooms were clean and comfortable. The hallway configuration was a little confusing but not bad. If you have any mobility issues I would make sure you ask where your room is. They have an old time elevator which works great and is kinda cool. It's a short walk to the Octagon...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank macsndy
WainsDunedin, General Manager at Wains Hotel Dunedin, responded to this review

Dear macsndy, Thank you very much for your review. We are very happy that you had a comfortable stay with us at Wains Hotel and enjoyed our beautiful city as well. I hope that the rest of your trip around New Zealand was just as enjoyable and that you had a smooth flight home to the beginning of Spring in...

Clive, New Zealand
Reviewed 1 week ago

This is an old hotel which adds to its charm. Here in late Autumn but wall panel heater and mobile heater part of the room. Quite nice to not hear the sound of an internal heating/cooling system all the time. Bedding great and clean enough. Maybe the bathroom could benefit from the scrubbing approach in joins etc but not dirty...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jacquie-and-Ski
WainsDunedin, General Manager at Wains Hotel Dunedin, responded to this review

Dear Jacquie-and-Ski, Thank you for your review- it is great to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and you were warm and comfy despite the early onset of winter this year in Dunedin! Thanks also for your constructive comments about the bathroom- we will be upgrading these soon and in the interim are doing our very best to...

Clyde, New Zealand
Reviewed 1 week ago

Arriving late we checked in to find a cold room with only an oil heater, no spare blanket and the one on the bed you could spit through. Bathroom heater an ornament with no switch to turn on. Room was clean but shame the detail was lacking. Customer service lacking in presence and not that helpful.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Greenvale360
WainsDunedin, General Manager at Wains Hotel Dunedin, responded to this review

Dear Greenvale360, Thank you for sharing your feedback on your stay at the hotel. I am so very sorry that you were cold in your room and did not enjoy your stay at the hotel. This month we have begun pre-heating all of our guest rooms prior to arrival as we do every year when the temperatures begin to dip....

Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand
Reviewed 1 week ago

For what you play, I found this (admittedly old) hotel perfectly acceptable! It is central, has friendly staff, clean rooms and comfy beds. One reviewer said there was no A/C and you couldn't open windows?? Not true. There is no A/C but there are big windows out to the street that slide up.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Clinton R
WainsDunedin, General Manager at Wains Hotel Dunedin, responded to this review

Dear Clinton R, Thank you for taking the time to post such a nice review. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us down South and you found your room to be comfortable and well ventilated. Thanks again and have a great week. Kind Regards, Sally O'Connor

Hong Kong, China
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Very old hotel with rooms newly renovated. Room size is too small. Windows are locked but no ventilation and no air-condtioned built. Very hot even in spring time although there is an electric fan provided. Most importantly, in case of emergency, you need to climb up a steel ladder inside room to escape. Wonder if seniors or handicapped can manage?...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Johnksleung
WainsDunedin, General Manager at Wains Hotel Dunedin, responded to this review

Dear Johnksleung, Thank you for posting your review. I am very sorry that you were disappointed with your stay but I can assure you that the windows in your room were not locked, Housekeeping open them daily when the room is serviced. Also the means of evacuation in case of an emergency are not via the old fashioned external fire...

Kerikeri, New Zealand
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The Hotel dates to the 19 century and has a lovely olde worlde feeling while providing modern rooms and facilities. The breakfast is really good with self service cooked and continental options. The staff are really friendly and helpful. Situated near to the town centre, within walking distance but no noise issues in the rooms.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank sharonfreer57
WainsDunedin, General Manager at Wains Hotel Dunedin, responded to this review

Dear sharonfreer57, Thank you for sharing your experiences of your stay with us on Tripadvisor! I am thrilled to hear how much you enjoyed your time at Wains Hotel Dunedin, it is so rewarding to know that you had a great stay with us across the board and also to be able to share such nice feedback with the team...

Opua, New Zealand
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We were a group of 29 women attending a chorus convention. The management and staff at this hotel went out of their way to give us the kind of excellent customer service that one expects in a 5 star hotel. The chef came in earlier than normal to accommodate an early start for us on the Saturday of our stay....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Wousje
WainsDunedin, General Manager at Wains Hotel Dunedin, responded to this review

Dear Wousje, Thank you ever so much for your generous review. It was our absolute pleasure to host your group, your enthusiasm and joie de vivre were infectious and we were so happy to hear of your success at the competition. Thanks also for serenading the team in our lobby- that was a first for us! Good luck next year...

Kerikeri, New Zealand
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Excellent value for money. Amazing staff that were the perfect balance of professional and friendly -- much like everyone else we were served by in Dunedin! Simple, clean amenities with excellent cooked breakfast. Awesome location, handy to octagon, casino, museum, churches, cafes, dairies, Speight's, etc. This is a very old building, so don't expect shiny and new, but its intimate...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Abigail C
WainsDunedin, General Manager at Wains Hotel Dunedin, responded to this review

Dear Abigail C, Thank you so much for your lovely review. We are so pleased that you were charmed by our hotel and Dunedin itself. It is great to hear that the warm welcome you received seems to have made up for our chillier climate! We very much hope you will have time to return down South again soon. Kind...

Auckland Region, New Zealand
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We stayed on the first floor. A lovely historic building. The room was huge, very clean and tidy. We could hear and feel people walking up and down the stairs, which is expected with an older building. Parking is an extra cost of $15, and is a short walk from the hotel.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Roseleigh77
WainsDunedin, General Manager at Wains Hotel Dunedin, responded to this review

Dear Roseleigh77, Thank you for your review. I am very pleased that you enjoyed your room and your time at our historic hotel. We do hope that you select Wains Hotel as your place to stay the next time you are in Dunedin! All the very best, Sally O'Connor

Auckland Region, New Zealand
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Positives: A very pleasant small hotel, conveniently situated about 12 minutes' walk from the centre of town.. Clean and comfortable rooms. The staff couldn't have been more helpful, from reception to the chef to the waiting staff. Restaurant only does breakfast, but several good evening eating places very close by. There is a small bar adjacent to the dining room...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Crystal_nz
WainsDunedin, General Manager at Wains Hotel Dunedin, responded to this review

Dear Crystal_nz Thank you very much for reviewing your stay with us at Wains Hotel Dunedin. I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and felt well looked after. With regard to your concerns about our guests with limited mobility, we actually do have plenty of rooms with direct lift access on the Princes Street side...

95 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (67)
Viewed
View from Room (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (17)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Other (33)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (28)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (9)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dunedin hotels
0.5 mi away
The Victoria Hotel Dunedin
0.3 mi away
The Brothers Boutique Hotel
0.1 mi away
Scenic Hotel Southern Cross
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Leviathan Heritage Hotel
Leviathan Heritage Hotel
#53 of 57 in Dunedin
107 reviews
0.3 mi away
Scenic Hotel Dunedin City
Scenic Hotel Dunedin City
#13 of 57 in Dunedin
739 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Law Courts Hotel
The Law Courts Hotel
#46 of 57 in Dunedin
100 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Room Service
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Conference Facilities
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Heritage listed Wains Hotel Dunedin is located in the heart of Dunedin offering easy access to Dunedin's many attractions. The Octagon, Town Hall, Forsyth Barr Stadium are in walking distance. Otago University & Peninsula are also only a short drive away. Wains Dunedin offers 48 boutique-style rooms and 2 function rooms suitable for conferences, weddings and events. Facilities include broadband Internet access; secure offsite valet parking at NZD$ 15.00 per night and Relish Restaurant and Bar. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Wains Hotel Dunedin

Address: 310 Princess Street, Dunedin 9016, New Zealand (Formerly Park Regis Dunedin)
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Dunedin
Price Range: £48 - £89 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Wains Hotel Dunedin 3.5*
Number of rooms: 48
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Wains Hotel Dunedin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Accor Hotel Dunedin
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Wains Hotel Dunedin staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Turn the heater on in the room if you know guests are coming”
Greenvale360, 14 May 2017 | Read review
“My room didn't have a view because it faced onto another building but it was quiet and very private.”
sharonfreer57, 3 May 2017 | Read review
“Fantastic beds on 4th floor!”
Wousje, 1 May 2017 | Read review
“Hall layout can be confusing so ask staff to be close to elevators if you have mobility issues.”
abigailc2014, 28 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Hotel was fine for one night but wouldn't stay any longer, as room far too small.”
vanessawyatt, 16 Apr 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Orbitz.com
US$77* /night
View Deal
Expedia.comUS$79
Hotels.comUS$79
AMOMAUS$182
View all 12 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates